We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute boutique style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a smaller hotel with only a hundred or so rooms. It's only a 6 story hotel with the lobby and restaurant/bar on the first floor, parking on floors 2-3 and rooms on floors 4-6. Every room has a view of the city, the pool or the riverwalk.

Checkin:
Very friendly and the staff was very accomodating. My wife accidentally booked our room 1 week later than we arrived but the clerk at the front desk found us a room on the 6th floor overlooking the river walk for a comparable rate to what we had booked through Orbitz. He was very friendly and gave us tips on where to eat and navigate the city.

The room:
We were in a room on the top floor that overlooked the riverwalk and had a small (2 chairs size) balcony. The room was clean and well stocked. We had double queen size beds and the nights sleep was quite comfortable. The room was a bit small but for the price and closeness of the attractions was well worth the money.

The pool:
The pool is on the 4th floor and is surrounded by rooms overlooking it on the 4-6th floor. It has several tables and lounge chairs to relax. It was crystal clean but didn't seem unsanitary.

Overall I feel the hotel is well worth the money. It is only about a 10 min walk from the Alamo and overlooks the River walk. It's a very good family motel for the price, but I would probably avoid it if your a honeymooning couple looking for lots of amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    115
    69
    33
    43
See reviews for
101
134
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoogland, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms where great but they stole my golden ring with black stone. I got this ring which is more then 50 hers old from my mom who died last year this was the only thing left from my mom and dad. I promised this ring to my daughter. The girl behind the desk didn't care no empathy there. And the manager never heard from her again. It must be stolen from my room where it was last seen.
I had to go back to Holland so there was no time to go to the police....DO NOT GO THERE!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was clean. Space is a little tight when you have 4 people in a basic room and beds are full sized (not queen). Beds were comfy and extra towels were brought up immediately. Refrigerator in room. I liked that the hotel was not your typical chain hotel. It is not directly in the prime Riverwalk area, but you can see the Riverwalk clearly from the rooms with Riverwalk views. The pool area is nice, but closes at 9pm. Only true complaint I have is in regards to paying to park in their garage. I don't feel like customers should have to pay an additional fee when you HAVE to park somewhere and the meters are only 2 hour meters located near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spending only 1 night in San Antonio, i thought to upgrade us to a River view, however, the view wasn't worth the surcharge. Parking also is $14/night + taxes! The only good thing about the hotel was the proximity to the River walk, but in the future, I would stay at a cheaper hotel and drive over to the River walk.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend while in San Antonio at this boutique hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay. If you're looking for something out of the mainframe, not your usual chain hotel, with a little quirkyness - this is the place. It has the conveniences and cleanliness expected, the service is pretty good, and it's got a decent breakfast and coffee shop, not to mention and little hole in the wall bar/lounge - when we went the young bartender was very pleasing and included performing a fire-breathing show with a stack of shots she was serving... never had that experience before! Ya gotta experience the pool and patio area... very relaxing! By the way, did I mention their only a less than five minute walk to the riverwalk! Very recommended - for the adventurous at heart.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The floors were downright nasty. My 11 month old had black hands and feet after crawling in our room just a few minutes. There was a fire on our floor but no alarm ever went off in our room!! A cleaning lady and the "Manager" on duty the morning after the fire (her card actually lists her as a sales associate) were both very rude to us. The hotel was not at all accommodating after the fire. Yes it's "on" the riverwalk but the area you have to walk through to get to the main stretch of the riverwalk was nasty and felt unsafe. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, friendly helpful staff. Needs a bit of updating, popular with families. Close to riverwalk but across the road but I could see the river from my room. Air Con works very well as was like a fridge!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of historic downtown San Antonio, lodged on the south banks of the famous, beautiful San Antonio River Walk, conveniently across the street from the Historic Bexar County Courthouse the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel is just a short stroll or delightful trolley ride away from the amazing Alamo, the shops of Market Square, the grounds of Hemisfair Park and Tower of the Americas, Majestic Theater, Aztec on the River, the arts and crafts community of La Villita, the marvelous Institute of Texas Cultures, the splendid King William Historic District, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamodome. To enjoy our city rich in history and full of fun, make your San Antonio hotel destination the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel And Suites
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Plaza San Antonio
Hotel Riverwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.