We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly on the riverwalk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not exactly on the riverwalk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was clean, but it sure cd use an update. The rooms were pretty good, but the hallways, elevator, and the main floor all cd use an update. The workers in the hotel were friendly and helpful. However, this hotel is not directly on the walk like you might think by it's name. You can get access to the walk about a block away. It is also not near the heart of all the popular restaurants on the walk. You just need to know that before you book. We booked this hotel b/c of a Groupon deal. If you can get this hotel for a great price, then you shd book it. However, if you want to be near the heart of the action, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for another great score of 4/5! We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a clean hotel. As you discovered we are about a 10 minute walk from all of the great attractions such as The Alamo. As you discovered there are a lot of people having a good time so it can get noisy in the area of the attractions, so many guests find it great to return to our quiet haven where they can enjoy a great night’s sleep. Another advantage is that you can park your car once at the hotel and just walk to the attractions. Thank you for recognized our employees were friendly and helpful. They really want every guest to have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    117
    67
    34
    43
See reviews for
102
136
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel overall isn't bad. We failed to book out hotel through our conference lodging and booked at the last minute finding there were several conferences going on with few rooms available. The rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was mostly friendly and helpful. The location wasn't terrible, about a 10 minute walk from the conference. The parking garage is difficult to maneuver in... And the wi-FI didn't work. But, overall it wasn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the great rating of 4/5! We appreciate your comments about our rooms being “clean and comfortable” as this is probably the most important thing for guests in any hotel. As you state, our location is only a 10 minute walk from most conferences. Our staff does strive to be friendly and helpful, so as management we are pleased to hear this feedback. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new braunfels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is located at the end of the Riverwalk so nice little hideaway. One block and you are on the Riverwalk - nice because you can enjoy the Riverwalk and all it has to offer but not hear the extra noise. The other way from the hotel - about a 10 minute walk is the Mercado for shopping and Mi Tierra and Las Margaritas for dining

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the great score! You are so right about our location. Many guests love the fact they can leave their car at the hotel and take a short walk to all of the major attractions such as The Alamo. And as you point out you can escape the noise of so many people having fun and return to the solitude of your quiet room for a good night’s sleep.

And as you note, there is great shopping only ten minutes away and lots of restaurants to meet anyone’s taste.

Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was quiet for the most part besides some loud neighbors. Flat screen tv was a nice surprise. Not much of a view from the room though. Beds were not that great. Sheets were clean. The elevator was really slow and scary. Only items of concern in the room was the bathroom. Their were hairs on the toilet seat and the floor tile grout was stained. The bathroom was also a little small. You can tell that the hotel is older but has beem renovated recently. Overall it was a good place for the price but will try another hotel next time. Also be prepared to pay $14 to park because they don't warn you in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your great score. We do offer a quiet hotel however as with any hotel you can get a noisy neighbor which can be rectified quickly with a call to the front desk. Often it is just someone not thinking that they are loud and we always find a simple call ensures quiet for all.

We are surprised at your comment about the bed as we have just spent a lot of time and money selecting beautiful new beds as part of our renovation. They are some of the most expensive beds available, however we recognize that everyone can have a different opinion of whether or not a bed is the right softness or hardness.

We have discussed your comments about the bathroom with our housekeeping staff and they will ensure this never happens again.

As for the parking charge most downtown city hotels have a parking fee. We do not discuss it with every guest in advance as many guests arrive by taxi, tour bus or other means. I hope yo can understand that this fee helps us recover the costs of property taxes, maintenance, electricity, security, insurance, etc. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was nice, rooms were clean. Balcony was nice, but you didn't have a good view of the Riverwalk, just a small look at a stretch of river used by employees. What was great was the location to walk to the river. One block put you right at the historic Riverwalk & was convenient to any where in downtown without needing to fight traffic in a car. Price was affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the near Perfect Score! We can’t hope for a better review than our hotel is nice and the rooms were clean. We agree that our location is great. Our guests love to be able to take a short walk and be where all the attractions like the Alamo are and at the end of the day return to a quiet area and peaceful hotel room for a good night’s sleep. As for our price we constantly are recognized for delivering a great value at an affordable price. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent one night here during a getaway for my wife and I. The hotel was great and minutes away from many restaurants and shops. Very easy access to the river walk. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Coffee shop on site is a plus for early risers. A restaurant is on site as well if you just want to stay in for the evening. Wonderful staff, would recommend to family and friends!

Room Tip: You have a pool view or river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Another Perfect Score! We are so pleased that you will be recommending Riverwalk Plaza to your family and friends as there is no greater endorsement for our hotel and our first-rate staff. It is great that you had just the kind of experience we work so hard to ensure our guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamesa, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can't believe I didn't check reviews before I rented here! we were excited about staying on the river walk, pics on website looked great! BUT when we arrived at 10pm that night, wow!! the staff was very nice, I noticed the lobby was kind of run down, but just thought, Ahh its an older building. When we were going up to our room, the hallway was just soo narrow and the walls and carpet were dirty. When we got to our door, it looked like it had been kicked in! there were marks all over it. Then inside, the carpet was soo badly stained and had gum on it! it was discusting! we immediately started looking for hotels on our phones and got in at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. I will ONLY stick to chain hotels! they did try to fix it by upgrading us to an executive suite, but I was not taking any chances! DONT DO IT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwalkplaza, Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
As you can see the guests whose reviews appear above and below your review gave Riverwalk Plaza perfect scores of 5/5. When you did not like your room our staff offered an upgrade to one of our executive suites which we are sure you would have found amazing. We tried everything possible and regret that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of historic downtown San Antonio, lodged on the south banks of the famous, beautiful San Antonio River Walk, conveniently across the street from the Historic Bexar County Courthouse the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel is just a short stroll or delightful trolley ride away from the amazing Alamo, the shops of Market Square, the grounds of Hemisfair Park and Tower of the Americas, Majestic Theater, Aztec on the River, the arts and crafts community of La Villita, the marvelous Institute of Texas Cultures, the splendid King William Historic District, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamodome. To enjoy our city rich in history and full of fun, make your San Antonio hotel destination the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel And Suites
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Plaza San Antonio
Hotel Riverwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.