We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location next to the very distinctive Court House Building. Pretty much on the Riverwalk. You can take a brief walk to The Alamo if you're so inclined. An outdoor heated pool is on the fourth floor which has nice tasteful patio furniture. Seemed quiet and clean with some nice art on the walls of each floor. Not bad at all. About $150/night through one of the discount websites. Parking $16 extra. Actually stayed here during the Austin US F1 Grand Prix - nice change from Austin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    117
    69
    34
    43
See reviews for
102
135
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our experience at the Riverwalk Plaza was very good! It is a quaint hotel, clean and renovated. It is close to the Riverwalk, had clean rooms, very friendly staff - we just had no complaints! The Director of Tourism, Irene, was so wonderful, gave me good information, and was a great liaison for our reunion in San Antonio. Everything was taken care of. It just couldn't have come together any better. I would recommend the Riverwalk Plaza to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location is nice, close to La Villita, 2 blocks to the Riverwalk, close to San Fernando Cathedral and close enough to the Alamo and Plaza and all the action. The room was clean, the front desk staff were courteous, the restaurant staff were "hit or miss" with their service, we had a few complaints with housekeeping (taking the only garbage can in the room and not bringing it back, even after several calls to the front desk to complain, leaving our hotel room door for anyone to steal things!). We also used the Groupon which was nice for the free parking but with 3 people and only getting 1 free breakfast with the Groupon wasn't really worth it. We used the breakfast Groupons up in 2 trips and had to go elsewhere for breakfast the other 2 days. It's a "good enough" hotel although I don't know that I would necessarilly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city are quieter, your view is terrible but you're close to the elevator a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have no 'bad' to report. We found the room clean and beds comfy. Look..., what are you looking for? For a $75 Groupon we got a clean, quiet hotel, 2 minute walk to the water, 5 minute walk to the Plaza and that includes parking and breakfast. It ain't the Courtyard Marriott breakfast but it was good, hot and filling and the coffee was included. It is an old hotel that has been updated...but so is the Adolphus. The difference is reflected in the price. The staff was very polite and helpful with any issue and all of them knew the area well. We enjoyed 3 days in SA and spend very little time at the hotel but in the evening the room was clean and the TV and Internet worked fine. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and could have stayed at the Hilton for 2X the price and $39 valet parking, plus tip, $12 for a stale bagel and a glass a juice and $2 for a cup of coffee from a silver urn. As I said earlier...it's what you're looking for.
The off-street parking can be an adventure but we figured it out. Once you learn the system it's OK. Your 16' RV is not going to fit but our Honda Acccord had no problems. If it's a rainy day, grab a lawn chair and a cold beer and kickback watch people trying to navigate two way traffic on a one way circular ramp. Letty....we enjoyed the stay. We'll be back next fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The room we stayed at had been recently updated with nice tile and fixtures in the bath and a large screen TV. The staff was friendly and helpful. One night we called to request washcloths, and within 10 minutes there was someone at our door with an armload of assorted towels to choose from.
The River walk goes for miles and every hotel says they are close to it. Never having been there, we had no idea what location was good. We were very happy with this hotel's location. It is located on a quiet street, just across from an entrance to the River walk. The section is close to the La Vallita Artist village, which is a very nice area of the walk, close to shops and restaurants, but not too close to the river bend, which can be loud and congested.
We will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: They offer frequent groupon deals which include free parking and breakfast. Call and ask if they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Riverwalk Plaza hotel does not impress at first introduction. Some might
even consider the lobby on the gaudy side and dated. However, what the hotel
lacks in flash and dash is made up to a certain extent by the hotel rooms
themselves. Number one, if you own a jacked up pickup truck or large SUV, you
probably won't be able to park in the parking garage (as other reviews may have
mentioned). The parking garage is a bit tight, but once you are parked
everything comes together well. It is a short walk to the elevator and down to
the lobby. We were given a room that someone was still occupying, but once that
was straightened out, everything went fine. The Riverwalk Plaza, is a contrast
of different construction styles that end when you walk in the hotel room. The
room we had was very nicely done, with dark brown crown molding, conservative
colors and hues. The room contained a very nice plasma TV and comfortable bed.
In our room, a small refrigerator was hidden within the furniture that the TV
was located on. The rooms do show a little wear, but nothing extraordinary. The
bathroom was somewhat small, but very clean, with interesting shower/bathtub
combo that includes a separate hand held sprayer. The room was not massively
large, but was adequate for tourists that will spend more time out than in. The
hotel was very quiet during our stay and even though it is right next to the
Bexar County Courthouse on one side, the street really did not intrude on sleep.
The in-house restaurant is small, but the breakfast was very good and the
employees were very friendly. If you are looking to visit San Antonio, want to
maybe save some money, yet still be afforded all the typical features one may
want in a hotel for business or pleasure, give the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel a try.
It is relatively close to what you need to see downtown, but still expect to do
some walking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here because the Groupon price was a bargain. On the down side, the maid service was less than adequate. One day...no towels, another the beds were only half made, as if the maid got called away and never came back. The restaurant could use an update. Old tables and chairs need to be replaced. I would also recommend uniforms for staff people to give a more professional look. On the upside, the free breakfast was consistantly excellent, and the servers were friendly and attentive. Check in and check out were easy and fast. The room was well appointed, the beds were comfy and the bath was very comfortable. There were hair products, lotions, a hair dryer and lighted mirror. An iron and ironing board were also appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bargain. Not recommended to anyone expecting 5-star accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of historic downtown San Antonio, lodged on the south banks of the famous, beautiful San Antonio River Walk, conveniently across the street from the Historic Bexar County Courthouse the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel is just a short stroll or delightful trolley ride away from the amazing Alamo, the shops of Market Square, the grounds of Hemisfair Park and Tower of the Americas, Majestic Theater, Aztec on the River, the arts and crafts community of La Villita, the marvelous Institute of Texas Cultures, the splendid King William Historic District, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamodome. To enjoy our city rich in history and full of fun, make your San Antonio hotel destination the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel And Suites
Riverwalk Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Plaza San Antonio
Hotel Riverwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.