We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Price....but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budgetel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budgetel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Budgetel Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2635 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn) (Northeast San Antonio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient for Price....but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

So I don't know why people are complaining. The hotel is charging very little and we would have ended up on the streets if it weren't for their great prices! However, you do get what you pay for. They obviously attempt to make everyone as comfortable as possible but it is run down. For these great deals though, what do people expect! The fact that they offer breakfast was also very nice for my family, it was probably the best meal we ate everyday. The breakfast is presented professionally however it is just things you could find at a convenience store and bagels, toast and eggos are the only "hot" foods you'll find. There is no pool anymore but it is a nice sitting area around a cute yet smelly pond. For people who are struggling, this is a great place. For snobby people, I suggest you pay a little more and see the rewards of actually having money! The only complaint I personally have is that they do not clean our rooms but once a week. My son is crawling and I'm pregnant, so if you see a big preggo lady carrying her trash down the hall you know who I am! That is FRUSTRATING! They gave me fresh towels but what I really need is for someone to lug a vacuum up here and vacuum my room so I'm not worried about where my son is crawling. Otherwise, thanks for the great deal so we have a roof over our heads!

Room Tip: Call ahead with a suggested price, then walk in and tell them what the sale price was that they gave...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    3
    2
    10
See reviews for
7
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

No one can come to your room unless you pay 11 bucks and you have to register them at the front desk and they tell your visitors the name on the reservations.
I was visiting the city during the festival and had some friends meet me at my room and no one was allowed up for drinks unless we paid 11 bucks per person..
The pool was down holes and filthy walls.
it was the only hotel available in the city and I see why
The cops were there one night with a beat up man and there where several questionable people staying there heck working there.

Room Tip: No room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Priceline/ Travel Web........ really should take this dump off the website. Consumers Don't be fooled the pictures you see on this site is not what you get.
The place smells bad looks bad and oh it's still under construction as one of the other reviews read back in 2012 and oh yes the pool is still empty and needs to be cleaned. I did not stay and demanded a full refund. People why not update the website with the REAL pictures????
I would sleep in my car before I would stay in this place.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place because it was the only available room in all of San Antonio. Unfortunately I was passing through at the wrong time of year, festivals of some sort. I booked online because it was available and not $300 a night like everything else that was available.
After driving around the NE part of town looking for it I cruised into the parking lot that seemed entirely handicapped parking. There was a car alarm going off that no one seemed to notice. Beer cans, trash, and meth heads hanging around. Once inside there was a good 20 minute wait per person checking in. The hotel looked like it was nice 30 years ago but now it's a dump. It looked abandoned. The front desk was unfinished and made out of old plywood. There was a courtyard that was locked behind some glass doors where two Rottweilers suffered in the sun with no water. I'm not exaggerating on this at all. The pool was drained and the ceiling tiles were missing in places. The place was an extended stay hotel for trailer trash to feel at home. Graffiti on the walls, everywhere an ashtray including the carpets on the no smoking floor. The elevator was a scary ride, it seemed to drop faster in places which felt like it was about to snap. The room on the no smoking floor was full of stale smoke odors. I checked the wifi which was almost nonexistent. There was no way I was going to pay for a room like this even if I have to sit on the phone with Priceline to get a refund. I went back to the lobby to retrieve my ID card which the concierge forgot to hand me back and told him that I wanted a refund. There was still a huge line of customers waiting to check in, I hoped they would take a hint from my dissatisfaction. Back in the parking lot I had to sit on the phone for an hour trying to get my refund while Priceline made several attempts to contact the front desk. No one answered of course, eventually I got my refund. The place has made me not want to book online ever again. I wish I would have took pictures to prove to you how bad it was. I didn't think I would be writing a review but I'm wide awake in my new hotel room still thinking about my horrible experience there. Please do not stay there unless u want to find out the hard way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Unacceptable. Booked through Hotels.com and thought we could trust the pictures. We walked out after 10 minutes and 2 rooms. The place is so horrible with random drunk/high/sketchy characters roaming in and around the place. First thing in the lobby are 3 different sets of posted rules - warnings, threats re: drugs, parties, fights, and weapons...as well as management’s right to refuse service to anyone for any reason. In the elevator, a wasted woman spilled her open beer on me and then laughed in my face. Outside of our room a dazed and barefoot/PJ-clad man exited his room to fill the garbage bin with FOUR empty cases of beer. If those weren't enough red flags, we entered our room to find a door missing half of a frame and the latch lock had been ripped out and re-installed four times!! The bathroom was filthy - FILTHY - the shower was full of mold and the toilet was literally brown. Right outside our window a loud group of scary guys were smoking pot! We requested a room change - to one with a FUNCTIONING LOCK - and were taken to a room in even worse condition. This place is full of weekly/monthly residents and is more like a crack house than a hotel. We walked out even though we had prepaid - the front desk manager told us "no refunds after 5 minutes" - wonder why they came up with that rule?? And we had to drive 40 miles outside of San Antonio before we were finally rid of the heebeejeebees. DON'T EVER STAY HERE! We will never use another booking service or pre-pay for a room again!

Room Tip: Avoid this roach motel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Budget Hotel arent for everyone...great hotel...family orientated...Madeleine is the best...Clean rooms and I am known and treated as if Im family! Spring Break was truly busy there however...cant mix honey moons or romantic excapes name speaks for its self clean rooms low prices

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the facility in San Antonio (2635 NE Loop 410) the night of March 14, 2013. We arrived about 1:30 a.m. March 15 after flying in and found our room to not be at all what we had purchased. We were given a room with a double bed (we had paid for a king-size room), and told when my husband asked that there was nothing else available. The lobby was filthy, the elevator to the sixth floor had scratched graffiti all over the doors, the floors were sticky, and there were cigarette butts on the floor. The hallways were visibly filled with cigarette smoke although each of the rooms in the hallway had a non-smoking sign and the website we had used shows the hotel to be a non-smoking facility. Our room, #626, was shocking. The TV was left on, which I thought was odd, and made me think we were in someone else's room, but there were no other signs of inhabitation. There were huge stains of questionable origin on the floor (I thought it was vomit stain). Chairs were ripped. The floor looked as though it had not been vacuumed recently. There were ashes and incense stick remainders on the air conditioner. There were long black hairs on the bathroom floor, hair stuck to the outside of the hair dryer, mold and easily removable soap scum in the shower/bath (I wiped it with a towel), and the very small bath towels were stained. There were holes in the plaster in the bathroom. The dismantled smoke detector had no battery and there were no sprinklers.

We stayed, unfortunately. It was 1:30 am, we were exhausted, and my husband had a job interview that morning.

The shower alternated between scalding/freezing -- no in-between.

We both woke up sick from the smoke. And we didn't bother with the coffee maker or the continental breakfast in fear of food poisoning.

When we went to the woman at the front desk (LaToya), all we were given were excuses. There was nothing she could/would do to help us since we booked through a third-party site. It apparently was all the other sites' (Booking.com, Hotels.com, etc) faults that it hotel was not advertised accurately. However, there was really no way to find the accurate story while booking online since the hotel itself does not have a website (as confirmed by LaToya).

I brought up that they "non-smoking rooms" reeked of smoke -- and guests were smoking in the halls. Her response: we can't control our guests. So I asked her about the ability to control the cleanliness of the rooms. She then went on about booking through a third party. No help whatsoever.

By the way, even though this is listed as Budgetel, you cannot book them through that site (even though very misleading pictures are listed).

We requested the cancellation of the rest of our itinerary, and LaToya said we had to go through the third party.

I have stayed at a number of hotels in a third-world country and have never stayed someone so disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budgetel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budgetel Inn & Suites

Address: 2635 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budgetel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUDGETEL INN & SUITES IS CONVENIENTLY LOCATED FOUR MILES EAST OF INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT ON NE LOOP 410. OUR INTERIOR CORRIDOR HOTEL OFFERS CLEAN COMFORTABLE ROOMS, WITH ALL THE LATEST AMENITIES, SPACIOUS CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST AREA. BUSINESS CTR, FITNESS CTR, CONFERENCE/ MEETING ROOMS SEATS, FROM 30 TO 100 GUESTS, OUTDOOR POOL. AMPLE PARKING FOR BUSsES, RV’S, WALKING DIST TO A WIDE RANGE OF RESTAURANTS AND CLUBS; ALSO, A SHORT DRIVE TO WORLD CLASS SHOPPING, OR THE RIVERWALK AND OTHER FINE ATTRACTIONS SAN ANTONIO HAS TO OFFER. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budgetel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarchy Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budgetel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.