We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Signal Hill, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Western Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've stayed at many Best Western Hotels and all are normally very nice. This one was at the top of my list. Everything was top notch, from the folks at the desk, to the room, to the fitness and business centers, and the breakfast. Good location. Friendly staff and an excellent value. Could not have been more satisfied. I'd recommend this Best Western to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Fantastic. First i'd like to thank you for being a valued and loyal customer with the Best Western family of properties. I'd also like to thank you for your feedback and I am so glad we lived up to your expectations and more. We are very proud to have received the Chairman's Award on numerous occasions, and in this case it is even more important to win our own customer's award. I will share your comments with all staff, they will be overjoyed. Please come back and see us soon...thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    197
    48
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
295
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This a great spot to stay downtown, close enough for a taxi, but far from the noise!! The rooms a quite and comfortable, I Love this Hotel. The have a GREAT STAFF!!!! I will stay there again for sure!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Yay, we love it...thank you for your note. We look forward to seeing you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of the Riverwalk and other attractions including the Tower of America. Most attractions are from a few long city blocks to less than 1/2 mile away. There is also a city bus you can take if you don't want to walk that far. The breakfast buffet is not extensive but very adequate. The make your own waffles shaped like Texas are delicious. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We're so happy we were able to offer a convenient affordable location for your visit to SA. Love to see you back so let us know when you're ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

BW Sunset Suites is not really on the Riverwalk. It is across the highway, but still within a couple of miles. Cannot walk to Riverwalk, must drive. Room was nice, A/C unit needs a little attention. Spacious and mostly clean. Front desk staff was cold and "pre-recorded." Parking is the worst. Had to pay for an additional car and then park in EGYPT. Lovely older hotel that has been well maintained, but having stayed in lots of hotels all over the place, this one needs some tweaking as far as staff and customer service go. Located in an industrial neighborhood that is a little sketchy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. The Staff I am checking into because that is an unusual statement for our staff, not the normal feedback we see on them but we won't let it go lightly and will check to see who was working on your day of arrival...Parking, that one I got a chuckle out of. I actually did speak with you in person and I understand that it really wasn't that great of an issue, after all the overflow parking is right across the street from our hotel (not Egypt LOL) and you liked that it was free :). I enjoyed our conversation and loved the feedback..we like to hear every point of view and always use them to the best of our ability to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We found this hotel to be excellent for the following reasons:

1. The rate that we paid was very affordable.
2. Most of the San Antonio, Tx downtown attractions were within a short walking distance.
3. The beautiful Riverwalk was 3 blocks away.
4. The hotel itself was beautiful and fashionably furnished.
5. The front desk personnel were very helpful.
6. We felt safe with the Hotel's security.
7. A wonderful hot and freshly prepared breakfast was served each morning.
8. A free USA Today paper was available each weekday morning.
9. The hotel rooms were kept very clean by very nice and hardworking maids. We left them tips for their excellent work.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay each of the five times that we stayed at this hotel in 2013 , and we are planning staying there next week around the middle of Jan. 2014.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Fantastically done, nice bullet points to judge by. Thank you so much for your feedback. And thank you for taking care of the housekeepers, they enjoy their work...it's hard work but we try to make it fun for all. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed four nights and enjoyed the entire stay. Our room had a king bed with living area including desk,couch,coffee table, large comfy chair. The room and furniture were very,very nice.
Bed was comfortable and the Internet is fast. The hotel staff is the nicest we have come across any where, very accommodating and polite.
If you are a very light sleeper request a room on the parking lot side of the hotel. We stayed on the street side and noticed the traffic noise at first but quickly got used to it.
Hotel is in a great location, very easy stroll to the River walk. We walked several times in the evening from the River walk to the hotel and never felt uncomfortable at all.
Had breakfast at the hotel each morning, breakfast was varied and good! It is obvious they work very hard at this hotel to make it a great property and special kudos to O'Brian and Art (I think it was Art?) the front desk manager.

Room Tip: For light sleepers chose the "parking lot" side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Fantastic. Thank you so much for your feedback and great compliments to the Staff. We will share your kudos with the staff...they do work hard and this makes them feel so good knowing they made a difference in your stay. Please come back and so us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at this location over the weekend. The hotel is very nice. Our room was very spacious. We had a room on the parking lot side not street side and it was very quiet. The location was excellent. It was walking distance to the Alamodome ( which is the reason we were in town). Spent the rest of our visit walking to the Alamo and Riverwalk. Great price and the breakfast was good too. We arrived early (and I mean 10am) but the nice desk clerk said our room was ready and we were able to check in. I have only one complaint.... the lighting in the room was terrible. We had every light/lamp on the the curtains wide open and it was very hard to see. But other than that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Fabulous, we're so happy that we were able to meet your expectations. The close vicinity to all the sites, Alamo Dome, River Walk, Historic Alamo Mission and the activities downtown can not be beat...add in the free parking and great hot breakfast and we have ourselves the place to e in SA...right? Thank you for your feedback. We are working on the lighting, you noticed the historic ambiance of the property with solid oak furniture and Tiffany lighting...well the Tiffany lighting gives the smooth romantic look to the rooms and we're working with the manufacturers on our next revamp to increase the illumination. Mind you, it is not dark in the room, just can't land an airplane, that's all :). Loved having you and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#50 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.