We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good San Antonio hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #21 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good San Antonio hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed a great 2 nite stay. Good access to the Riverwalk, it's about a 5 minute walk which puts you at Rivercenter Mall area, which is good. The alternate parking lot is just diagonal from the small front parking area, not too far away as we had feared it would be. Seemed like safe area to us. Room and bath area were VERY clean and AC worked great! Some noise from the road, but not bad. Was great to have mini fridge for drinks. The bed was large, but seemed too firm for us, but if you like a firm mattress, would be perfect. Bedding and towels were soft and clean. We only ate breakfast one day, waffles were the best part of it, but sufficent for the price. Would rate this as a 3 star or above for amenities, though it is only rated as a 2 1/2 star. Staff was friendly. All in all we enjoyed our stay and never moved the car for 2 days! We walked all over the Riverwalk and visited the Alamo. Be sure and enjoy a night boat ride on the River, much cooler at night!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Ah, I think we have the overflow parking perfect now...glad to hear your approval. After a couple of months of negotiations we were able to secure additional spots (just so everyone knows, PARKING is completely FREE) right across the street at the upscale hi-rise condos. So exciting. We're glad the entire stay was perfect, the distance to downtown just right and you enjoyed the free parking amenity...saves $20 from any other downtown hotel. We'll see you back soon, right? We hope so :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    147
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
123
233
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and everything was great. The staff were all very nice and did a great job in making our stay there very enjoyable. We really enjoyed the free breakfast and it's location to the riverwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you took an extended time to visit all the site in San Antonio, there is really so much too see. And, the free parking, the two block walk to the sites, great breakfast and spacious rooms are a good way to start it all...but you already knew that :). See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites Riverwalk!! The staff are very friendly, especially Obrian, who gave us outstanding customer service!! We enjoyed the location, close to the Riverwalk and great freeway access! Great rooms and service, looking forward to staying again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We're looking forward to having you back. Thank you for staying with us. We will be sure to let O'Brian know you mentioned him by name, he will be very excited, as we are. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I came to San Antonio for the night w my husband. Chose to stay at this hotel because we had points to get a free room and it was a great choice! It's close enough to the river walk with out being right in the middle of everything. It's very clean and the room was awesome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Fantastic. Glad you were able to take advantage of your points, it's always a pleasure having a BW Rewards Member with us. See you back soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hotel. Staff wonderful. I love this hotel and will always stay here when visiting. We had a mini suite with three ladies. Lots of room for sleeping and dressing. Breakfast had a large variety to choose. Staff kept everything full with no waiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Fantastic...women of faith is one of the largest conference gathering in the city and we're always happy to provide a safe and pleasant environment. I am glad to hear that our over-sized suites were perfect for your needs. We'll be here next year, but come back sooner...OK?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel as the entire staff went out of their way to help us during our stay. They helped us with directions and also the night janitor was so very helpful to me as I was watching my grandson while his parents were out doing and errand. My grandson took an instant liking to him and he was very nice to my grandson also. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
W're so glad you were able to bring the whole family. Coming from a grand father, I know how special those times with the little ones are...so glad Max could play the entertainment for the little one, we never put anything past our staff when it comes to doing the right thing. Bring back the family, friends, neighbors...we'll be ready to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is great. Room is fabulous - I think competes well with more expensive hotels. It's located on other side of freeway, with free parking. But just a block away is you turn by the convention center you can drop down to the river walk immediately. Suite Room was great, very clean, king bed was confortable. only problem - not very sound proof if suite shares an inside door to another suite. We heard laughter as if it was inside our closet. So might not be too great on a busy weekend. But neighbors quited down. I'd still recommend to a friend and stay there again. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We've been saying all along that those hi-rise expensive hotels that charge for parking and stick you into a tiny room, with hundreds of other people they need to get in and out NEVER compare to us, so it's great to hear it from you. Sorry, I got carried away, but I love to hear that our property and service measures up to the best you expect from us. We will always have free parking and the best service money does NOT need to buy...come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.