We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine S.A. Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #29 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine S.A. Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A number of pleasant surprises for four first time Kelowna, B.C. visitors to Austin and San Antonio. We were initially aware we were not right downtown or actually on the Riverwalk but this worked out even better. For one, the parking was free and secondly,it was only a 10 minute walk to core of the city. We had intended on renting bicycles one day from a shop but discovered the B-Cycles right outside the hotel lobby. 4 of us spent 10 bucks each to cycle along the river and out to two of the Missions. Every half hour we'd take a break at kiosks along the way to make sure we were complying with this unique 'shared' transportation method.
In the immediate vicinity of St. Paul square (actually just behind the Best Western) is a historic little church, an elaborately restored train station with balcony and old photographs all around it. Just minutes away is the Alamodome . We took a peek in all 3 buildings even though they were closed to the public. Some nice folks saw we were interested and let us come in to ask questions and take some pictures.

The Hotel lobby itself is a restored hardwood showpiece with a nice restaurant area providing a free breakfast. Texas shaped waffles, eggs, biscuits, gravy, juices, coffee etc. This may change up. Pictures of the St.Paul area over the years intrigued us and that's what led us poke around the area. A security guard near the Dome pointed out some of the old speak-easys, watering holes and brothels that made up the square.

Now being we like to mingle with locals when we venture into any City, a musician downtown told us about Tuckers for some music and famous fried chicken. It was about 15 minutes from the hotel. Even closer was a fun bar where some fine Texas folks treated us to some wobbly pops and stories. Again, all just strides away and no one had to drive.

The rooms at BW Plus were awesome to arrive back to. There were two sinks, fridge and it was amazingly quiet considering the highway and ramps are right beside the property.

From the BW hotel staff to the security guard on the street, Alamodome host, Train Station lady, bar staff and new friends we met in two short days in S.A. I'd have to say the BW Plus is where it started.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I love reading detailed reviews of everything that goes on around town, it really helps other visitors...and thank you for your kind words about our property, we love it here. The free parking, the rental bikes across the street, the short walk to the River Walk are all amenities we can offer at a great price, in a beautiful hotel...we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    192
    47
    19
    20
See reviews for
156
290
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All in all, what a great fine. Value of the rooms, a little better then average price wise. Rooms were spacious and very clean, in fact the housekeeping staff pushes this hotel to the top. Room amenities: Large King size bed, small refrigerator, small microwave, Free WiFi, large sitting area, iron & iron board, full bathroom ( bath products include Bath & Body) including hair dryer. Breakfast area: clean, variety of food offered, from hot items (eggs, waffles,) to cold items (fruit, yogurts, dry cereal) Attendant always there with a smile to make sure supply of food is replaced and any needs of the guest are met. The location of the hotel is of great value. The building itself is part historic, just a short walk to major transportation center (Ellis Alley, also historic area), Riverwalk, Convention Center, The 1968 Hemisphere Park. Do yourself a favor, if you are looking for a place for lunch, walk over to the train station (Sunset Station). You will find the best Mexican Cuisine restaurant, "ALDACO'S"(www.aldacos.net). Only open for lunch from 11:00 to 3:00 but, by far the best value and quality you will find. Beats any restaurant you might find on the Riverwalk by far. The Riverwalk is a short walk from the hotel, but with the transportation center (Ellis Alley) even shorter, take advantage of the bus system. Route #100 Primo ( this bus route even offers WiFI) runs in both direction of the main flow of traffic, with stops at all the major area attractions; Shopping mall (Riverwalk center) Alamo, Riverwalk. The fare is of great value, $1.35 for the fare and two hour transfer or $4.00 for an all day pass, which; includes any of the trolleys and buses. You won't need to worry about public parking, so be adventurous and take the bus, it's safe and clean and you will be going green. Things that could push this property over to wards a four star, in-room safety lock boxes, better selection of larger pillows, brighter lights in the rooms, front desk staff with better knowledge of the local area and how to get around other then car. This property is a hidden treasure that will pay off time and time again, we will always look to stay at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites - Riverwalk any time while in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floor Request, Southern side has more sunlight to lighten the room during the day, we stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
What a fantastic review...I normally through in a funny line or two for humor but your review is so informative and well written about the ENTIRE TRAVEL EXPERIENCE for future travelers that I needed to leave well enough alone. I hope San Antonio visitors read up on your suggestions, AND heed your recommendation of our property...OK so I had to add that last line in there for us :). Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March. It is in an ideal location and within easy walking distance of tourist attractions and we never used our car. Liked having free parking, too.
Everything was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning with china and real silverware. Room was at the back and very quiet..Would definitely stay here again if in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the back away from the busy street at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We definitely want you back :). I am glad you took advantage of the free parking and toured the sites on foot (2 block walk to most everything) and the local transit service (easy day passes offered at the property) for the longer distance sites I am sure you hit quite a few places in four days, but you will never have enough time in San Antonio so come back and see us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we recently stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews. The room was great nice & big with a good sized sitting area. we found the staff ot be friendily and helpful. the morning breakfast area was very bright and they varied their selections each day. Access to the downtown area is under the freeway, it was well lit at night & the hotel staff reported they had no problems. As the rooms are big( long & narrow) with one window the day can be dark. you can hear the room above you as the people walk aound. we liked that they had real dishes in the breakfast room & not paper and plastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Only the best for our guests. Just because other properties offer paper plates, plastic forks and foam cups it doesn't we have to :). We want to be good environmental stewards and offer a touch of class to our valued guests. We appreciate your feedback, they truly help us stay ahead of the competition by understanding what we do properly and where we need growth. Do come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The guest room was clean and spacious.
The breakfast was average.
Free parking was a great value in downtown San Antonio.
The location was very convinient (close to I37).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you. The Staff loves to hear that they did well and I will be sure to share your comments with them at the next check cashing party...glad the free parking was an amenity you could use. It is a rarity in the downtown environment but we feel our guests pay for the room and they on't need to be nickle and dimed, although most downtown parking runs about $20 per day. I hope we'll see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#52 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.