We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best western San Antonio river walk plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #29 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
united kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best western San Antonio river walk plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent hotel. Selected as I was on a very tight budget at the time of booking and this hotel was a good price and reasonably centrally located. I was a little concerned as I read various reviews that as it was very close to the intersection and it was very loud and disruptive to sleep- so I went prepared (took ear plugs) - didn't need them, yes the main intersection is just across the road, however I was not aware of this, ever. Staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Excellent, inclusive breakfast. Room had a mini kitchen - microwave/sink - so you can eat in if you wish. Rooms very clean and tidy. Good size with a separate seating area. Well located- a couple of blocks from the centre of town,5-10min walk max. Free parking. Loved it. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I am hard of hearing, or at least I get accused of that by my wife :), but it's good to get confirmation that the convenience of being on the main drag has no effect on the inside noise. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the location and vicinity of downtown, the free parking, the fabulous breakfast and the over-sized (all-suites) guest rooms...did I miss anything :). So we hope to see you back soon and be sure to leave the ear plugs at home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    193
    47
    19
    20
See reviews for
157
290
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5:00 pm after a 4 hour drive with 4 children under the age of 6. Within 20 minutes of our arrival, we received a phone call from the front desk saying they had already had a "noise complaint" from the room below us. Remind you.... This was at 5:30 in the afternoon, not 9 or 10 pm!

When making the reservation I clearly stated that we had 4 children with us & yet the staff chose to put us on the 4th floor? We were then asked to move to the first floor, which was no small feat with 4 kids & all of our luggage. In neither room did the remote control work unless you literally punched in the numbers and in room 401 where we were initially placed, the sliding windows had broken locks on them & the windows opened completely!!!! No child safety locks there!

The walk to the Riverwalk consisted of having to cross several awkward freeway exits and a stroll underneath the freeway.

All in all, not a good experience whatsoever! We will be staying at the Hyatt on each and every single visit back to San Antonio. Their location is wonderful & they are VERY family-oriented!!!!! This Best Western is best saved for those people that need to be in bed by 5:30pm!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We love the little guys and always look forward to your return. I am sure the front desk was only following your request when they placed you on the first floor...we do all we can to cater to your requests. We do hope you visit San Antonio once more and do take advantage of our hospitality anytime you choose to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Super location, covenient to everything downtown and easy freeway access. The room was spacious and clean, nice living area for entertaining. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was courtious and always ready to help with any needs. Great breakfast buffet, everything is fresh. And amazingly the parking is free! Definitely will book with them again,and will certainly be recommending them to any family and friends who venture down that way. Best hotel experience I've had in awhile.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wow, fantastic news...so glad you enjoy your trip to San Antonio, and that we were a key part to your enjoyable visit. We believe are Staff are GOLD, so kind of neat that they were referred to "a hidden gem" :). Thank you and see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites - in September of 2012 for a Nursing Conference. The location was convenient with a short walk to the conference and local eating places. Room was clean and hotel was quiet and staff was helpful... Breakfast was simple but hot and again staff was very helpful... Room was a little dark due to lighting.. free parking was a plus.. will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the free parking and close vicinity to the Convention Center. We hope you had a successful conference and we thank you for your service to the community as a medical professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great downtown location with FREE PARKING. Just a few short blocks and you have access to the riverwalk.
This location has lots of pro's: bus pick up across the street, city bike rental lot there too, Free breakfast and wonderful hospitality staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites and Non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow, this review is made for Twitter...thank yo so much for your wonderful feedback. Please like us on Facebook to find out about all the cool upcoming events in San Antonio and special seasonal offers. We look forward to seeing you back soon...by the way, did you take the Bus or the Bikes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valann38
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This ace has the rudest staff you will ever meet. Rude staff, dirty rooms. Pick another hotel. Parking is a problem plus they make you go outside in the dark and put the card in your car and get the license number.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am so sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations...as you know by looking at our reviews, and Medallia Scores, we always aim to achieve the highest level of customer satisfaction and ensure a wonderful experience while visiting our beautiful city. I would love to know details of where we fell short...if it was the security measures on your vehicle by placing the parking permit in your window or something else...I need to know. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be sure to take all necessary steps to ensure a perfect stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.