We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to San Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #23 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    164
    39
    17
    19
See reviews for
136
251
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Super location, covenient to everything downtown and easy freeway access. The room was spacious and clean, nice living area for entertaining. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was courtious and always ready to help with any needs. Great breakfast buffet, everything is fresh. And amazingly the parking is free! Definitely will book with them again,and will certainly be recommending them to any family and friends who venture down that way. Best hotel experience I've had in awhile.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wow, fantastic news...so glad you enjoy your trip to San Antonio, and that we were a key part to your enjoyable visit. We believe are Staff are GOLD, so kind of neat that they were referred to "a hidden gem" :). Thank you and see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites - in September of 2012 for a Nursing Conference. The location was convenient with a short walk to the conference and local eating places. Room was clean and hotel was quiet and staff was helpful... Breakfast was simple but hot and again staff was very helpful... Room was a little dark due to lighting.. free parking was a plus.. will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the free parking and close vicinity to the Convention Center. We hope you had a successful conference and we thank you for your service to the community as a medical professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great downtown location with FREE PARKING. Just a few short blocks and you have access to the riverwalk.
This location has lots of pro's: bus pick up across the street, city bike rental lot there too, Free breakfast and wonderful hospitality staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites and Non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow, this review is made for Twitter...thank yo so much for your wonderful feedback. Please like us on Facebook to find out about all the cool upcoming events in San Antonio and special seasonal offers. We look forward to seeing you back soon...by the way, did you take the Bus or the Bikes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valann38
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This ace has the rudest staff you will ever meet. Rude staff, dirty rooms. Pick another hotel. Parking is a problem plus they make you go outside in the dark and put the card in your car and get the license number.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am so sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations...as you know by looking at our reviews, and Medallia Scores, we always aim to achieve the highest level of customer satisfaction and ensure a wonderful experience while visiting our beautiful city. I would love to know details of where we fell short...if it was the security measures on your vehicle by placing the parking permit in your window or something else...I need to know. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be sure to take all necessary steps to ensure a perfect stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Best Western hotels along with "high class" hotels realizing you get what you pay for. The room was as big, nice and clean as any I have seen. It has a couch, desk, refridgerator and real glasses. The breakfast was very good. It includes eggs and waffles. Staff was courtious. Bathroom is small, but I can live with it. Also the parking lot is small.

It is very convient to the convention center and the river walk. I recommend this hotel even if you are not on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Now that's what we like to hear...the best of high class accommodations on a budget everyone can afford. Thank you so much for your review. We're happy to have met your expectations and look forward to your return in the near future. You forgot to mention the REAL plates and silverware for the all you can eat full American hot buffet breakfast :)...sorry I thought I'd mention that since you were kind enough to touch on the real glasses and cups in the rooms :). See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very good exceptionaly clean great room nicely decorated could do with stronger lighting. Easy check in and out friendly and helpfull receptionist did not get her name but she had won some sort of award on her name badge. Easy walk to the riverwalk just cut through the marriott(in front door down the escalator and out the back. great breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Sounds like you found your way around town...I use the cut through the Marriott myself :), air conditioning in the Summer helps the walk. Krystan at the desk IS fabulous, she was our Employee of The Month, glad you experienced her charm and friendly smile. We look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.