We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 West Loop 1604 South, San Antonio, TX 78245 (Far West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #77 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early July of 2012. This is a fairly new hotel and even the room had the "new" smell to it when we first checked in. The room was a little small but was completely neat and clean with new everything. I will say, the one flaw we found with the room was the paper thin walls. You could hear everything in the surrounding rooms, just regular everyday noises, not even loud obnoxious noises. Other than that, this hotel stay was wonderful. The staff was super friendly from the first moment to the last. The breakfast was good. Consisted of cereals, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins. Basic continental breakfast items. The breakfast area was a little small with not enough seating, but if you timed it right and went down earlier than the rest of the crowd, then there was plenty of space. The hotel also offered a shuttle to and from Sea World. While we didn't use it, it is nice that the option was there. The room even had a window seat in it with a cushion and pillow. My children loved this and took turns sleeping there instead of the bed. The beds were extremely comfortable. Overall this was a great hotel to stay at. We would definitely book this again if we ever venture to SeaWorld. It was only about 4 miles from the entrance of the park. I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    99
    33
    19
    11
See reviews for
232
23
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. Mike, Sandra, and Estella were super friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. We took the shuttle to Sea World and it was well worth it. Mr. Mike was very nice and informative. Microtel is the place to stay. We highly recommend this hotel. We hope they keep it up like this in years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at location in July 2012. Overall,hotel was clean. Hotel room had a unusual smell when we first walked in which just smelled like it had been closed up for a while. Chose this hotel due to shuttle service to Sea World. After checking in, found out shuttle service was an additional $10 per room which was not advertised on their website. Also found out that Sea World corporate actually owns hotel.
Outdoor pool was small and overcrowded and water was cold even though it was 100 degrees outside.
Staff was polite and complementary breakfast was just toast, waffles, oatmeal and drinks. Not much there including no place to sit down to eat.
Air conditioner system is inter connected between rooms. Was quite a surprised when we got back to our room and it smelled like someone had been smoking marijuana in the room. Complained to front desk and there had been 2 other complaints from rooms on different floors that also smelled like marijuana. Desk clerk called Manager who flat out refused to call the Police on guests breaking the law smoking marijuana. They also did not offer any form of compensation or discount for having to put up with obnoxious smell.
If you are law abiding, find another hotel. If you smoke pot then this is the hotel for you because they will not call the Police on you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maringouin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was awesome. We stayed for four nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the shuttle bus to sea world. Drops you off at the sea world entrance. The cost of the shuttle bus is only a one time fee of ten dollars. You can use it everyday of your stay. If you decide to drive yourself you will pay 15.00 to park at seaworld. The front desk and the drivers were very knowledgable and informative about area attractions. the place was very clean. Beds very comfortable. The pillows were so comfortable that I purchased some when we checked out. We came here after spending three nights at schiliterbahn. Microtel was 156.00 cheaper a night. Again extremly nice hotel would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were room 202 which is the last room very easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This place deserves more than 5 stars for an incredible Value! Great rooms, very friendly staff, good free breakfast, and the shuttle service to Sea World really made our trip hassle free! Our driver was cool and also quite informative....he offered many tips about Sea World and San Antonio in general. Schedule your own drop off and pick up times at the front desk. Estella was extremely helpful and very friendly....we knew from the moment we checked in that our stay was going to be a good one. The beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness of everything was absolutely spectacular. Great overall stay for the entire family!

A few side notes:

Someone is missing out on a golden opportunity to open a nice restaurant near this hotel. You have to travel 9.5 miles North from the hotel to find a good selection of restaurants at Loop 1604 and Culebra Road. The Riverwalk is exactly 17.4 miles away...that would be your second best option for dining nearby.

Also, it is kind of annoying that you cannot cross Loop 1604 at Dove Canyon Road, where the hotel is. If you want to go North....you have to travel 1/2 a mile South and turn around. If you're heading North, you have to travel 1.5 miles past the hotel and turn around at Potranco Road. This got old quick, and like I said...kinda annoying.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a Lackland AFB graduation. The hotel was great but extremely frustrating to find. Because the hotel is new, the address is not available for those using gps. Placing 1400 Dove Canyon in the gps will bring you to the hotel though. Other than finding the place, the breakfast in the morning was pretty good and they also served an evening cocktail hour for free. The room was very clean and even had high tech touch screen thermometers in the room. Bed was made everyday and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this location one night after visiting Seaworld, which is only 4 miles away. This is a new property and was flawless. Our check in and check out was great; the staff members were very friendly and continually asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable. The rooms were spotless with great amenities. The pool was perfect and the hot tub area was even better. The breakfast was really good. Thanks Microtel, we will definitely be staying with you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB

Address: 1605 West Loop 1604 South, San Antonio, TX 78245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by SeaWorld/Lackland AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.