We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good treat on a hot day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Justin's Ice Cream

Justin's Ice Cream
245 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 222-2707
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good treat on a hot day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This shop is inside of another store. It had ice cream, gelato and another type of frozen dessert. Not too many choices of which ever brand you choose. Very little indoor seating and no air conditioning. Prices are reasonable. Make sure you bring cash though as that is all they accept.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cool Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I wanted some ice cream after dinner. There were many places along the river, but I didn't want a chain. The place looked unique so I decided to give it a try. It was run down and dirty on the inside, but I was getting it to go so I didn't care. I got salted caramel in a waffle cone. The ice cream was soft and runny. It would have been better if it was more frozen. The ice cream was creamy and full of flavor. The waffle cone was not homemade and from a box. I would have passed on that and just got it in a cup if I would have known.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Italian Ice in San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went today while on a riverwalk tour. Owner was very nice and very generous with the samplings he gave us. Four scoops of ice cream! My favorite was the Lemonade Italian Ice. I also liked the Mango Sherbert for which they are famous for. Will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“mmmmm, ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Italian ice cream, served by Mexicans while listening to Indian music in San Antonio. But most importantly EXCELLENT ice cream. Try the Dipped Strawberry (very strawberry ice cream with slivers of dark chocolate). Unbelievably delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Sub-par ice cream shop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We tried this ice cream place while driving cross country. We were looking forward to getting some dessert after dinner on the riverwalk, but I didn't even finish my small gelato. Just meh. This was honestly just marginal ice cream; nothing special at all. They were out of many of the popular flavors. Go upstairs to Ben & Jerry's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Justin's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.