We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A National Treasure" said President Bill Clinton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Justin's Ice Cream

Justin's Ice Cream
245 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 222-2707
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"A National Treasure" said President Bill Clinton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Justin makes the best, authentic gelato, ice cream and sorbet. He has some of the amazing flavours found only in Italy. Justin puts his heart and soul into every product he makes. The staff are friendly and helpful. Treat yourself!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love the Italian (Justin) Boot Logo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is probably the closest to Italian gelato that Texas offers. Italian, y'all! They make all their own ice cream and it is pretty darn good. The gelato has the right texture and richness, but the flavoring leaves a bit to be desired. The pesche (peach) I had did not have the intensity that you taste in Italy, where it has to be made with fresh fruit. Probably a bit tough in San Antonio in November.

The location can't be beat, though, on the San Antonio River Walk. I bet the line is a mile long on a hot summer day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cupon & quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I went to sweet san antonio with my family on a budget, but we made everything possible so it wouldn't seem cheap of cheapest. when planning our trip we bought cupons for hotels, food and deserts. This ice cream location became our favorite, we visited everyday for desert (3 days) their gelato and the sorbets were the best, gelato just like in italy and fruit sorbets just like in mexico! Delicious! I strongly recommend to visit. The price is ok, buy quality is huge. I used a cupon and there was a kind lady who assisted us, took our cupon and explained the flavors some of them can't even pronounce. There is a candy shop right next to the ice cream place but It is way better to chose Justin's. we tried both but Justin's ice cream won. nice place outside to chill, and ejoy the beautiful environment of the river and mariachi songs next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a nice little ice cream parlor, along the Riverwalk (near the Hyatt Regency) that also served an excellent gelato.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great way to beat the heat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great selection of delicious ice cream in a beautiful location!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Justin's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.