We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay AT The Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #83 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“My Stay AT The Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My Stay AT The Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio Was Great Overall. The staff was 5 star they went above and beyond to make my stay the best it could be. I loved the location as it was close to places I needed to access. I could walk to the shopping areas. It was close to a lot of good places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    124
    57
    24
    11
See reviews for
81
78
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked a room here using hotel points, so I didn't research prices. There may be cheaper options elsewhere, but I still think this Hampton Inn is a great deal. Everything here is what you'd expect from a Hampton Inn, and the very short walk to the Alamo and Riverwalk seals the deal. The only downsides I saw were that the cookies ran out very quickly and the gym had only cardio equipment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Front Desk Staff was friendly and helpful. Several other things weren't up to snuff. 1) This Hampton Inn had no bereavement rate. We'd stayed in Norman, OK, last year at a Hampton Inn and they offered a substantial discount for bereavement. 2) They allow smoking right outside the front door, so you have to breathe smoke in much of the time as you enter or leave. 3) Shower caps are available at front desk--not in one's room--but they don't tell you this when you check in, so if you are undressed and about to step into the shower, you have to re-dress and go downstairs if you don't want wet hair. 4) They have a large variety of foods from which to choose at breakfast, but they served some kind of "sausage gravy" that looked like slop and was extremely unappetizing; 5) There is a $15 charge extra per night to park one's car!!! 6) The taxes (although not under their control) are exhorbitant. We paid between $20 and $21 dollars in tax--it's not as if we were staying in Manhattan--this was San Antonio. 7) it was difficult to locate--even with our navigation system. Their sign in hidden by another hotel next door and consequently we went around in circles until we found the place.

Room Tip: I asked for one near the eleveator, and we were assigned a close one but it was right next to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is close to everything in downtown San Antonio. We enjoyed the River Walk and the Alamo. Front desk is friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice, but somewhat worn looking, especially the carpet. The carpet in the elevator is really bad, worn out and dirty. Plus they run out of cookies really fast, we got one cookie out of the three nights we stayed, could smell them when we came back from outside, but not a single one in sight, bummer,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent hotel! Stayed for a convention and I think I had the best service in San Antonio. GM obviously runs a great hotel and it shows through the staff and the rooms! I could have stayed at a nicer hotel with inflated rates for the convention but this property is close the convention center, the mall and obviously the river. Can't wait to take my entire family here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is within walking distance of Convention Center. Bed and room were very clean and comfortable. They provide a complimentary breakfast along with 24 hour coffee self service. When we walked back to the Hotel from the Convention Center, they had coffee, tea or hot chocolate waiting. How nice; enough said!

Room Tip: Third floor was perfect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My mom stayed here a week ago and she left her jacket and pants in her room. She called the hotel room service manager and let her know she'd be back in a week and the manager said she'd hold onto her clothes. We come back to the hotel and the front desk staff were incredibly rude and didn't bother checking with the manager at all and basically told us things just so we'd leave them alone. The staff is awful. The room is alright, your average hotel room. And its near the riverwalk which isn't bad. But the staff's rudeness is a huge issue. Don't be surprised if they roll their eyes at you when you ask them something. And make sure you have all your belongings, because you might never see them again thanks to them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel
Hampton Inn San Antonio
Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn
Address: 414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from the River Walk, the Convention Center and the Alamo, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Downtown (River Walk) is ten minutes from the San Antonio International Airport. Settle into a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Enjoy free high-speed internet access, type away on the handy lap desk or curl up in front of the in-room TV. Start the day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast. Stay connected on the lobby computer with free high-speed internet, fax and photocopying. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center or swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.