We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Hilton - San Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points Package
Ranked #107 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Friendly Hilton - San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Near Sea World but a little far from downtown San Antonio, this hotel is geared perfectly for a family vacation. Friendly staff and accomodations (quiet) that provide activities for kids without overwhelming the adults make this a good spot for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    214
    136
    111
    87
See reviews for
407
102
26
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Hill Country Hotel & Spa for 2 nights as part of a group for business and had a relatively painless experience. The property seems geared towards families heading to Sea World, so if you're in that category, you're in the right place! For business it was Ok; we only stayed at the hotel and were pretty much in & out, so it was fine for our purposes.

ROOMS: My guest room was fine - clean and comfortable and quiet.

AMENITIES: The restaurant needs more staff; we ate dinner there twice and both nights the service was just really really slow, and with numerous mistakes - being brought the wrong items, things that'd gone cold, etc. The pool and fitness centers looked fine though I didn't use them.

TEMPERATURE: The temperature as others have noted is quite warm in the property - probably due to energy-saving strategies, though it did feel less than refreshing to enter an 80 degree building when it was already 90 degrees and quite humid outside.

LOCATION: There isn't a lot around this property to do without a car; nothing really in walking distance other than the Hyatt Hill Country, as well as a gas station/ BBQ place, which was actually delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - there must be some rooms with a view - mine was of the front parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. It was great!! The people were very helpful and friendly. It was very clean and comfortable. Loved the pools and the courtyard with firepits/smores and outside movie. GREAT JOB!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel primarily to go to Seaworld and it seemed like a family friendly place. We arrived and I was checked in quickly. I had requested a quiet room and they gave us one. Never had a problem with sound and were right next to the stairs. We went downstairs and ate in the restaurant. The food and service was very good, I wish the price had been cheaper. Considering there were guests everywhere except the restaurant, I figure the high price was the reason for the empty restaurant at 8:00pm.

We enjoyed the pool except for a few rambunctious boys jumping all over the place and splashing. (That is a parent thing, not a hotel thing.) I am one of those people that likes my well behaved children (and not others so much) and was a bit worried about the "brat" problem that occurs at some family hotels. Besides the minor pool incident we had no problems and the kids seemed very happy with the movie and smores. They give you a pack with a stick and everything. There were several fire pits that were really nice and the movie on the wall changes every night. Great idea if you are travelling with young kids.

Our breakfast server was very nice and the food was good. It was freezing in there, only problem. Comparable to most hotel breakfast I've had. No complaints.

We used the shuttle in the morning to Seaworld and he drove us straight there and then was there in the evening to pick us up at the designated time. They leave / return every hour so I didn't have to worry about getting stuck waiting for a few hours. For all the trips that I had to wait in line to park and walk a mile, this was awesome! Next time I go to Seaworld I will stay at this hotel.

All in all, it was a nice stay. Quiet, clean room. Had nothing to really complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like yo were able to avail yourself of many our amenities like the shuttle, pool, and restaurant. Thank you for the review and thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Hill Country Resort and Spa. We took our 11 yr old twins and they had such a wonderful time. They were able to swim, do s'mores, watch an outside movie, play games, and my daughter got her hair done. They have a wonderful spa. Our room was directly across from the movie so we were able to move to our balcony and finish watching the movie. We took the free shuttle to Sea World. Then we went to the River Walk which is only 20 min away and ate at The Rainforest Cafe. This is really a hotel for the entire family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I remember seeing you in the lobby and telling me about the Rain Forest Cafe. Be sure to visit us again the next time you are in San Antonio! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I dont understand how a hotel that has so much business can be so poorly managed and maintained.

We checked in on July 3rd. Our initial impression from pulling up to the hotel was great. When we pulled in and got ready to unload our stuff, a bellhop was almost immediately there. That was impressive. We went to the front desk and was greeted properly and checked in efficiently.

We were impressed with the main lobby and then we went to our floor. The elevators were hot and stuffy, even for San Antonio. When we reached floor 4, we instantly saw stains on the hallway carpet and started to wonder.

Then we get to our room. I will not list the room number just for a little privacy on Hilton's part. The room was hot the minute we walked in. It was smaller than we thought, especially for a suite. We were not ready for that temperature, so we turned the temp all the way down to 60 (the lowest the thermostat would go). Lets just say that we never turned it back up again, the whole 4 days we were there. The temp probably got down to 73 at the BEST in the middle of the night when the air temp is at its lowest outside. Im instantly not impressed.

We checked out the bedroom area and went through the sheets on the bed. Holes in the sheets, albeit small ones, are not acceptable to me for the price we paid. The air movement in the room was almost nil. So, the bedroom was even warmer than the living area of this suite.

Then on to the bathroom. The shower looked dirty and dingy from the start, so much that we wore shower shoes in it because we couldn't trust the cleaning crew. The bathtub had clipped nails in it when we arrived. We were not pleased, but tried to be understanding that this was a highly traveled hotel that was frequented by kids and families going to Sea World.

The first time someone needed to use the toilet, they came out of the closed door toilet area almost dripping sweat. Horrible airflow again.

When the first one of us used the shower, we noticed it leaked all over the floor immediately. Im talking about enough water to soak a towel. What I didn't notice until the third day, the day before we left, was the growth of algae under the shelf in the shower that had started. Just keeps getting worse and worse.

The shuttle service to and from Sea World was great in the mornings, when a driver named Primo was working. Then there was a guy on the 4th that was bringing us back from Sea World to the hotel who did nothing but flirt with two girls who were sitting near the front and talking about getting drunk, fights and clubbin'. Nice for my kids to listen to all that.

On the 6th, the driver that returned us in the afternoon from Sea World was a nice guy.

When we checked out on the 7th, the end of a major holiday weekend, the hotel had only one bellhop working, so we had to wait 45 minutes to get service leaving. The bellhop was overworked but maintained a good attitude, so we tipped him well.

We will never stay at this hotel again based on the rooms alone. But let me throw one more thing in there.....

On the second or third day we were there, we were coming back upstairs to our room and when we get to the 4th floor, we see people stuck in an elevator waiting for maintenance. They had been waiting for over 30 minutes. Im really glad that wasn't us. I would have lost it at that point.

Now, to the title of my posting. I don't understand how a corporation as large as Hilton would ever put their name on a hotel that is not being maintained well. Especially one that can afford to upgrade a lot of things and maintain them, but chooses not to. I would recommend you look ANYWHERE else but this hotel so you can maintain your sanity and have a nice vacation in San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I appreciated that you mentioned a number of positives with your stay. We did not have any reported issues with our elevators over this time period so I am uncertain as to the nature of the problem. I do apologize for failing to meet your expectaions and failure to provide you with a great overall experience. We take these matters seriously and I can promise that we will continue to improve. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hilton keeps its standards high at this hotel. Service was excellent. Hotel and facilities are excellent. They have a shuttle to Sea World for the families. At night they show a movie on a big screen outside by the pools w/firepits to make Smores!! It was a perfect place and the whole family had a great time!! Hyatt doesn't have as great a service standard as Hilton!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the review. We like our guests to think of this as their home away from home. I love reading about the comparisons with our neighbors, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.