We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So much potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for the location-it's right across the street from the San Antonio river walk. Upon arrival at 5pm our rooms were still not ready. No apology or approximate time was given. We had already unloaded bags for 6 people and had to ask for it to be put into the concierge closet- this was not offered. We also had to ask for a call when the room was ready. We then went to park in the hotel lot (charged per day), there was not one spot open and we were forced to park along a curb. We went to dinner and called them at about 7:30 since we had not yet received a call that our rooms were ready. The rooms were ready at that time. The other draw for this hotel was the included breakfast. The food was fine for this type of breakfast buffet, but the layout required a long line to go through multiple stations whether you were interested in them or not, the trash cans overflowed, and there were wet areas on the floor- all of this while someone diligently dusted a piece of art. The overall feeling was for a lack of direction. The team members weren’t rude, but more untrained. We insisted on not paying for the parking, but otherwise no apology was given. Just be sure you are staying for the location and not the property itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    124
    44
    18
    17
See reviews for
114
76
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for over 6 months and had to unexpectedly check out. I had important packages coming and asked for them to hold them 5 days till I returned. After assuring me they would, I was informed they sent the package back. Will Never stay at this location again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Since I have got a special price for the room (weekly stay - 75 USD per night without taxes), I have been extremely satisfied. Probably, this was the best room for the price range I had during quite intensive travelling in US during last 5 years when I spent many nights in different hotels. The only thing I have found better in some places was variety of breakfast. But the current one is still slightly above the standard. The king size bed room was large enough, very clean and comfortable, nice table, sofa, microwave, refrigerator. Really, nothing was missing. Perhaps, the safe, but I did not miss it. The room was not serviced daily but I did not required this. Location is not directly in downtown but it is easy to walk there 10-15 minutes. Very pleasant experience. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This site was close to downtown, but far enough away that we didn't have to pay the "premium" price. We had a very nice stay. My only downside was the mattress, which was on it's last legs. But the service was excellent, and we couldn't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#69 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.