We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Upstate Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights in January. Our executive king suite was spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was always clean and the housekeeping staff were very nice. The guest laundry is a nice amenity - not too nice of a room but glad it was available. The breakfast was okay but never changed during our week long stay. The trolley stop is located by the hotel and we took it downtown on the day it rained. Otherwise, the location is great - we walked everywhere - either on the streets or on the river walk which is only about 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    139
    53
    20
    17
See reviews for
129
85
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Recently stayed here on a business and pleasure trip for six nights. Staff was always friendly and smiling. We stayed in room 405 which was very clean, spacious, and quiet our entire stay. Parking is free and the hotel is about a half mile from the riverwalk making it very convenient for food and shops. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend for anyone looking to get their monies worth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as the room was much larger than other rooms we had stayed at and it was very clean and comfortable. One of the bonuses was that parking was free and it was a very short walk along the glorious river walk into the middle of town. There is also a 'Hop On / Off' tour bus stop & public transport bus stop right outside the hotel. The 'Missions' are only a short drive from the hotel. Breakfast was the usual 'La Quinta' breakfast which we appreciate when travelling as a family. We stayed in several La Quinta hotels during our 5 week stay in the USA and we would recommend this chain to anyone travelling with a family as they are very economical, breakfast is good and parking usually free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for years for both business and pleasure. It is an older well maintained hotel, that is quiet compared to some of the newer hotels that are built cheaper and noisy between the floors. This particular LQ is in a good location, highly recommend a walk to the King William District, literally blocks from the hotel, a great old area with nice restaurants to eat. Also, walking distance to the Market, and to downtown SA, Riverwalk. The staff here is very nice and friendly. The rooms could use a little updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, even though it is an older hotel it is in a great location within walking distance to the river walk, the Alamo and any thing else you want to entertain you. There also is a bus/trolley stop right outside the hotel. The rooms are gigantic for the price and include a fridge and microwave! Nice beautiful updated bathroom and great flat screen tv with lots of dresser/storage space if you need it. Our room even had a sleeper sofa and recliner!! The grounds and interior of hotel are very clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I appreciate all La Quinta hotels for their rooms, service, and free breakfast. This one also had a trolley stop right in front of the hotel! Fare was $1.20 each way ($4 for a daily pass), and the trolley drivers were extremely helpful regarding restaurants, attractions, and stops. Hotel staff members were very helpful as well. I do wish they could sell the $4 pass as we would have to go to a less convenient spot for that. We did not expect to have a living area as well as the two beds, so that was a treat. Again, I appreciate the staff. Although it was too cold to swim and the pool was closed, it was extremely clean. There are no restaurants near the hotel, so plan to eat elsewhere, preferably the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#75 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.