We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as the room was much larger than other rooms we had stayed at and it was very clean and comfortable. One of the bonuses was that parking was free and it was a very short walk along the glorious river walk into the middle of town. There is also a 'Hop On / Off' tour bus stop & public transport bus stop right outside the hotel. The 'Missions' are only a short drive from the hotel. Breakfast was the usual 'La Quinta' breakfast which we appreciate when travelling as a family. We stayed in several La Quinta hotels during our 5 week stay in the USA and we would recommend this chain to anyone travelling with a family as they are very economical, breakfast is good and parking usually free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    155
    60
    22
    18
See reviews for
141
93
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for years for both business and pleasure. It is an older well maintained hotel, that is quiet compared to some of the newer hotels that are built cheaper and noisy between the floors. This particular LQ is in a good location, highly recommend a walk to the King William District, literally blocks from the hotel, a great old area with nice restaurants to eat. Also, walking distance to the Market, and to downtown SA, Riverwalk. The staff here is very nice and friendly. The rooms could use a little updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, even though it is an older hotel it is in a great location within walking distance to the river walk, the Alamo and any thing else you want to entertain you. There also is a bus/trolley stop right outside the hotel. The rooms are gigantic for the price and include a fridge and microwave! Nice beautiful updated bathroom and great flat screen tv with lots of dresser/storage space if you need it. Our room even had a sleeper sofa and recliner!! The grounds and interior of hotel are very clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I appreciate all La Quinta hotels for their rooms, service, and free breakfast. This one also had a trolley stop right in front of the hotel! Fare was $1.20 each way ($4 for a daily pass), and the trolley drivers were extremely helpful regarding restaurants, attractions, and stops. Hotel staff members were very helpful as well. I do wish they could sell the $4 pass as we would have to go to a less convenient spot for that. We did not expect to have a living area as well as the two beds, so that was a treat. Again, I appreciate the staff. Although it was too cold to swim and the pool was closed, it was extremely clean. There are no restaurants near the hotel, so plan to eat elsewhere, preferably the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice well informed staff gave us info on trolley hours and route for site seeing which is better than paying for parking. The breakfast was not up to La Quinta standards it had eggs but were boiled and had no bacon/sausage/ biscuits. The location and staff are great when something was not working they fixed it immediately. The room was large and clean. Hotel has on site laundry room/business center. I would stay there again considering the staff did what they could to make it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: bring your own snack than pay hotel prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#91 of 352 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#92 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.