We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North
16315 US Highway 281 North, San Antonio, TX 78232 (North Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #206 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Taylor, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

From the beginning the staff at the front desk who answered my call requesting directions, were rude. Saying that the GPS directions and the address provided were different, as if I should have known that! Our stay was subpar at best with tons of small issues like no shampoo, light bulbs burnt out, not enough towels, dust on lamps etc… By the late evening we discovered ants crawling on the night stand and that the refrigerator was not cooling anything. We called the front desk several times and were unable to get a hold of anyone. Finally someone promised to come up to the room and resolve the refrigerator issue, however no one ever came. We chose the hotel for the pool, which was nice, and the airport shuttle which was not available because it was the weekend (this was not stated anywhere on the site we used to book nor was it in the confirmation email as they claimed when we checked in).
My main disappointment and the reason for this negative review, is that despite some of the nice things, like allowing us to check in 15 minutes early and late checkout, no one apologized for anything. They acted as if by asking for simple items, things that should have been provided and were expected, we were asking too much. When I asked to speak with a manager or an assistant no one was available and the receptionist didn’t apologize for the inconveniences we had experienced.
The staff needs lessons in customer service. I never asked for anything extra and did not want anything more than someone to say, in a polite tone, “Oh sorry, let us fix that for you.”

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear apwold,

Thank you for the candid review of our property. I am pleased that you were able to check in earlier and were granted late check out as well. However, I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments about the bathroom amenities and the light bulbs have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
5
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MÉXICO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed only one night but definitely we want to return to this beautiful hotel.
First it is not over the avenue , you have to drive through an alley so the rooms are very quiet.
We were welcome by a very friendly girl at front desk. The hotel looks very new and smells so clean. We had room 210 and was really clean, the furniture is minimalist, very nice and spacious.
With mini fridge and micro. The breakfast was ok, the same at all HIE, but it had what you need to start your day.
It´s like 5 mins from the airport by car
Really want to go back in my next stay in San Antonio

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The front desk clerk greeted me with a genuine smile and was able to accommodate my early check in request.

The premises were clean, the pool looked inviting, and everything was functioning in my room. My room was relatively quiet sans the active rugrats in the room above mine.

The king size bed was comfy, yet with the plethora of pillows, not one was incredibly comfortable, but they did suffice. I was tired, I didn't complain.

The hotel was a bit of a pain in the butt to get to when traveling northbound due to the one way access roads and such, but I think that is typical of the area. Parking in front is limited to about 5 spaces, but there is a large lot in the back.

I feel like this would be a good place for the business traveler or someone just passing through. But if you are in the area as a tourist, it might be better to find something closer to the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Frindly check-in - be sure to park in front under the canopy when checking in- limited parking. If you park in the larger rear lot, you must walk around to the front to register as the rear door is always locked!
The large room was clean, the breakfast was the basic Holiday Inn fare.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Brand new and up to date. I Tavel allot at major hotels but after staying here I'm gonna change my preference to Holiday Inn Express. I have been very impressed with that last three I've stayed at.

Room Tip: I highly recommend using Trip Advisor for the best room rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while visiitng the San Antonio area and were plesantly surprised by the hospitality and clealiness of this property. At first, we were apprehensive of the location since there was not much else around, but after driving around, we found that other hotels were close by and others were in the process of "coming soon." Several eateries and shopping strips were also close by. The hotel is very quiet and nicely tucked away. The carpeting was brand new in the rooms and hallways. The furniture was well appointed and the bed was comfortable. The room was clean and well mintained during our stay. The commom areas were clean and updates were being aded. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the downtown attractions, but it was also a quiet retreat at nights after a busy day of sightseeing. Upon check in, we were greeted by Versha, who was very friendly, and was later seen mopping the floors to ensure that the entrance was clean and safe. Breakfast at the hotel was basic nothing too fancy: eggs. bacon, or sasuage, bagels, pasteries, toast, etc. Overall, this hotel was a nice and quiet place and I would stay here again on my return visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

If you are wishing to stay at this hotel and plan to fly out of the San Antonio airport....choose elsewhere. First, it is not within close proximity to the airport. Second, it is in the boonies...not much nearby. Third, their airport shuttle has the worst hours of any "airport hotel" I have ever stayed. I as well as another colleague were not able to catch our morning flights without calling taxis (which are not nearby because the hotel is in the boonies). The hotel should not have "airport" listied in the name at all. Period.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North

Address: 16315 US Highway 281 North, San Antonio, TX 78232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Airport North offers 67 hotel Rooms and Suites, all equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, work desk, 2 phones, one is a speaker phone. The hotel is just 5 miles from the airport and minutes from all of San Antonio's attractions. There is also complimentary high speed Internet access in all of the rooms and suites. Suites are equipped with all of the above, plus sleeper sofa. Upgraded suites with whirlpools are available. Included in the price of the room is a continental breakfast, consisting of cinnamon rolls, biscuits & sausage gravy, pastries, cereal, bagels, breads, fruit, yogurt, juices, teas, and coffee. On property we have: a 24-hour gift shop and convenience store; a 24-hour business center complete with fax, copier, PC, printer, and high speed Internet access; exercise facilities and sauna; heated outdoor pool and hot tub; guest laundry facilities; and complimentary airport shuttle. We are equidistant from both the downtown attractions (like the Riverwalk and the Alamo), and the two major theme parks (Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas). We are only minutes from world class golf and shopping, as well as a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and other leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.