We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable rooms about a mile's walk to the heart of San Antonio's river walk.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flash Sale
Ranked #140 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Arizona
1 review
“Clean, comfortable rooms about a mile's walk to the heart of San Antonio's river walk.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

The hotel was built in 1962 and still retains a certain 1960's retro charm. Very clean overall and right on the river walk, but you'll need to walk about a mile to get to the heart of the river walk, something to keep in mind if you walk back to the hotel after dark because the path is not always well lit and the nearby neighborhood is a bit questionable. However, the walk is beautiful. You can always take the water taxi, however. The rooms have been updated and are quite comfortable. Not a terribly fancy place but a good value. I thought it was quite a nice deal for $114 a night, but the bellman accidentally slipped the bill for the room next to me under the door, and I saw that they got the room for $85 a night. Anyway, it wasn't a bad place to spend a few nights on business.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTrop, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thank you for the compliments on our hotel and that you enjoyed the beautiful stroll on the Riverwalk. Along with the River Taxi service there is a Trolley that stops right out side of the hotel that will take you to any destination downtown for $1.10. We sell all day Trolley passes in the Expreso Cafe for $4.00. Thanks again and if travel brings you to San Antonio in the future we hope you choose to say with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    247
    142
    96
    75
See reviews for
199
237
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

there was mold in the bathrooms the beds were great breakfast is free for the kids and they give you break fast coupons the staff was great all in all it was good ball rooms were great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I travel to San Antonio frequently for business and always stay at the El Tropicano. It is right on the Riverwalk, and with the expansion of the Riverwalk, I expect this hotel will become increasingly popular. The staff is incredibly friendly, courteous, helpful and they truly bend over backward to make you feel comfortable and to meet any need you might have. You won't find nicer people anywhere. The rooms are attractive and clean, but with the exception of the 9th floor, rather small, but hey, you're in San Antonio, how much time are you going to spend in the room. The Fitness Center is unbelievable, and worth the stay on it's own. It is better than any resort hotel I have ever stayed at. The food is very good as well, and if you are in a hurry, they usually have a breakfast and a lunch buffet. The price is extremely reasonable. I also do several seminars at the hotel during the year. The staff again does a great job, and the meeting rooms are very nice. On the whole, I feel that the hotel is an exceptional value. It's obvious that the management staff instills a service attitude among everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Tropicano during the Lemit Alumni conference in late June 2009. The hotel has remodeled and it was great in decor and friendliness. The front desk and the baggage guys were very helpful at every request. Now, I've got to say that the walk to the Riverwalk activities is a good pace, but you can live with it. The taxi service is quick to respond and reasonable in fare. We will without doubt go back. The hotel was clean and cool despite 100 plus days. The parking was great as were the attendants. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

After having to leave the motel I had booked because it was horrible, I went to the El Tropicano looking for a room. The staff was incredibly helpful and managed to get me a beautiful room overlooking the river. While there are many rooms, I was given special attention and an immaculate room because of the bad situation I had at the other motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

myself,my husband are two children(16,13) my daughter her son and boyfriend all stayed at the el tropicano. We were haveing trouble findeing a place to stay that was on the riverwalk near all the attractions and stores that would fit our budget. Then we found the el tropicano on a discount website. We wernt shure what to expect when we pulled up.But when we came in everyone was so nice and their was always people asking if you needed anything, giving helpful advice on attractions to visit,places to eat. The hotel itself was beautiful the pool was great and mangos(resturaunt located inside the hotel) was amazing as well. Everyone was so nice and remembered you. when we would come back after a fullday out they would ask us how everything was. If we ever missed a trolly or it didnt run wear we wanted to go they had no problem calling us cheap,cleen cabs with friendly drivers as well. In the futer we are planning another trip to san antonio and we WILL be staying at the el tropicano, no questions asked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The El Tropicano is on the Riverwalk close to the newer area. It is a long walk to the "main area" of the Riverwalk ,however river taxis are available right at the hotel. Red flag taxis go to the lock & dam (which is very interesting) , the grotto, the San Antonio Art Museum, the bat bridge, and the Pearl Brewery. Along this route you will also see the local artists' exhibits under the bridges including the giant fish. Yellow flag taxis will take you everywhere else on the Riverwalk including the "main area" close to the Alamo, the Rivercenter Mall, lots of restaurants, clubs, and shops. The water taxis provide a beautiful and relaxing ride. If you are in a hurry, you can take the trolley (blue route) which stops across the street from the hotel. It will take you to the Alamo and the Rivercenter Mall. Here you can take another trolley to other downtown destinations like Market Square. Or you can stay on the blue route trolley and go to the King William historic district.
There is a restaurant which serves a breakfast buffet, which we did not try. Also, there is a reasonably-priced cafe that serves pretty good sandwiches, salads, and desserts. We ate here a few times. The cafe staff were not especially friendly but we found it to be one of the better values of downtown dining.
Most of the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our room with a king bed had a beautiful view of the Riverwalk. We enjoyed watching the ducks and the river taxis from our room. The view was most beautiful at night. Not all rooms have a river view so you need to request it. These rooms are a long walk from the elevator, but worth it for us. The room was a bit smaller than I expected and had no microwave or refrigerator. If you bring an ice chest , the staff will fill it with ice for you.
We went to the pool twice. It was large but a bit crowded. Towels are provided at the pool.
The exercise facility is the largest I have ever seen at a hotel.
There is an atrium with 2 toucans, some iguanas, and a huge tortoise. Also, in the lobby there is a cage of smaller birds.
After reading some previous reviews, I was concerned about the parking garage. It is nothing to worry about. They had a regular parking lot also. We had no problems with the parking area.
What I liked the least was the cafe staff. They were not rude or friendly, just blah.
What I like best was the river view and the accessibility of the water taxis and trolley.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.