We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price. Location is not by the action.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flash Sale
Ranked #140 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great price. Location is not by the action.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here because the price was excellent compared to the other Riverwalk hotels we looked at.

Overall, the lobby of the hotel is very nice. Kept up and modern. But once you start walking down the hallways to get to the rooms, the maintenance goes downhill. Stained carpeting, chipping paint, etc. The room was fine once we got inside. Nice bedding. They were skimpy on the towels, but we made do.

The pool area is very nice. Large pool with plenty of beach chairs.

We paid an extra $5/person when we book to get the breakfast buffet. This was a great deal. The buffet was extensive and very tasty. If you wait to pay until you are there, they'll charge you $9.95/person - so better to choose the breakfast option when reserving.

The location is about a 1 mile walk down the Riverwalk to where all the downtown attractions and restaurants are located. If you take the surface streets - it's only a 1/2 mile to downtown. But I didn't feel very safe walking the streets - especially at night. There was a large police presence and they don't do that unless they are trying to prevent things from happening.

There is a bus/trolley that stops by the hotel. You can take that downtown for about $1.20 each way.

The hotel charges for parking too. $18/night. So be prepared for that too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    247
    142
    96
    75
See reviews for
199
237
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel recently and would definitely stay here again. An older property but was clean and comfortable. Parking was great and very accessible. Staff friendly and helpful. Tends to get overlooked as not right downtown but very close. Was in town for work and very convenient.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

They we're accommodating and very nice location right on the river just a short walk from downtown. Great for any family outing near San Antonio. They have a nice buffet style breakfast, a tiki bar, and little coffee shop all located inside the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the El Tropicano 4/4-4/6. What a great location. While it isn't on the busiest section of The Riverwalk it is only a 20 minute stroll (approx 1 mile) to the action. The hotel still maintains it's early 60's Latin styling while providing plenty of modern comfort. That being said if you're someone who judges a hotel by how well the wifi works then El Trop may not be for you. When we were there it was sketchy at best. Not a problem as our AT&T worked fine and we just created personal hotspots for our IPads. Problem solved as we weren't their for the wifi. We were there for an attentive and friendly staff who welcomed us back each time we walked in the door. The valet service with in-and-out privileges was a great plus and costs the same as self parking. Overall it was a great stay and a hotel we'll certainly frequent in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I really enjoy this property for a quiet getaway weekend. This is definitely an old-school Riverwalk hotel and I really like the charm of it! The property has been well-maintained, they have great access to the Riverwalk, the rooms have good views, plus they have wildlife on exhibit. I've beeb twice and thoroughly enjoyed both trips. The price is right and is on a quieter area of the Walk, but still easily within walking distance (or boat taxi) to the main section with all the shops & restaurants. I will definitely be back...hopefully this summer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The room stunk and so did the pillows rooms were small Unlike the website showed no indoor swimming pool as was advertised late check in times don't even pay for a full 24 hours at the hotel will DEFINITELY not stay here again do not recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience and I hope we had the opportunity to correct the issue you encountered. Please let us know the web site advertising an indoor pool as we have never had one.

Thank you, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Tropicano for our 1 year wedding anniversary and it's was amazing.Champagne and chocolates was delivered to our room on our anniversary and it was romantic. Overall the whole staff and stay was worth it and we will definitely return there in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.