We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The staff is extremely friendly ANC helpful, the rooms are nice and clean. I loved all the tropical plants in the lobby area! The pool is also very enjoyable I would say the only negative was the smell by the pool and the fact that you have to
Pay for parking. Aside from that I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    224
    118
    82
    66
See reviews for
178
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were there a week ago for two nights. Cindy, at the front desk, was charming, hospitable, and eager to ensure that we would enjoy a comfortable stay. We did. The hotel is early 1960's "funky," as are we, and sitting in the spacious lobby area and outdoor terrace adjacent to the coffee bar brought back many happy memories of our first visits to San Antonio in our "salad days." Yes, it is a 60's hotel; therefore, the rooms are small as are the bathrooms, but the windows can be opened (just like in good old days). The "love" birds in the far end of the lobby were charming and "frisky" (love birds after all). The trolley stops directly in front of the hotel and the water taxi is available just a few steps down on the River Walk. The buffet breakfast was good, and it was enhanced by the very efficient wait staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Terrible!! The room smelled like dog i wouldn't had even walked bare foot in there. Bad location. No restaurants in the riverwalk within walking distance. I was afraid to even go look at what the restroom looked like. It is not like the pics whatsoever. I would not recommend this hotel. They refunded my money back good thing. For two nights $605 not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I'm sorry you had a bad first impression of the hotel. Although we are pet friendly we shampoo a pet room after every check out. Unfortunately this appears not to have happened with your room. We are not in the heart of the Riverwalk but rather on Museum Reach which puts us equidistant between the main Horseshoe of the traditional Riverwalk and Pearl Brewery and its wonderful collection of restaurants and shops.
I apologize if you feel we are misleading about our location. I hope though that you were able to enjoy our wonderful city.
Thank you, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

First, we arrived at 3:00 only to be told that our room would not be ready until 4:00. At 4:00 we were told that our room would not be already until 5:30.We decided to go eat dinner while we waited. We asked if we could lock up our bags and if they could be brought up to our rooms once they were ready. They said they would "try". What does that even mean? TRY? Ok. When we finally got back and found our room it smelled so badly of mildew that we had to ask for a different room. Our window would not even open to let in any fresh air. After another hour we were told we would get a new room near our friends who were in an adjoining room (which also smelled.) We were moved ACROSS THE HOTEL. The next room did not smell as bad and it had a small balcony that overlooked a roof. It was an improvement. The room was filthy, however. I was afraid to remove my shoes.
That night while we slept, our friends who were still in their old room that had adjoined ours had trouble sleeping because their room smelled so badly. Then their bathtub did not drain after one shower and they had 3 more people who needed to bathe so they complained to the front desk and were promised that we would all would be upgraded to "Executive Suites" on the 9th floor. We went to Sea World during the day and returned to find that we had not all been moved to executive suites but to similar rooms as our original ones on the same floor that we had just been on. While at the front desk waiting for our new keys, there was a couple checking in at 6:30 at night who were being told their room would not be ready for another hour. What kind of hotel makes you wait until 7:30 to check in? There were no apologies, not even a snack or dining voucher while they waited. They were simply told that they could use the bathrooms in the lobby if they needed to.

They make a big deal about their snack bar downstairs. that has drinks and food. I asked if they had wine and was told they sell bottles - no glasses of wine. So I asked for a bottle and was told they were out. A few hours later I asked for a smoothie and was told they were out. Ridiculous. They had some stale cookies though. Plenty of those.

Also - they don't tell you this but they charge $18 for parking. And yes, it is technically on the river walk but on the end that has nothing on it - no restaurants or shops or anything. It's on the river but it may as well be the Mississippi for all it matters.

The hotel is poorly maintained and they clearly do not have enough staff to clean the rooms.Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: We saw 5 rooms here and all of them were dodgy at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I apologize that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. I have personally gone into the 4 rooms and one suite, rms 357,359,349,316,318 and was unable to detect the issues you encountered but as an older building I can say that the issue does crop up on occasion so I'm sorry it was the case during your stay. Adjoining rooms are a difficult request particularly during a busy Spring Break period so that is why you were moved across the building because that is what was available and adjoining at that time.

Regardless, our goal is for our guests to have a wonderful experience at our historic hotel and it appears we fell significantly short during your stay. Should you choose to come back please contact me directly and I will ensure a wonderful stay in San Antonio.

Thank you, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at El Tropicano recently when visiting colleges for my daughter. It was a great bargain, very comfortable, and the breakfasts were nice. I especially enjoyed the fitness center as it contains lots of equipment and has very nice private shower facilities. On Sunday morning my daughter took a walk along the river walk, which is situated immediately behind the hotel. It was awesome! Lastly, I left a valuable (monetarily and in sentimentality) charm bracelet in the room when I left. I thought that I would never see it again… Their wonderful staff had turned it in and it was quickly FEDEX’d to my home. Great experience all around!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. Museum Reach is the perfect area to take a walk and take in the newest part of the Riverwalk. I am glad you are back in possession of your bracelet, our housekeepers are the best!
Thank you, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

For a simple hotel that was a decent price and a very good location this place did the job. If I were to stay longer I would want thicker walls as I could hear everybody in the rooms around us. It is basic but you can't beat being able to walk across the street and be on the river walk for a price less than $100.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
As a senior contributor to Trip Advisor I always put alot of stock in your feedback. Thank you for telling me about your experience and I am glad you were able to enjoy beautiful Museum reach area of the Riverwalk.
Best, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Wall were a little thin but the rooms were very comfortable. Great breakfast! Need to fix the pool heater and need more parking but other than that it was a great hotel! We would stay here again! Great value for your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel but I apologize the pool heater was not working. We were in the process of running new plumbing to the pool and the good news is that project has been completed and the pool feels great. Let me know when you are returning so I can get you a special rate due to the inconvenience.
Thank you, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Free internet...
Show More
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Quiet, Family-f...
Show More
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#102 of 351 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
East Side
The St. Anthony Hotel
The St. Anthony Hotel
#158 of 351 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
East Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio Riverwalk/Museum Reach
City Center, Po...
Show More
East Side
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 351 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Boutique, Mid-r...
Show More
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.