We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good service, not close to most of the action” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, not close to most of the action”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The room was large ( handicapped room) with a fridge and microwave in a separate area. Large sliding glass doors opened to a small balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area was large, clean and attractive. Unfortunately it was unusable - freezing (trust me I have plunged into a river in the winter). There was a place to sit outside overlooking the river - but it is nowhere near the main attractions of the riverwalk. That is a 15 to 20 minute walk. Nearby is the beautiful Art school - the former Ursaline Academy. If you have time it is a few minutes walk to the grounds, chapel and gallery. M through F the "Copper Kettle" is open for lunch.
The staff was terrific, the room was very clean, and the lobby spacious. The old style brightly colored phones were a treat. The conference room was well lit and comfortable - again the staff was attentive to our needs.
If you are coming in from the airport take a cab. For an extra $5 ( above the price of the GO shuttle) it is worth a shorter more comfortable trip.

Room Tip: High up, poolside was very nice with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    224
    118
    81
    66
See reviews for
178
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was happy with the room and everything else,staff was nice as well... was not Happy at all about the $18.00 parking fee that turned out to be $29.00 due to taxes and everything ... I doubt I will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corunna
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Right on the River Walk and a 10 to 15 minute walk downtown. Friendly staff. Clean and bright throughout the hotel. Housekeeping staff are pleasant and will do anything for you as would any of the staff here. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinebeck,ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My mom was visiting for Thanksgiving and as our home was under construction we felt she would be more comfortable in a hotel. She felt very safe and well taken care of at El Tropicana. I was much impressed by the cleanliness and modern feel to this lovely historical hotel. We were able to view the holiday flotilla at a restaurant within walking distance to El Trop (Ocho - a great place for a bite to eat or just for cocktails on the riverwalk). We also were able to walk from the hotel to go shopping downtown and for strolls on the riverwalk without having to fight for a parking space or drive downtown. This is a big plus about El Tropicana. I much preferred that my mom was not right in the center of the city. It was more relaxed to pick her up and drop her off without fighting crowds downtown - plus we were able to walk to the Pearl Complex where there are better restaurants and shops than downtown. My mom thought the breakfast at El Trop was quite good and a bargain. El Trop is now our preferred hotel to house guests visiting us in the great city of San Antonio! Peggy Howe

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room was small however, the hotel was clean and the staff were all very accommodating and friendly. Very good hospitality and lovely staff. We also loved the history that went along with this hotel and the amenities were good. The breakfast buffet was also a very good price and tasty. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel literally has a I Love Lucy Tropicana feel, but in a good way. It is obvious that the hotel has been updated (furniture, wallpaper, etc.). Our room overlooked the river walk. The room is small, but nice. Comfy bed. The young man that checked us in couldn't have been any nicer. The hotel does charge $18 per day, but the lot is convenient & safe.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We decided at the spur of the moment to head to San Anotonio as an "extension" to our vacation (we were staying in a neighboring town). We found a Groupon special for the room for $54 and decided to go for it. We wanted to stay near the Riverwalk and this was advertised as a "Riverwalk hotel." Already, that part is misleading. Is it on the river? Yes. Is there anything NEAR it - absolutely not. It's either a long walk of several blocks or a taxi. We took the taxi down to Rivercenter (not too horribly expensive, just a hair over $5 before tip). The room is decent, a step above a Motel 6, but not too much more than that. They definitely embrace the retro feel of the hotel and look wise was no big deal. Parking, as most people have stated is $18 (and they'll initially charge you $20 on your card), which is a bit outrageous, but there aren't many options around there. The front desk was ok, but not exactly what I'd call "friendly." We were on the 6th floor on a "river view" room (trust me, not a ton of views anywhere to be had from there). They had a paper in the room talking about how the Rolling Stones stayed there in 1974 which seems to be their main claim to fame. The room was comfortable and all, but the biggest issue was once we got home. I woke up the next morning to see that my "incidentals" card was charged the room fee. Once again, we already paid for the room with the Groupon deal and they knew that (it was already in their system). I called them back to let them know and once I told them, I was forwarded to a voicemail. I called back and the front desk person (Sandra I believe?), said, "Oh, they might be on the other line, let me try another line." Once again, another voicemail. I called back yet again and talked to her. She seemed to could have cared less about any issues and told me, "I guess they are on lunch." I asked who the manager was. She told me "Jesse," but he's on lunch too and she is the supervisor. I told her this needed to be taken care of immediately because it's messing up my bank account (I only keep just what I need in that account). Once again, she seemed indifferent. Now I have to sit here and either play phone tag with their accounting department or spend even more time disputing the charge through the bank. For the little bit that we got from the stay, it is not worth the extra headache now from their lousy customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#142 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.