We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day at the Tropicano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Jacksonville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Labor Day at the Tropicano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When it comes to my repeated visits to the San Antonio area, this is usually the hotel I check for first. I love the location, not too close the the center of the downtown area, but on the riverwalk. I love the fact that I can board the Rio Taxi and ride down to the restaurants or I can walk if I prefer. I can, and I have walked to the Alamo. I love that I can purchase an all day bus pass at the front desk and board the bus (trolley) to other attractions (for instance the Institute of Texan Culture). The hotel is an older hotel, so if you are looking for perfection you probably aren't going to find it here (Elvis Pressley stayed here to give you an idea of it's age). I was checked in quickly. My room, this time, was pool view, a first for me, and quite noisy. But at prompty 11 all noise stopped. I wasn't particularly happy with the parking situation this time. Sometimes there is valet, other times not. I don't mind self park, in fact I prefer it, but I don't like the entrance to the parking lot being blocked when valet is on duty...this makes for a dangerous situation as you cant see it is blocked until it is too late. I've said it before and I'll say it again. I love this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to option request Riverview rooms...they are just quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    211
    111
    80
    58
See reviews for
166
191
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kerrville
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After getting past the nightmare at ckin.....sent to an occupied room etc.....The hotel is nice and clean and a bargain with the Groupon I bought. North end of Riverwalk , not the touristy part which is nice when I am in town on business.
WIFI is not free with the groupon which is really unsual,,,wifi is free at all the SA area hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decide to visit San Antonio for the river walk and found this place right on the river. It is nice place that has Tex-Mex feel to it. The location to the river walk where all the restaurants and shops are located is bit of a walk,15 Minutes at the most. Although it is situated away from the river walk it very quiet and peaceful where the Tropicano is located. The Staff are very friendly, willing to help you out and very efficient. The room we stayed in was facing the river and had a view that was okay, nothing to spectacular. It was clean and updated. Overall space in the room was in my opinion a little tight but it was manageable. There are a lot places on the hotel property that you can sit, have a drink and mingle which was nice. Yes I would stay here again if and when we do come back and visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We traveled back in time to the 1950's! The lobby decor was bright and fun. The hotel staff was prompt, friendly, and very helpful. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The only disappointment was the room chairs -- only computer desk chairs were provided. I expected a comfortable club chair or equivalent. We recommend El Tropicano to other travelers.

Room Tip: A poolside view is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were there with a convention in August 2013. Parking is limited and 1,000 + convention goers made it worse, only two elevators too, Saturday morning checkout was a zoo. With th the staff was very accomodaing and took care of everyone with a big smile. Rooms were very nice and breakfast excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 4 days and 3 nights at the El Tropicano Riverwalk in San Anotnio over Labor Day weekend 2013. The facilities are clearly dated, although clean. The parking is cumbersome. Sometimes there is valet parking and sometimes there is not. When there is, they block the entrance to the parking lot with cones and it creates a huge traffic jam at the front of the hotel. The front desk staff was "disinterested" in helping you check in. The path to our room had been reserved with a priovate family reunion, a nd there was no way to ge to our room on check-in except to wheel the cart with all our suitcases through the pool area. The front room staff failed to mention this when we checked in and it caused us to wander around trying to find our room for some time. On Sunday, we left the room at 9:00 AM and toured San Antonio until 5:45 PM. After a scorching day in town, we were ready to relax in a cool room. Unfortunately, our room had still not been serviced at 5:45 when we arrived. That was very cumbersome. The staff offered to clean it then, but we wanted to USE the room at 6 PM, not wait to have it cleaned. The front desk staff was unfamiliar with many of the questions about directions to various downtown attractions on the several times we bothered to ask them, and hte hotel is about a 20 minute walk along the riverfront to the restaurants and business establishments on the River Walk. All in all.. it was.. OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I found this hotel on line. The photos looked beautiful. They said they are right on the river walk and the hotel had been recently updated..I also read they offered room servive and a restaurant.Well, I arrived very late, but had requested a room with a view of the river or the pool. They said they were very full but could give me a room with a pool view. Well my pool view turned out to be a view of a glass stairwell, no pool view. I asked if the bar or restaurant were open, no restaurant and bar was closed. I went to get ice for my room, ice machine was broken. I had to walk up one floor to get ice. In the room the desk light was unplugged, so I crawled around on the floor looking to find a place to plug it in. The bedside lamp shade was broken, and hanging on to the wire by a piece of tape. They advetise wifi hotel wide. Well I could get the wifi to work in my room. I called to notify them, and they just said said, well the system must be overloaded, maybe it can be fixed tomorrow. I literally had to go outside my room and sit on a neighbor patio chair to get a signal that worked. I asked for a room change, no rooms, when told about the ice machine they said they were aware and working on it. The restaurant turned out to be a morning only buffet breakfast, unappetizing to me, for $10. The bar does serve some food, chicken wings, etc, but closes by 10pm, never tried anything there. If I had not prepaid the room, I would have looked for another place to stay. Oh, yes, they are on the river walk, which is beautiful, but this hotel is quite a walk south of where all the shops, alamo, other attraction are located downtown. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
El Tropicano Riverwalk
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#140 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.