We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive at all, you get what you pay fo” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not impressive at all, you get what you pay fo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was booked using the Internet so the price did not hurt our pockets. The advertising made it seem like a great place to stay, no so. The room was dirty, I found human hair balls on the floor. I'm not making this up. We left it alone since it was along the wall and away from us having any contact with it. Not hard to miss at all. I figured it would be cleaned up the next morning. It was not, showing us exactly the type of attention the room was given. The windows are so old that the outside noise comes right into the room at night. We were awaken several times by police, ambulance and fire trucks running their sirens to who knows what was happening nearby. People walking by outside could be overheard. I still don't get why we had to pay so much for parking. The parking lot was open to anyone who wanted to walk by and take a look at the cars. The magnetic cards stopped working several times causing an inconvenience for me and my family. Too far from the main attractions on the Riverwalk, and the individuals loitering along the route made us concerned for our safety. Next visit to the Riverwalk will not have me staying at this place. Sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTropicanoHotel, Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. George Strait had a concert in town over the weekend and we were sold out. Your initial concern about the room's cleanliness was inexcusable on our part, regardless of the fact that our staff was especially busy. Obviously we do our best to keep every room as clean as possible, but clearly we made a mistake there. It will be pointed out to our maintenance department - typically they do an excellent job. We presume the unusual noise level was due to the concert, nearly every hotel in the area was sold out and there were many more people downtown than usual. We actually charge less than most of our direct competitors for parking (10$ less than some), but we do apologize that the parking rates need to be as high as they are. You are not the first customer to point this out. Would you mind telling us your room number (or name if you cannot remember it) via email at eltropicanoriverwalkhotel@gmail.com so that we may look into why your card was not working? We sincerely appreciate the descriptive review, we will do our best to correct these issues immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    224
    120
    82
    66
See reviews for
179
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a great time! Staff was very nice and had good recommendations for restaurants/attractions. Parkings a little pricey but always could find a spot and convenient. The main part of the river walk is about 10 minutes of walking, which could be a little inconvenient although there is art work, etc to see on the way. I'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are convenient and great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

nasty, not very clean, noisy and you pay for everything including parking. I will never stay here again and I suggest you don't ever plan to stay here either. the hotel was old and needs updating real bad, you could hear every one walking in the halls, the carpets were dirty as could be.

Room Tip: dont consider staying here and you will be much better off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTropicanoHotel, Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We're sorry we did not meet your expectations. Would it be possible for us to contact you regarding your stay? We would like to determine which room you stayed in so that we may investigate the issue further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really great. Very clean and wonderful costumer service. It is a little farther away from the shops and restaurants than 'just off the Riverwalk' but it's a really nice walk along the river to get there (about 10 minutes, $5 cab ride). Neighborhood seemed very safe. Great pool area and buffet, late checkout until 2pm with no extra charge. Overall I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Tropicano is right on the River Walk in San Antonio, so unlike other hotels who claim to be close to the River Walk, this one really is 3 minutes stroll from it. The hotel has a decidedly retro feel to it and the rates are extremely reasonable given its very central location. The rooms are comfortable and it is possible to open the window if you don't want to use the AC. The corridors are a little tired and showing their age. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked the hotel through Priceline but the deal was not as good as we usually get (for the price we had a 4* Sheraton in Dallas). As advised on TripAdvisor, I asked for an upgraded room and luckily got one. The room was small but comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the bed was big and nice. We liked the location as it meant a little walking to see the sights. The parking fee ($18 a day) is too high as the space is not covered from the sun nor in any way protected. There is a parking lot across from the hotel but it was empty when we got there and the payment system seemed strange. Overall, it was ok but next time we would try something different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The main reason for staying here was for a Banquet on Sat. night.
1st let me say the bed was Very comfortable and the room was quite making for a Great sleep. We asked for a Riverwalk view, but had a pool view which was fine.

Yes, the hotel is old, but has had updates. Carpet in room had stains, bathroom floor has a build up in all the corners.
Staff was not rude, but always very helpful.
Did not use the pool, but from our room view it looks inviting. Had music playing and wanted to make use of it. Just didn't have the time.
Location: Not in the mix of the action of the Riverwalk, but was not there for that. Trolley day pass was $4.00 and we made use of it to get to the areas we wanted to see.
Would I stay there again Maybe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.