We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Web Offer
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really great. Very clean and wonderful costumer service. It is a little farther away from the shops and restaurants than 'just off the Riverwalk' but it's a really nice walk along the river to get there (about 10 minutes, $5 cab ride). Neighborhood seemed very safe. Great pool area and buffet, late checkout until 2pm with no extra charge. Overall I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    235
    130
    93
    68
See reviews for
183
226
34
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Tropicano is right on the River Walk in San Antonio, so unlike other hotels who claim to be close to the River Walk, this one really is 3 minutes stroll from it. The hotel has a decidedly retro feel to it and the rates are extremely reasonable given its very central location. The rooms are comfortable and it is possible to open the window if you don't want to use the AC. The corridors are a little tired and showing their age. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked the hotel through Priceline but the deal was not as good as we usually get (for the price we had a 4* Sheraton in Dallas). As advised on TripAdvisor, I asked for an upgraded room and luckily got one. The room was small but comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the bed was big and nice. We liked the location as it meant a little walking to see the sights. The parking fee ($18 a day) is too high as the space is not covered from the sun nor in any way protected. There is a parking lot across from the hotel but it was empty when we got there and the payment system seemed strange. Overall, it was ok but next time we would try something different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The main reason for staying here was for a Banquet on Sat. night.
1st let me say the bed was Very comfortable and the room was quite making for a Great sleep. We asked for a Riverwalk view, but had a pool view which was fine.

Yes, the hotel is old, but has had updates. Carpet in room had stains, bathroom floor has a build up in all the corners.
Staff was not rude, but always very helpful.
Did not use the pool, but from our room view it looks inviting. Had music playing and wanted to make use of it. Just didn't have the time.
Location: Not in the mix of the action of the Riverwalk, but was not there for that. Trolley day pass was $4.00 and we made use of it to get to the areas we wanted to see.
Would I stay there again Maybe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel has a lot of potential. I truly enjoy how open it is and bright with so much green around. It has a caribbean feel. When I'm in the pool area it reminds me of a cruise somewhat. I also like how it is on the riverwalk, in an area that is not congested with tourists, but not far from the touristy area either. Oh, great workout room. My only real problem with this property is that it lacks attention to details in the room in regards to cleaning. The stains on the carpet as I walked in the room set the wrong mood. There is accumulated dust on the moldings. Attention to detail is important. All these things add up so it can make any guest feel uncomfortable. Focus on cleanliness & all will be good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

... Booked this hotel for its location on the Riverwalk - which it is and very close to a boat stop.

The outside and lobby area look decent but the check-in staff were rude and disinterested.
I was greeted with "Yes?" ... no hello, how are you or any pleasantry.
I gave my details and halfway through the booking in procedure the receptionist was approached by another member of staff - without an apology or a glance in my direction she turned away and had a long conversation with this person.
I asked about car parking (I had pre-booked it with the room) and was told "round back or get the valet to park it" - very abrupt.

On going up to the 6th floor room we found the corridor carpets to be filthy and stained. The carpet in our room was the same and looked as though a bucket of dirty water had been spilled on it and left to dry. We had no curtains (neither sheer nor material) only blackouts.
The paintwork was chipped and peeling and the room felt "old".
On the plus side the beds were comfortable and the bedding clean.
The bathroom was very small.

I asked at reception about curtains and was told (by the same receptionist) "yea, there should be sheers but some rooms don't have them, sorry" ... she then turned away.

Later that evening we went to the bar and asked for a martini and sprite - the barman looked blank and said "Eh?" - I repeated "a Martini please with sprite" - again "Eh? ..... I can make you lemon drop cocktail" ...... I cannot believe that a half decent barman does not know what a martini is.

When we checked out two days later I went to reception to ask for the name of the manager so I could log a complaint .... the gentleman who I spoke with said "Oh you want Carly over there - she's the manager on duty" - unfortunately Carly was the person I wished to complain about so thought it inappropriate to speak to her so asked for the name of the General Manager but all the gentleman would tell me was "Carly is the manager on duty" - I gave up!!!!!

I have written to the hotel but heard nothing from them.

I would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel on the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband & I absolutely love this hotel. It is my favorite by far. We have stayed here at least 6 times in the last year and keep going back. I've stayed for my birthday, Christmas weekend, Mothers day & several others. I've never had a complaint and I always look forward to going back. The pool is fabulous with the pool bar close at hand and in the summer they offer smores around the campfire at the pool. This hotel is downtown but not immediate downtown, maybe a 10 minute trolley ride which is nice if you want to be close but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle. The breakfast in this hotel is great and they have a little coffee bar with fresh sandwiches and stuff. Parking has always been a little pricey but if your lucky your booking may imclude it along with breakfast or drink vouchers. We've stayed with our 4 kids and for a couples get away.

Room Tip: on our last stay we were in room 823 which has a view of the pool and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.