We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs work...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel has a lot of potential. I truly enjoy how open it is and bright with so much green around. It has a caribbean feel. When I'm in the pool area it reminds me of a cruise somewhat. I also like how it is on the riverwalk, in an area that is not congested with tourists, but not far from the touristy area either. Oh, great workout room. My only real problem with this property is that it lacks attention to details in the room in regards to cleaning. The stains on the carpet as I walked in the room set the wrong mood. There is accumulated dust on the moldings. Attention to detail is important. All these things add up so it can make any guest feel uncomfortable. Focus on cleanliness & all will be good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    224
    120
    82
    66
See reviews for
179
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

... Booked this hotel for its location on the Riverwalk - which it is and very close to a boat stop.

The outside and lobby area look decent but the check-in staff were rude and disinterested.
I was greeted with "Yes?" ... no hello, how are you or any pleasantry.
I gave my details and halfway through the booking in procedure the receptionist was approached by another member of staff - without an apology or a glance in my direction she turned away and had a long conversation with this person.
I asked about car parking (I had pre-booked it with the room) and was told "round back or get the valet to park it" - very abrupt.

On going up to the 6th floor room we found the corridor carpets to be filthy and stained. The carpet in our room was the same and looked as though a bucket of dirty water had been spilled on it and left to dry. We had no curtains (neither sheer nor material) only blackouts.
The paintwork was chipped and peeling and the room felt "old".
On the plus side the beds were comfortable and the bedding clean.
The bathroom was very small.

I asked at reception about curtains and was told (by the same receptionist) "yea, there should be sheers but some rooms don't have them, sorry" ... she then turned away.

Later that evening we went to the bar and asked for a martini and sprite - the barman looked blank and said "Eh?" - I repeated "a Martini please with sprite" - again "Eh? ..... I can make you lemon drop cocktail" ...... I cannot believe that a half decent barman does not know what a martini is.

When we checked out two days later I went to reception to ask for the name of the manager so I could log a complaint .... the gentleman who I spoke with said "Oh you want Carly over there - she's the manager on duty" - unfortunately Carly was the person I wished to complain about so thought it inappropriate to speak to her so asked for the name of the General Manager but all the gentleman would tell me was "Carly is the manager on duty" - I gave up!!!!!

I have written to the hotel but heard nothing from them.

I would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel on the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband & I absolutely love this hotel. It is my favorite by far. We have stayed here at least 6 times in the last year and keep going back. I've stayed for my birthday, Christmas weekend, Mothers day & several others. I've never had a complaint and I always look forward to going back. The pool is fabulous with the pool bar close at hand and in the summer they offer smores around the campfire at the pool. This hotel is downtown but not immediate downtown, maybe a 10 minute trolley ride which is nice if you want to be close but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle. The breakfast in this hotel is great and they have a little coffee bar with fresh sandwiches and stuff. Parking has always been a little pricey but if your lucky your booking may imclude it along with breakfast or drink vouchers. We've stayed with our 4 kids and for a couples get away.

Room Tip: on our last stay we were in room 823 which has a view of the pool and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed over with my family, we booked two rooms, in one of the rooms the shower was broken, so I called the deskinfo and informed them, they repaired it swiftly. Rooms are nice and big, good beds and comfortable, clean in main areas but if you look in the sides and in some places you might find a good layer of dust. For the price paid, I'd say you will not get anything similar by the river, so if you do want the riverwalk, then just go for it, otherwise if you are willing to spend, then maybe the extrastars hotels might be your option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I always read reviews before I go anywhere and I always say the same things to myself..."some of the people that write some of these reviews must be some of the most unhappiest and/or uptight people in the world". We stayed at the hotel during our birthdays and couldn't have asked for a better place. Yes, the place was older, so what - it was clean - that's what I care about. The bed was comfortable, to me. There was coffee and tea in the room. No refrigerator in our room. It has been updated and the place is huge. I booked through a third party and got a great rate. Called the hotel once I got a reservation number and asked for a room on the river side. The person we talked to was very friendly, and we got a great room with a great view! The hotel is a little walk from all the action, which is the way I prefer. I need exercise so it all worked out for me. All the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. They have no room service if you're into that you might be disappointed. I was sick one day and couldn't get out of the room so my husband went down to the front desk and they had a ton of delivery/takeout menus that deliver to the hotel. They pool area looked great, didn't really go around it too much as it was a way too cool for me. The one down side, the parking it a little steep, $15/day (I think). On two separate days we came back from playing around the city and the parking lot was filled. The parking attendant valeted our car at no extra charge. I personally would advise going ahead and paying this crazy parking fee as the parking around the hotel is very limited, mostly metered. There's a pay lot a couple blocks down, but the area is a little "not so nice". I loved this place and will be going back on my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel on my third trip to San Antonio last year. I loved it. Walked out the front door and down to to the river level to catch the Rio Taxi or the Trolley (bought tickets for the trolley at the front desk). The hotel itself is obviously older, the rooms were well maintained, the lobby beautiful, the cost reasonable. I always check this hotel first when I am returning to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our room was located facing Lexington. We could easily look out the window and see the river walk. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A little off the beaten path but easily walkable to the main attractions on the Riverwalk and the Alamo. Room was very comfortable and clean. Poolside rooms available. Dining facities were available as well, so if you needed a bite to eat. Breakfast was a full breakfast and we received ours free. There was a major issue with the water while we were there but we were compensated fully after the fact. Just be insistent with issues and you should get your problems resolved! The decor follows its name, Tropics.

Room Tip: Poolside, easy access to the interior of the hotel as well as the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.