We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chester Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Texas break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location right on the riverwalk-20 mins walk to downtown-or 10 mins along the street.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Bed very comfy-room a good size with riverwalk view.
Breakfast fine and hotel bar friendly.
Car parking on site but $18 per day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    235
    130
    93
    68
See reviews for
183
226
34
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked the room on Hotwire.com. The bed and bathrooom are fine. But the carpet is very dirty. The coffee maker did not work. I called to ask for a replacement coffer maker. The replacement came extremely dirty. At night, a few rooms away, people were partying there at 1:30 am. I had to call security to stop the loud noice. It had free internet, but half of the time, the internet was not working. The heater in the room was very loud, I had to turn the heater off when sleep. But the blanket is too thin, very cold. The maid cleaned the room, not leaving any cups.

It is a 3.5 star hotel, but I would say it is about 2.5 stars. Sorry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a weekend getaway from the time we walked into the room pure disappointment !! Old fashioned tv, congested restroom air conditioner going on and off to top it off pulled backed the cover blood was n the bed !!!! (Yuck) got everything changed woke up the next day ate breakfast @ mangos was very good we where not very happy to end the story we had express checkout ended up leaving 5 hours early cause of disappointment !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Staid at this location on new years our room was at the from of the hotel with a huge panoramic widow. I did expect more, after visiting the website and reading the history of the hotel I was a bit puzzled but the lobby decor. The breakfast buffet was OK the food was average the lines LONG! and the seating area not very big. They are a bit off the path of the main part of Riverwalk and they did not have any events to recommend to us, I found it a bit weird for it being such a big night in San Antonio. They don't really have things close to the hotel. We asked for a close restaurant to go have lunch at and the Pizza place they recommended was not that good. I guess I just expected more from the "oldest hotel" on the Riverwalk. They advertise as being on the Riverwalk but it is removed from the main part of the Riverwalk and the surrounding neighborhood seems a bit shady. You can stay right on the Riverwalk for the same price and get so much more of an experience.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay ask for one of the rooms with the panoramic windows. The night time view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice, clean and very accomodating . Right on the riverwalk. but far enough away to be able to run. A little bit of a walk from action but worth it! i would recommend this hotel! Very good breakfast. The hotel is very art deco. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the minute I was greeted at the front desk by a very friendly desk clerk, to being greeted by maintenance and cleaning people as I walked down the hall, until I checked out, this was a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The lobby is lovely. My room overlooked the river, and when I opened the curtain, a Cooper's hawk was sitting in the tree just outside the window...a nice piece of nature in the city. The room was comfortable, though not elaborate. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. TV was not a high def flat screen, but it worked well. Internet service worked great. The bed was very comfortable. The location was a ways from the big action downtown and on the main part of the Riverwalk, but this extension portion is wonderful for a pleasant walk through the beautiful landscaping along the shoreline. I'd like to come back to try out the beautiful pool area. I think it will be a fun place when it's warmer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

First off, I've stayed at worse hotels. However, it was old and dated. The bed was literally broken. I thought it was soft when I laid down on it, but it wasn't until the morning after until that I looked under the bed and saw a number of the bed frame boards busted out and sticking through the mattress! The bed skirt was dirty and I don't want to know what that stain was...

On the plus side the TV worked, the water ran hot and strong, the towels were fluffy, the AC blew cold, and the room was relatively clean. It had a cute little balcony with some dated chairs that needed replacing. I didn't try the bar or the food so I can't comment on them.

The location is good. It's about a mile walk on the riverwalk upstream to the Pearl Market and museum. Not sure how long of walk to the downtown portion but you can always catch the river taxi.

So, I've been in worse places. It was mostly clean, just dated. It would not be my first choice on the Riverwalk, but I can't really afford my first choice :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.