We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times in San Antonio Texas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun times in San Antonio Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a little bit of everything, located on one end of the riverwalk and secluded - just a short walk away from all the action, It has a very interesting historical significance and a 60's retro style to the property. A pool is in the center of the property with a workout facility behind it. There are several places to sit outside and enjoy the Riverwalk as well as a Toucan, tortoise, and other birds. By the way, the person that said you have a view of the parking lot couldn't be more wrong, so don't believe that comment as it is on the river and the view is of the river - if you choose that side of the hotel, with a parking lot on the other side of the river! As with any hotel it is all in what you are looking for in a hotel and this one was to my liking with friendly and helpful staff...etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    224
    118
    81
    65
See reviews for
177
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I booked our room through Price Line. We arrived January 17th and stayed till Monday the 21st. The hotel is right on the river and is so beautiful inside. I really enjoyed all the tropical plants inside the lobby. They also have a too can sam (sp) bird, iguana and a huge tortoise in this big beautiful glass tropical in closer. They staff is AMAZING!!!! I have to give a big shout out to Brandon at the front desk. Thank you Brandon, you are the best front desk attendant I have ever come across! The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay so relaxing. We will defiantly stay there again next year! Thank you again for being so kind and helpful to us!!!

Room Tip: The second floor with sliding doors that take you to your own are right next to the pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My first visit to El Tropicano, I stayed with my fiance for a romantic getaway. The room was perfect ,the food was great, and the staff was wonderful. My second visit was for a mom and daughters concert getaway. We were able to get adjoining rooms so the girls could go back and forth without interrupting the guests. The staff helped with getting us cabs and making the girls feel like they were VIP. Whether you are staying for a romantic getaway, family getaway, or any other getaway El Tropicano is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After reading the reviews, we didn't know what to expect when we arrived. I was truly impressed when we walked in. The lobby is very nice and the front desk personnel were great! After a very friendly and fast check-in, we were welcomed as first time Texas visitors with 2 complimentary tickets for their buffet breakfast. When we asked for a smoking room, they said they are 100% smoke free, but they could accomodate us with a balcony room and we booked through priceline (I saw an earlier review that was negative and booked through priceline). Our room was extremely nice also. They still have the big fat TV's and if you want a refrigerator it is $13 extra. Other than those two minor things, everything was super! I didn't come there to watch TV anyway! When we return to San Antonio, we will definitely stay here.....Highly recommend it! If you are looking to stay on the Riverwalk were all the restaurants and attractions are, I would go South on the Riverwalk from this hotel. We like to walk and definitely needed to walk off our meals eaten in the heart of the Riverwalk and walked off our great breakfast from El Tropicano on our walk downtown!

Room Tip: If available, I recommend a balcany room. It is nice to sit outside in the fresh air here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can here for a "mom getaway", the first time on the Riverwalk and my first trip away from my daughter (who is 2) so I had high expectations. They were met. I pulled up to the hotel and was skeptical, it did not look like what I had in mind when booking but I went to check in and the lobby was beautiful, the guy at the front desk was friendly and helpful and checking in was a breeze. We had booked a poolside room in the winter because one of my friends is a smoker and it was amazing. You step out onto the patio and there is a patio chair and table and you are only a few feet away from the beautiful pool area. Lovely trees and lights made it a very nice view (I plan to go back in the summer to take advantage of that). I did not use the gym but I did go look at it during our walk around the hotel and it was huge, and had lots of equipment. Our room was a tad on the small side but very nice. As soon as we walked in the front desk called to make sure everything was alright. The room did have a tiny bit of dust on the side table but was otherwise clean, and smelled great. The tv is an older box tx but I didnt go there to watch tv so it did not bother me. The bathroom was small but clean and shiny. The beds were comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. I had to get some extra supplies from the maid, who was friendly and polite, even the guy vacuuming the carpet outside my room was cheerful and polite. I had never been to the Riverwalk before and did not know exactly what to expect, the hotel is closer to the Museum side then the nightlife side but the River Taxi can get you around during the day and a cab from downtown is only 5.64$.If you are going with children or a large family this may not be the best hotel simply because of the size of the room and things that are per person like the river cab can get expensive but a romantic getaway or a friends trip is perfect. I would stay here again despite the location because I had such a nice experience with the hotel. It is not the Ritz, it is an older hotel and has the typical cosmetic issues that are expected with an older hotel but everywhere we went was clean and had fresh paint. I do not work there and am in no other way affiliated with them as previous reviews suggest, I had a wonderful experience here and do plan on staying there again and have recommended it to several family and friends.

Room Tip: Poolside is the way to go!!! There is a small patio area with tables and chairs and you are a few fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Booked this on Priceline..big mistake..bad location, dirty room, dust, stains, hair on bathroom floor, along with stains on the wallpaper next to the toilet. Had a Maid come in, she attemped to quick clean, Very disappointed for the rating it recieved, does anyone ever go check out these properties?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I reserved room for New Year's Eve. Paid a little bit more than I normally would pay because I wanted it to be special for my Fiancé and I. Lobby was beautiful. As we got off elevator, scenery changed. Stains on carpet. We got into our room and it was freezing. We tried turning on heat ( as it was a cold night). Remote did not work. And AC would not turn off. We tried to move vent up and it fell off. Carpet in room had stains. Restroom was very small. Toilet is too close to wall. There was calcium build up and a patched up hole in the tub. TV was old and dusty. And it is way too far from the downtown Riverwalk area. The pictures on the Internet are deceiving. We checked out after 20 min. It is equivalent to a $60 motel room. I do not understand how they can charge $200 a night. So NOT worth the cost. We found a room at a Comfort Inn for that night. Now for that room I would have paid $200! I paid $84....look elsewhere before you think of booking with " El Tropicano"!! As for all the positive reviews here, I find it hard to believe they are legit. Must be employees filling out these great reviews...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.