We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Queen Creek
1 review
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and loved the place. Friendly staff, good food and nice room and pool area. It is beautiful inside and has a coffee stand with sandwiches and pastries. Also a full bar. Outside tables over look the river.The location is great for the Riverwalk and the Alamo. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    224
    118
    81
    65
See reviews for
177
209
33
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA/Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I did a blind bid on priceline.com and wound up with this hotel. I would never stay here again due to cleanliness.

Positives:
Good location (close to freeways, on riverwalk, close to alamo)
Friendly staff
Cheap/affordable
They use "green" products (environmentally friendly) for their coffee cups in the room

Negatives:
Very dirty!
Parking is expensive ($18/day)
Not super close main attractions of riverwalk

Our room was very dirty. When we walked in I noticed stains on the headboard. I used a wet washcloth to clean them off but we still made sure not to touch the headboard at all. The sheets were stained and when we called to complain and get new sheets the front desk sounded worried but didn't offer any apologies nor did we hear any apologies from the manager. We were given two sets of sheets when we complained and of those two sets, one of them had more stains on them. It was really unsettling. The carpet in the room had lots of stains them as well.

As for parking, we managed to avoid the parking fee by driving wherever we wanted to go and parking across the street. There is a lot across the street where you can park for $10 (no in/out privileges) during the weekend and $2/day for weekdays. There are also meters, that's where we parked the car the most. The meters are $1.50/hour, Monday - Saturday from 8AM - 6PM. We stayed at the hotel Friday night, all day Saturday, all day Sunday and left on Monday. Friday night was free parking, we left Saturday morning at 9AM and came back round 4PM so we only paid for 3 hours on the meter. Saturday night was free, Sunday was free and we parked in the lot for $2 on Monday until noon when we left to head back to Dallas.

Overall I liked the location and staff but was really put off by how dirty everything in the room was and how unapologetic they seemed to be about our situation. I will not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This refurbished 1960's hotel is a great place to stay in San Antonio. Very clean, helpful staff and comfortable rooms, our stay there last week was a very enjoyable one! Make sure you request a fridge for your room as they are not standard and this was a surprise for hotel such as this? But it is the hotel that the airlines use for their pilots and cabin crew and that is always a good indication that a hotel is a good one! The river-walk is next to the hotel but it is a 15 minute walk to the downtown area where the restaurants and nightlife are. Not a problem but if do not like walking back after a hearty meal, then it may be a negative. The hotel has a buffet for breakfast which is good but hey do not offer dinner. This is a little misleading as their website gives you the impression that you could enjoy dinner there? But this is a hotel to consider if your looking to stay in San Antonio!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place has a cool, Cuban vibe, and is in a perfect location right on the Riverwalk. They have computers easily accessible in the lobby (for those of us who don't bring our own), WiFi throughout the hotel, and a sweet pool & fitness center. I was initially displeased with the level of service I received at this hotel. I simply spoke with the gentleman who emailed me when I made my reservation....he was very friendly and remedied the situation immediately. I got a great night's sleep, and will be going back soon. Fun stay overall...thanks again Michael!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Room was clean, bed was comfy, service was pleasant, but for the money I would have liked a room fridge, a safe, a roomier bathroom (hardly any shelf space) and faster Internet. Hotel is on river walk but not near attractions. Coffee bar was expensive. At our conference the water containers were not kept full. So, fine for basic amenities but not as good as expected from the advertising.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location to catch the river taxi. Not much action at this end of the riverwalk. So, if you like quiet, this the place. Staff was very friendly. Let us check in very early because room was available, but A/C wasn't working. They immediately gave us another room. Lobby area was beautiful. Pool was too cold to swim. Bathroom needed updating. (Tub was old and stained.) Other than that, room was okay. Got great deal on it.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm on my fourth day of a five day stay and am writing this review on my phone because the Internet connection here is SLOW! SLOW! SLOW! To the point of aggravation!
There are no mini fridges or microwaves in room. The TV is from the last century, and the coffee maker only makes one cup at a time. None of which adds up to 3-stars!
The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is VERY polite.
Skip the $10 breakfast buffet of greasy, chewy bacon, biscuits (no gravy), and cold pancakes. You're better off going out for fast food breakfast.
The location is great but 3-stars? I think not.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.