We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Web Offer
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place has a cool, Cuban vibe, and is in a perfect location right on the Riverwalk. They have computers easily accessible in the lobby (for those of us who don't bring our own), WiFi throughout the hotel, and a sweet pool & fitness center. I was initially displeased with the level of service I received at this hotel. I simply spoke with the gentleman who emailed me when I made my reservation....he was very friendly and remedied the situation immediately. I got a great night's sleep, and will be going back soon. Fun stay overall...thanks again Michael!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    235
    130
    93
    68
See reviews for
183
226
34
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Room was clean, bed was comfy, service was pleasant, but for the money I would have liked a room fridge, a safe, a roomier bathroom (hardly any shelf space) and faster Internet. Hotel is on river walk but not near attractions. Coffee bar was expensive. At our conference the water containers were not kept full. So, fine for basic amenities but not as good as expected from the advertising.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location to catch the river taxi. Not much action at this end of the riverwalk. So, if you like quiet, this the place. Staff was very friendly. Let us check in very early because room was available, but A/C wasn't working. They immediately gave us another room. Lobby area was beautiful. Pool was too cold to swim. Bathroom needed updating. (Tub was old and stained.) Other than that, room was okay. Got great deal on it.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm on my fourth day of a five day stay and am writing this review on my phone because the Internet connection here is SLOW! SLOW! SLOW! To the point of aggravation!
There are no mini fridges or microwaves in room. The TV is from the last century, and the coffee maker only makes one cup at a time. None of which adds up to 3-stars!
The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is VERY polite.
Skip the $10 breakfast buffet of greasy, chewy bacon, biscuits (no gravy), and cold pancakes. You're better off going out for fast food breakfast.
The location is great but 3-stars? I think not.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I thought the hotel was in the perfect location along the Riverwalk. The staff at the front desk as well as the restaurant were polite, pleasant and very helpful. The service was top notch. Our room was fairly standard. We travel alot and thought that the value for money here was very good. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My review of this hotel is mixed. I found the lobby and restaurant area very attriactive and well maintained. The restaurant and deli staff were terrific. They were courteous and professional and the food was good. There was a meal as part of our business meeting and again the food was well prepared and tasty.
My room was on the VIP floor and it was a mess. Stains on the carpet, either too hot or too cold, two items not working as they should. I had to call at 3 pm to get the room cleaned. Others in our group complained about the size of the rooms and the condition of the rooms. The rates were low for our group, but couldn't they clean the carpet at least?

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the VIP floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked here 2 months ago through Price
Line for the Rockn'Roll marathon just to be told our reservations were cancelled the day of check.

El Tropicano doesn't guarantee room bookings if bought through Priceline ...
Tried to speak to a manager and was told they are too busy so said we would wait on hold. After 30 minutes we just gave up.

Saying their customer service was awful would be a huge understatement :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.