We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unmask Online Deal!
Ranked #137 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good location ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent 5 nights at the El Tropicano for a reunion. Staff was friendly, but firm on the check in time, do not arrive early. The hotel being on the Riverwalk was a great asset with having outdoor seating/patio area for guests to visit at the reunion. The rooms were clean, building older, but maintained character of the area and location. There is a parking lot fee. Most guests used the riverwalk boats or walked to town and grabbed a trolley back to the hotel. The breakfast came with our room price but noted there was a charge otherwise. They served eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausages. The eggs were always cold and on the runny side. Enjoyed the fresh fruit. A very nice pool area on the second floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    241
    136
    96
    71
See reviews for
191
235
34
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here two nights and each day our opinions of the place declined. The first night's room had an air conditioner that was so noisy we had a difficult time sleeping. The WiFi was unreachable. Parking was $18.00 per day (it was $5.00 per day across the street). The location is at the very end of the River walk and the water taxi turns around outside the hotel and goes back downstream. A typical breakfast buffet will run you $11.00.

After complaining the next morning we were able to move to a room where the air conditioner worked just fine. The next time we go to San Antonio we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, I apologize for the problems with the noise from the air conditioner the first night and am glad that we were able to move you the next day although that is not our ideal solution as you should not have encountered that problem from the beginning.

I hope on your next visit to San Antonio we will have an opportunity to ensure you a problem free stay.

Best Regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

this place is a hotel hell,the rooms are so little and the rest room had mildew on the soap dish,we are still looking for the riverwake and we are back in DFW! the only view was a crane working acrose the street.when we ask for another room was told they was full..full at this place!! i don't think so.any eay this place should be named hotel hell...also we left this place and went to the wyndham and it cost less and was so much better..

Room Tip: if this the only hotel that has a room. stay home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I apologize that this was not the hotel for you, when booking through blind bidding sites you sometimes end up with a property that does not fit your travel needs. My records indicate you were assigned to room 817 which has a balcony and overlooks our pool area and although the new Performing Arts Center is being renovated into a state of the art center across from us we have had zero noise complaints and although the crane is an eyesore it is not visible from the pool side of the hotel.

I think if you had stayed the night you certainly would have enjoyed our unique hotel as well as the Museum Reach section of the Riverwalk which offers a completely different experience from the main channel area including the uniquely developed Pearl Brewery area. I hope your overall stay in San Antonio was enjoyable and I thank you for visiting our city.

Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am a young college student from a typical small town in West Texas, so when I showed up in San Antonio, alone, it was overwhelming. Even the hotel itself was overwhelming, but in a good way. The lobby was large and beautifully decorated. I went to the front desk and the and the clerk was amazingly hospitable, and he was just in training! I had reserved my room via a travel website and was unsure of exactly what I had purchased. The clerk ended up giving me a beautiful room with a great view of the riverwalk! Retrieving my luggage, I looked lost in the parking lot and a worker passing by took the time to stop and help me find my way to the elevators. Later, I realized I forgot some things and went down to the lobby to ask where I could find the things I needed. I was immediately given directions to the nearest store, and given tips too. This clerk was very personable and sweet, even though this was probably something I could have Googled. The whole staff seemed to go above and beyond to make each guest's experience there a good one. I will definitely be staying here again and would advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel like all the other people write, is off the riverwalk and still charging riverwalk prices. 18 dollars a night for parking? That is terrible. About five years ago when this place was under renovation we stayed here and at that time there was no charge for parking, so why now?

Also, the place and rooms are just not that nice.

Last night the ground level parking area was jam packed and we did not know how to access the upper level parking area. We pulled into the check in area and the rude security guard was rude to my wife! He yelled at her. I do not know how a hotel that "supposedly" prides themselves on customer service would employee a security guard with no people skills.

We are still here for another 3 nights and hate it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is located just a short walk away from the river walk but far enough for a quiet stay. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The pool is great, situated in a fun tropical setting. The gym is wonderful with every piece of workout equipment you could ever need. the breakfast buffet is affordable and delicious. I would recommend this place for business, family or couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Out of our six night trip, this is the only hotel that I probably wouldn't stay at again. I won this hotel from a priceline name your own price bid, for $50 a night. Super reasonable for this area of town, although I wouldn't pay more than that for this particular hotel. The stay was super nice, and even gave us free parking (normally $18) since they only had full size beds available. It's further down on the riverwalk, but we were still able to cross the street right to the river and walk from there to downtown in about 15 minutes. The hotel is older - you can tell that right away. They did give us a balcony, which was nice. Bar was open late and had reasonable prices - no fridge in the room.

As soon as we walked into our room though there was a very bad musty smell that never left, even after we opened the balcony and let the room air out for a couple of hours. This is the main reason I wouldn't stay here again. The bathroom looked to be newly renovated, and the room was reasonably clean for being an older hotel. Next time, I think I'll pick a place closer to downtown and a little newer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.