We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Since the conference hotel was booked, I had to find someplace close to the conference and this was perfect. Not only was it close to the conference, it was also very close to restaurants, the Riverwalk and other conveniences. The room was spacious with a nice kitchenette. My room ended in an 11 and had a very unusual layout. It is long and narrow with the kitchenette and bathroom at one end and bedroom at the other. The bed was very comfortable. A free continental breakfast is offered each day. (Remember continental is not a full breakfast.) Staff was very friendly, Some little things keep me from giving this hotel a higher rating. First, housekeeping is not the best. IOn the first day, I had some large towels and hand towels but no washcloths. On the second day, I had washcloths but the used towels were rerolled and not left on the towel bar. The two dishes I used were washed but never put away during my entire stay. The floors were not well vacuumed. The other issue was the lighting. A light at the door illuminates the kitchenette but there are no other switches or overhead lights. When coming in at night, you have to grope around for the light on the night stand or desk. Overall I might stay here again (not in a room ending in 11 or 03) but it is not my favorite SA hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't end in 03 or 11 on the 3rd floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
97
59
4
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Suites are a good size, with very interesting use of space. I had a room on the 7th floor, and in my suite the bathroom was at the end of the suite. Kitchens are a decent size, but if you want to do any 'cooking', I had to request a portable cooktop. Room was quiet and had lots of windows to let in natural sunlight. Hotel is close to major attractions and riverwalk.

I used the fitness center - pretty small and can fill up quickly at peak hours. I did not have a chance to eat breakfast there.

Room Tip: Elevator took a long time to reach the 7th floor. I had to wait over 5 minutes once evening. Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nicely renovated hotel with kitchenette and great location a block from the river walk by Dicks Last Resort. Can be noisy street side. Iron was cheap and pretty useless. Shower pressure low. And continental breakfast items limited and were not always well stocked. But otherwise a great room and stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 for 2 nights while attending a business meeting nearby. The hotel was close to everything that I needed, and also only a few blocks (walking distance) from the Alamo and adjacent to Riverwalk access. The complimentary breakfast was good and convenient, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative was a very loud A/C unit, but it did a good job keeping the room cool. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stylish hotel with no frills. Room was large, clean and comfortable.

Great selection of foods at breakfast. Nice indoor pool and small gym.

The location is fantastic. We could walk everywhere from there during our stay and it was great not to need the car for a few days.

Overall really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. For what I've paid, the service has been just acceptable, but the overall experience didn't quite fit.
Concierge was slow and busy most times; breakfast was bad; however, the hotel is centrally located, which meant I had my 2nd and 3rd breakfast nearby, on the Riverwalk.
I don't particularly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in San Antonio. My understanding is that it's a better fit for long term stays (3-4 weeks or more), in which case the price per day should be better.
Ah, last but not least: I had a few small ants all around the room. It wasn't particularly annoying, but nevertheless...

Room Tip: Pick a high rise. Any side would work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Home2 Suites for 3 nights in October 2012. The concept of the hotel is nice - each room has a kitchenette with a pretty nice setup, including a nice microwave and sink area and a sizeable fridge. It has a great location only 2 short blocks from the main drag of the Riverwalk, which was probably my favorite thing about this hotel.

The desk and staff were very pleasant, especially Mia at the front desk.

However, be aware, you get (or don't get) what you pay for, and in this case, there were a few pretty significant downsides to this hotel:

-- The floors of our room were so dirty that clean white socks would turn black on the bottom after just walking across the carpet one time. Ewww.

-- My in-laws, who also stayed at this hotel, arrived to their room to find a dishwasher full of unwashed dishes. Ewww.

-- My in-laws also didn't have the proper bedding in their room for the pull-out couch. They were able to find an extra pillow, but no extra sheets or pillowcases.

-- Don't expect more from breakfast than some yogurt and a bagel. Avoid the "sandwiches" at all costs - they are terrible and barely have any egg or sausage on them. They are mostly half an english muffin covered in weird orange sauce.

-- The air conditioners in the room are extremely loud, as noted by most of the reviewers here. It didn't really bother me, since the bed was on the other side of the room, but my 7-month old was terrified and would cry if we took him near the a/c unit. It's that loud.

-- The valets take forever to get your car. We called them 30 mins ahead on the day we were leaving to ask for our car to be ready at a specific time, and we still stood waiting on the sidewalk for 15 minutes past that time before they finally showed up with it. It wasn't even a particularly busy time - I don't know why it took so long.

-- We checked out one night early and received a receipt / check-out slip before leaving the hotel. When I called Expedia to ask them to refund our final night's stay (as they previously said they would), the hotel REFUSED TO CONFIRM THAT WE HAD CHECKED OUT. I was extremely frustrated by this, since we told the front desk multiple times that we planned to leave early, and, in fact, checked out and received a time-stamped receipt showing that we had departed. I do not understand why the hotel would not tell Expedia that we had left.


Bottom line -- Only stay here if you want to be close to the Riverwalk at a bargain rate, but don't expect much, and bring flipflops to keep your feet off the disgusting floors. I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms have a curtain dividing the bed from the rest of the room, in case that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel
Address: 603 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.