We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and in room kitchenette.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and in room kitchenette.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nicely renovated hotel with kitchenette and great location a block from the river walk by Dicks Last Resort. Can be noisy street side. Iron was cheap and pretty useless. Shower pressure low. And continental breakfast items limited and were not always well stocked. But otherwise a great room and stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
110
63
4
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PASADENA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 for 2 nights while attending a business meeting nearby. The hotel was close to everything that I needed, and also only a few blocks (walking distance) from the Alamo and adjacent to Riverwalk access. The complimentary breakfast was good and convenient, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative was a very loud A/C unit, but it did a good job keeping the room cool. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stylish hotel with no frills. Room was large, clean and comfortable.

Great selection of foods at breakfast. Nice indoor pool and small gym.

The location is fantastic. We could walk everywhere from there during our stay and it was great not to need the car for a few days.

Overall really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. For what I've paid, the service has been just acceptable, but the overall experience didn't quite fit.
Concierge was slow and busy most times; breakfast was bad; however, the hotel is centrally located, which meant I had my 2nd and 3rd breakfast nearby, on the Riverwalk.
I don't particularly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in San Antonio. My understanding is that it's a better fit for long term stays (3-4 weeks or more), in which case the price per day should be better.
Ah, last but not least: I had a few small ants all around the room. It wasn't particularly annoying, but nevertheless...

Room Tip: Pick a high rise. Any side would work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Home2 Suites for 3 nights in October 2012. The concept of the hotel is nice - each room has a kitchenette with a pretty nice setup, including a nice microwave and sink area and a sizeable fridge. It has a great location only 2 short blocks from the main drag of the Riverwalk, which was probably my favorite thing about this hotel.

The desk and staff were very pleasant, especially Mia at the front desk.

However, be aware, you get (or don't get) what you pay for, and in this case, there were a few pretty significant downsides to this hotel:

-- The floors of our room were so dirty that clean white socks would turn black on the bottom after just walking across the carpet one time. Ewww.

-- My in-laws, who also stayed at this hotel, arrived to their room to find a dishwasher full of unwashed dishes. Ewww.

-- My in-laws also didn't have the proper bedding in their room for the pull-out couch. They were able to find an extra pillow, but no extra sheets or pillowcases.

-- Don't expect more from breakfast than some yogurt and a bagel. Avoid the "sandwiches" at all costs - they are terrible and barely have any egg or sausage on them. They are mostly half an english muffin covered in weird orange sauce.

-- The air conditioners in the room are extremely loud, as noted by most of the reviewers here. It didn't really bother me, since the bed was on the other side of the room, but my 7-month old was terrified and would cry if we took him near the a/c unit. It's that loud.

-- The valets take forever to get your car. We called them 30 mins ahead on the day we were leaving to ask for our car to be ready at a specific time, and we still stood waiting on the sidewalk for 15 minutes past that time before they finally showed up with it. It wasn't even a particularly busy time - I don't know why it took so long.

-- We checked out one night early and received a receipt / check-out slip before leaving the hotel. When I called Expedia to ask them to refund our final night's stay (as they previously said they would), the hotel REFUSED TO CONFIRM THAT WE HAD CHECKED OUT. I was extremely frustrated by this, since we told the front desk multiple times that we planned to leave early, and, in fact, checked out and received a time-stamped receipt showing that we had departed. I do not understand why the hotel would not tell Expedia that we had left.


Bottom line -- Only stay here if you want to be close to the Riverwalk at a bargain rate, but don't expect much, and bring flipflops to keep your feet off the disgusting floors. I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms have a curtain dividing the bed from the rest of the room, in case that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I are from San Antonio and was searching for a hotel on the Riverwalk that was decently priced. This hotel was hip and chic. I think this was re done in the old Travis building downtown across from The Majestic Theatre. We got married on Friday and booked the room for Friday-Sunday. We checked in an hour early with no problems and everyone at the front desk were very friendly. No parking garage but most places downtown are like that. They have valet parking that you can go in and out all day with no extra charges. The room was so cute and clean . We booked the king suite. Has a kitchenette with dishwasher, fridge, microwave, sink with complete dish set and coffee maker. Bathroom has built in neutrogena products. ( No conditioner so you may need to bring some). With pullout couch, ironing board, iron, desk etc. More ammeneties than expected. We were on the third floor with a huge window looking over downtown. The only problem we had was the privacy lock on the door was not working. My husband called front desk to let them know. We had left to go eat lunch and when we got backed it was done! I read people were complaining the a/c was loud which is true but I never remember staying at a hotel where it was not loud..?? We never ate the free breakfast so can't comment on that but front desk said it served cereal,oatmeal,waffles,yogurt,hard boiled eggs and breakfast sandwhiches . I would stay here again without a doubt!!! Good for couples, singles or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by their valet staff. Jacob and Ty were very helpful and assisted us with our luggage and area info. At check in Sam was one of the most friendly people we have ever come across in our travels. The room was very nice and clean. The only downside is a bathroom fan that does not turn off. Breakfast was okay. The area was a little small in our opinion. The hotel was located close to all the attractions in downtown San Antonio. Alex at check out was very pleasant. Quick and efficient. She called valet for our car and it arrived five minutes later. KJ helped us with our luggage and made sure we were set with directions to our next destination. Overall a very pleasant hotel with amazing staff. The staff is what makes a hotel and this hotel has one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 603 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.