We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun casual bar/resturant by the Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esquire Tavern

Esquire Tavern
155 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2226
210-222-2521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Esquire Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Gastropub, Organic, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St. Mary
Transit: Conveniently located in downtown on the San Antonio River, The Esquire Tavern is within walking distance from most major hotels. In addition, The Esquire is serviced by the Yellow Line Downtown Trolley conveniently located at the corner of Commerce and St. Mary’s fifty feet from our front door.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun casual bar/resturant by the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to the Esquire Tavern for lunch and it was excellent. I was there in March and was able to sit outside on the patio(small patio overlooking riverwalk). They have the BEST cocktails I have ever had and a great menu selection-perfect for anyone you are with! The Esquire is the oldest bar on the riverwalk and it's also the longest wooden bar top in Texas-over 100 feet..I had the "Esquire Pimm's Cup" and it was so good and light-perfect for a lunch or afternoon cocktail..it had pimm's #1,lemon,cucumber and ginger beer-served on the rocks. For lunch I had the pimento cheese sandwich with the chili salt fries and it was very good. Fun place to go for lunch or for happy hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    139
    35
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good choice for bar food by the Riverwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a casual dinner here inside. It's a (very) dark bar with lots of wood and stuffed animal heads, which seems appropriate for the look it's going after. Despite reading some reviews that the service could be hit-or-miss, I found the server to be very responsive on the night we went. Had the fried pickles, which are interesting but nothing amazing (the crumbing had a tendency to separate from the pickle). The cocktail shrimp with avocado was exactly as it sounds. A strange combination but good when eaten separately. We both had burgers for dinner, and they were a good size and cooked exactly as ordered. The fries (additional charge--should have been included at the pricepoint) were also well-done. Overall, it was a reasonable, casual meal among what can often be some bad food choices in the Riverwalk area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Had my little wedding reception there and everything went perfect! I had been in contact with the manager, John, and he was so nice and accommodating with our small budget. The food was amazing. We even got complimentary champagne for my new husband and myself. Everything went smoothly. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. I would definitely recommend stopping by here for a drink or dinner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice casual place on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I went to Esquire Tavern for a quick dinner before a show at the Majestic Theater. It was a beautiful day, and we grabbed one of the 4 tables on a small balcony overlooking the river. I had to go inside to get a waiter's attention, but once they came the service was friendly and courteous. They have a wide variety of cocktails on the menu, along with good selection of food at a very good price for a restaurant on the river. Our food came very quickly, and both the shrimp sandwich and chile rellenos were tasty (though the chile rellenos had a tomato sauce and cheese on top which reminded me more of Italian than Mexican). Inside it was rather dark but seemed cozy. The bar was the longest I've seen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Love Love Love this place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This bar/eatery is hands down the coolest place on the RiverWalk. It's got that old moldy smell to it... gas to electric bare bulb light fixtures... a taxidermist's heaven with fox, turkey and a few other furry friends hanging around. Drinks are old school... try a 'Side-Car' (my fav).. and the menu is killer ! hello!!! fried pickles and beets !! woohoo ! oh and VERY inexpensive

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Esquire Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esquire Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.