We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
502 Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 222-9092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stopped in and had dinner there and was not disappointed. The wait was a bit long but that is expected on a Saturday night with great weather. After I was seated, with the great view of the riverwalk, I was promptly greeted by may server Luiz. I ordered the ribeye with the pepper crust and let me say what a GREAT steak! It was cooked to perfection, tender, juicy and full of flavor. The service was excellent and I didnt have to wonder where my server went when I needed something. But let me add this, after signing my check, I walked out and forgot my debit card. Luiz chased me down to get it back to me! I cannot say thank you enough because that saved me so much grief in having to get a new card especially since I am in the area for work. I would for sure eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    99
    40
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yummy Steaks and love the Coronarittas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went down here on a very busy weekend so had to wait an hour to get seated which was the same in most places, wasn't too bothered as we waited at the bar where I discovered people drinking Ice Margaritas with a bottle of Corona stuck in the middle, on seeing this of course I ordered one as well, then another.....

Anyway, when we did get seated I had a beautiful blue cheese salad followed by a nicely cooked rib eye steak, all in all a good visit and at a reasonable price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Eat outside, it is so nice to be on the River Walk having a good meal and a glass of wine. Service was very good, food was fairly priced. We will dine there again when we return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food was delicious. Service was exceptional. Our server Jeremiah was young yet so professional. Great spot on the river walk. I would deifinately go back again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best on the Riverwalk with reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband had his heart set on a Texas steak in Texas. As we strolled the Riverwalk, looking at prices of some of the steak places, we were thrilled to find the Saltgrass Steak House. Although owned by Landry's (which is also on the Riverwalk, but much higher prices), we decided to eat at Saltgrass. We certainly were NOT disappointed. The Loaded Steak was a sirloin, but tasted like filet mignon. The horseradish mashed potatoes were to die for!! My chicken was perfect covered and the haystack onion rings came with a wonderful dipping sauce. With 2 iced teas and tip, the bill was only $58.00.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.