We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location, Friendly Staff, Inexpensive Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #92 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Super Location, Friendly Staff, Inexpensive Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We moved from our business conference hotel to this option for one night to be closer to downtown. It was very close to all the options, staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
34
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I'll make this short: No hot water. I'm not terribly picky... But hot water is one of my few basic expectations in a hotel. Front desk staff could not explain why and didn't even apologize. I checked out and moved to another hotel. I know this was probably an isolated incident, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed at this location before since it is so conveniently located and our room is roomy & comfortable. Breakfast is ready early, coffee is good and beds are oh...sooo comfy. U can easily walk to just about any of the interesting places in town. The Alamo is right there, the mall is right there & River walk is close by. I walked to the Market Square and LaVillita easily. The historic churches, Governor's palace and I could go on an on but all are close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel itself and the staff were great! And the location is wonderful. My only complaint is the loud dance music that can be heard until 2:00 a.m. in the morning from the club next door (The Warehouse?) I know it goes on Friday and Saturday nights, not sure about during the week. We had friends staying across the street at The Extended Stay and they could hear it also. None of us got to sleep until 2:30 a.m. So if you can sleep through anything or will be out until 2:00 a.m. then stay here. It's a nice, clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is a less than 5 minute walk from the Alamo or the river walk mall, so it's in a good, safe location for the money. Staff were friendly, hotel and room were clean and breakfast offered something for everyone. The breakfast staff did a great job of keeping the area clean and refilling the food offerings. Valet parking is $21 which could get expensive for an extended stay. Odd number rooms face the freeway, so are a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I wanted a hotel near the Riverwalk but I didn't really want to spend around $150/day, and this one was only a few blocks from the Riverwalk for under $100.00/day. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's also one block from the Alamo, "the" Alamo, and two blocks from a large multi-level mall with movie theaters.

There are restaurants everywhere, on the surface streets and down on the Riverwalk so you shouldn't have a problem finding something, except for making a choice between them. They all look very nice and reasonably priced.

The hotel was easy to get to from the 10, following my GPS of course, but the only downside was that parking wasn't free. It was $21.00/day. But the pretty cool thing was that on your valet ticket is a QR code that you can scan when you want to have your car brought around. So you can do that in your room and by the time you get down stairs, it's there. Cool!

Of all the Fairfield's I've stayed in during my cross country trip, and I've stayed in many, this was by far the best, in size of the room, cleanliness, service and even the TV was really nice.

For all of this, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Staff were very helpful and courteous.
Great location for all attractions. Lovely, well appointed large room
'Complimentary' Breakfast was adequate and the small pool was clean
Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.