We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the Alamo and River Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #77 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very close to the Alamo and River Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is just two short blocks to the Alamo and the River Walk. The room isn’t as big as a Springhill but still quiet and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning didn’t have as many hot choices (i.e. you have to make oatmeal from a packet or heat an egg/sausage biscuit in the microwave) but we were just fine with cereal, waffles, muffins, etc. It certainly was less expensive vs. hotels right on the River Walk. We would stay here again if in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Be prepared to vallet park for $21 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
50
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Close to the Alamo and riverwalk. Pay parking, so take valet , its only a few dollars more.
Nice breakfast and a small sitting area.
Staff worked hard at making our stay great. Room was a bit small with limited sitting area.It was clean and beds great. Would stay at a hotel with larger sitting area like a hyatt place next time since we like to read in room and relax. Hyatt has a bar which means you dont have to go out for a drink although they have soft drinks by reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the minute I arrived to the minute I left the staff at the Fairfield Inn were friendly, helpful and accommodating. My room was clean, bright (love the cheerful green) and quiet. I spent a week at the hotel on business. Thank goodness for the complimentary breakfast as i was dashing out every morning. The location to the Riverwalk and Alamo is an easy walk though at night during a non-tourist season can be solitary. The parking is $21/day which I thought was excessive. The fitness center is more than adequate. Easy freeway access. Overall a nice play to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice welcoming no frills hotel in the downtown, a 5 minute walk to the Alamo and the River Walk. The room was clean and modern and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We especially like that you could make your own Texas shaped waffles. A very nice touch. There was no free hotel parking but this was inline with all the other hotels downtown so we accepted this. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a good value option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The property was clean, the staff was very helpful. It was close to the Riverwalk but still have to walk a few streets to get to the Riverwalk. They had continental breakfast, muffins and cereals. The breakfast was served in a tiny space, not enough tables, and over crowded with hotel guests. The rooms were way too small; and had no view; because the hotel building was blocked by San Antonio fire fighters. Also the parking was $21 per day, which to me was unreasonable. Their pillows were awfully tiny and uncomfortable. My advice would be to shop around and you will find great deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The good part of this hotel is the location. Walking distance to the Alamo, the riverwalk and downtown. The price for the location is very good.

As far as the rest of the review, average everywhere. The breakfast is well stocked and they replace things quickly so good job there, and the food for being billed as continental was pretty good. But the breakfast area is way too small for the number of people that stay here. We stayed on a Thursday in December and still, chaotic breakfast with nowhere to sit.

The rooms where okay. Basic bathroom and basic bed. The carpet was torn and they had onity locks. Those are the locks that made the news for being able to be broken into. That made me nervous and it was kind of surprising for a Marriott property.

With so many hotel options in San Antonio, i will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, proactive and seem to genuinely care about your comfort. They had a good Breakfast selection and kept it well stocked. All in all, it is a great property for the price. The only con to this property is the location. It is right next door to a very popular night club, which results in lots of noise throughout the evening till about 2:30 am. I have no problem with the club itself, just the noise it created. And it may be less noisy on a week day. We were there over a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view, this may help reduce the street (club) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.