We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #91 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great affordable downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice welcoming no frills hotel in the downtown, a 5 minute walk to the Alamo and the River Walk. The room was clean and modern and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We especially like that you could make your own Texas shaped waffles. A very nice touch. There was no free hotel parking but this was inline with all the other hotels downtown so we accepted this. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a good value option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
37
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The property was clean, the staff was very helpful. It was close to the Riverwalk but still have to walk a few streets to get to the Riverwalk. They had continental breakfast, muffins and cereals. The breakfast was served in a tiny space, not enough tables, and over crowded with hotel guests. The rooms were way too small; and had no view; because the hotel building was blocked by San Antonio fire fighters. Also the parking was $21 per day, which to me was unreasonable. Their pillows were awfully tiny and uncomfortable. My advice would be to shop around and you will find great deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The good part of this hotel is the location. Walking distance to the Alamo, the riverwalk and downtown. The price for the location is very good.

As far as the rest of the review, average everywhere. The breakfast is well stocked and they replace things quickly so good job there, and the food for being billed as continental was pretty good. But the breakfast area is way too small for the number of people that stay here. We stayed on a Thursday in December and still, chaotic breakfast with nowhere to sit.

The rooms where okay. Basic bathroom and basic bed. The carpet was torn and they had onity locks. Those are the locks that made the news for being able to be broken into. That made me nervous and it was kind of surprising for a Marriott property.

With so many hotel options in San Antonio, i will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, proactive and seem to genuinely care about your comfort. They had a good Breakfast selection and kept it well stocked. All in all, it is a great property for the price. The only con to this property is the location. It is right next door to a very popular night club, which results in lots of noise throughout the evening till about 2:30 am. I have no problem with the club itself, just the noise it created. And it may be less noisy on a week day. We were there over a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view, this may help reduce the street (club) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Charged my card randomly - will have to wait 3-5 days to return my money! Location is dangerous....hot tub is cold, continental breakfast closed five minutes early while the place was packed and people were still eating. 21.00 for valet is ridiculous. Never cleaned my room, when I pointed it out to the maid she said later because it was lunch time. Worst 4-5 day stay EVER!!! Motel 6 or Econolodge gives you more for your money! Marriott should be ashamed!

Free Internet, AC and comfortable bed is the only perk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great location because it's near the Riverwalk, about two blocks from the Alamo but not that close where you can hear the crowd and feel clustered. The breakfast items are great and the rooms have great beds. Fairly new rooms and clean. The location is about 20 mins from the airport

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

There isn't a better location near the Alamo and River Walk (within a reasonable price). You can walk everywhere from this hotel (The Alamo is just across the street.). My room was very spacious with a big window for lots of natural light (I like that). There was no frig or microwave; but, there was a coffee pot. There is free wi-fi. There's a good (complimentary) breakfast in the morning. The breakfast area was well-stocked and clean. The staff is welcoming and friendly.

My room was very clean and fresh with a comfortable bed. Everything was perfect.

The one thing is, you have no option but to valet your car (for $21 a day). But, like I said, the Alamo, River Walk, the River Walk Mall tons of shops - everything is within walking distance of this hotel - about a block away, so you won't need your car for those things. This seems like a very safe neighborhood for walking around. (I can't say that FOR SURE, but I didn't have any problems at all - seemed safe to me.)

I also visited some Missions (National Park sites), but they are farther away. So, this location is not near those at all. (Be sure to drive out and see the missions if you are here - don't miss them; they are beautiful.)

A great stay - and I would definitely stay here again when visiting San Antonio. You can't beat location and price.

Some San Antonio advice: Be sure to take one of those River Walk little river cruises. It's a lot of fun and you get some history on the river. It's only $8 and takes about 45 minutes - I was so glad I did it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.