We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #68 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great affordable downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice welcoming no frills hotel in the downtown, a 5 minute walk to the Alamo and the River Walk. The room was clean and modern and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We especially like that you could make your own Texas shaped waffles. A very nice touch. There was no free hotel parking but this was inline with all the other hotels downtown so we accepted this. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a good value option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahbeac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The property was clean, the staff was very helpful. It was close to the Riverwalk but still have to walk a few streets to get to the Riverwalk. They had continental breakfast, muffins and cereals. The breakfast was served in a tiny space, not enough tables, and over crowded with hotel guests. The rooms were way too small; and had no view; because the hotel building was blocked by San Antonio fire fighters. Also the parking was $21 per day, which to me was unreasonable. Their pillows were awfully tiny and uncomfortable. My advice would be to shop around and you will find great deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The good part of this hotel is the location. Walking distance to the Alamo, the riverwalk and downtown. The price for the location is very good.

As far as the rest of the review, average everywhere. The breakfast is well stocked and they replace things quickly so good job there, and the food for being billed as continental was pretty good. But the breakfast area is way too small for the number of people that stay here. We stayed on a Thursday in December and still, chaotic breakfast with nowhere to sit.

The rooms where okay. Basic bathroom and basic bed. The carpet was torn and they had onity locks. Those are the locks that made the news for being able to be broken into. That made me nervous and it was kind of surprising for a Marriott property.

With so many hotel options in San Antonio, i will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyomingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, proactive and seem to genuinely care about your comfort. They had a good Breakfast selection and kept it well stocked. All in all, it is a great property for the price. The only con to this property is the location. It is right next door to a very popular night club, which results in lots of noise throughout the evening till about 2:30 am. I have no problem with the club itself, just the noise it created. And it may be less noisy on a week day. We were there over a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view, this may help reduce the street (club) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakeaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Charged my card randomly - will have to wait 3-5 days to return my money! Location is dangerous....hot tub is cold, continental breakfast closed five minutes early while the place was packed and people were still eating. 21.00 for valet is ridiculous. Never cleaned my room, when I pointed it out to the maid she said later because it was lunch time. Worst 4-5 day stay EVER!!! Motel 6 or Econolodge gives you more for your money! Marriott should be ashamed!

Free Internet, AC and comfortable bed is the only perk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCouple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great location because it's near the Riverwalk, about two blocks from the Alamo but not that close where you can hear the crowd and feel clustered. The breakfast items are great and the rooms have great beds. Fairly new rooms and clean. The location is about 20 mins from the airport

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank maylee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
501 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

There isn't a better location near the Alamo and River Walk (within a reasonable price). You can walk everywhere from this hotel (The Alamo is just across the street.). My room was very spacious with a big window for lots of natural light (I like that). There was no frig or microwave; but, there was a coffee pot. There is free wi-fi. There's a good (complimentary) breakfast in the morning. The breakfast area was well-stocked and clean. The staff is welcoming and friendly.

My room was very clean and fresh with a comfortable bed. Everything was perfect.

The one thing is, you have no option but to valet your car (for $21 a day). But, like I said, the Alamo, River Walk, the River Walk Mall tons of shops - everything is within walking distance of this hotel - about a block away, so you won't need your car for those things. This seems like a very safe neighborhood for walking around. (I can't say that FOR SURE, but I didn't have any problems at all - seemed safe to me.)

I also visited some Missions (National Park sites), but they are farther away. So, this location is not near those at all. (Be sure to drive out and see the missions if you are here - don't miss them; they are beautiful.)

A great stay - and I would definitely stay here again when visiting San Antonio. You can't beat location and price.

Some San Antonio advice: Be sure to take one of those River Walk little river cruises. It's a lot of fun and you get some history on the river. It's only $8 and takes about 45 minutes - I was so glad I did it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Crockett Hotel
#39 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing