We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott should not associate its name with Fairfield; this "motel" was a poor choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marriott should not associate its name with Fairfield; this "motel" was a poor choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The property was clean, the staff was very helpful. It was close to the Riverwalk but still have to walk a few streets to get to the Riverwalk. They had continental breakfast, muffins and cereals. The breakfast was served in a tiny space, not enough tables, and over crowded with hotel guests. The rooms were way too small; and had no view; because the hotel building was blocked by San Antonio fire fighters. Also the parking was $21 per day, which to me was unreasonable. Their pillows were awfully tiny and uncomfortable. My advice would be to shop around and you will find great deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
29
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The good part of this hotel is the location. Walking distance to the Alamo, the riverwalk and downtown. The price for the location is very good.

As far as the rest of the review, average everywhere. The breakfast is well stocked and they replace things quickly so good job there, and the food for being billed as continental was pretty good. But the breakfast area is way too small for the number of people that stay here. We stayed on a Thursday in December and still, chaotic breakfast with nowhere to sit.

The rooms where okay. Basic bathroom and basic bed. The carpet was torn and they had onity locks. Those are the locks that made the news for being able to be broken into. That made me nervous and it was kind of surprising for a Marriott property.

With so many hotel options in San Antonio, i will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The property was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, proactive and seem to genuinely care about your comfort. They had a good Breakfast selection and kept it well stocked. All in all, it is a great property for the price. The only con to this property is the location. It is right next door to a very popular night club, which results in lots of noise throughout the evening till about 2:30 am. I have no problem with the club itself, just the noise it created. And it may be less noisy on a week day. We were there over a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view, this may help reduce the street (club) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Charged my card randomly - will have to wait 3-5 days to return my money! Location is dangerous....hot tub is cold, continental breakfast closed five minutes early while the place was packed and people were still eating. 21.00 for valet is ridiculous. Never cleaned my room, when I pointed it out to the maid she said later because it was lunch time. Worst 4-5 day stay EVER!!! Motel 6 or Econolodge gives you more for your money! Marriott should be ashamed!

Free Internet, AC and comfortable bed is the only perk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great location because it's near the Riverwalk, about two blocks from the Alamo but not that close where you can hear the crowd and feel clustered. The breakfast items are great and the rooms have great beds. Fairly new rooms and clean. The location is about 20 mins from the airport

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

There isn't a better location near the Alamo and River Walk (within a reasonable price). You can walk everywhere from this hotel (The Alamo is just across the street.). My room was very spacious with a big window for lots of natural light (I like that). There was no frig or microwave; but, there was a coffee pot. There is free wi-fi. There's a good (complimentary) breakfast in the morning. The breakfast area was well-stocked and clean. The staff is welcoming and friendly.

My room was very clean and fresh with a comfortable bed. Everything was perfect.

The one thing is, you have no option but to valet your car (for $21 a day). But, like I said, the Alamo, River Walk, the River Walk Mall tons of shops - everything is within walking distance of this hotel - about a block away, so you won't need your car for those things. This seems like a very safe neighborhood for walking around. (I can't say that FOR SURE, but I didn't have any problems at all - seemed safe to me.)

I also visited some Missions (National Park sites), but they are farther away. So, this location is not near those at all. (Be sure to drive out and see the missions if you are here - don't miss them; they are beautiful.)

A great stay - and I would definitely stay here again when visiting San Antonio. You can't beat location and price.

Some San Antonio advice: Be sure to take one of those River Walk little river cruises. It's a lot of fun and you get some history on the river. It's only $8 and takes about 45 minutes - I was so glad I did it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinon Hills
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at our hotel and were greated by a very nice Marriott staff. The location was just what we wanted. Each morning had nice continental breakfast. Only on drawback was the valet, we came in a large truck and they we were unable to park it, so we had to park in a self park across the street. All was good.. except alot of noise on our Friday and Saturday night due to bar on the corner. But was not disappointed in stay at this Marriott, clean, friendly, helpful. Would stay there again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.