We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #74 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bobbybolly
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

we stayed here on the labor day weekend and I would strongly urge you to find a better place for your money.
1) this place charges 21$ for valet parking.there is no free parking while the hampton inn across from it has free parking. The Valet (surprise surprise) had no idea where one can park his own car. I happened to find a 5$ parking right across the hotel.
2) the pool is a joke. it is small and dingy. it doesnt get any sunlight - so the water is always cold.
3) the breakfast is supposed to be until 10:00 am but the service lady stops bringing food out at 9:30 - so if u one of the late comers - get ready for left overs.
4) you need a key to come back in from the pool to the hotel - which idiot designed this hotel - and it did not work when the 1 time we were there - and got stuck.

find a better place for your money.
PradVas

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
43
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We cannot say enough about how well we were treated at this beautiful new hotel! Every single staff member went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and to ensure that we had everything that we needed at all times. We were attending a convention and found the location perfect for walking to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamo, the Rivercenter Mall - anywhere we wanted to go in downtown San Antonio. The (included) breakfast was hearty - waffles, yogurt, fruit, bagels, english muffins, eggs, egg sandwiches, etc. We very much enjoyed the pool and hot tub - the pool area is brilliantly situated so that we could enjoy either sun or shade at any time. The rooms are quiet - ours was near both the ice/vending and the elevators, but we were never bothered by any noise at all. Again - the facilities are superb, and the staff is even better! We will definitely stay here the next time we are in San Antonio!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

If you are looking for a decent hotel well located for visiting the Alamo and Riverwalk at half the price of Riverwalk properties, then this Fairfield is a good choice. The hotel is no frills. Despite our four night stay, we could not even get a fridge for the room. Hotel is new and service kinks still need to be worked out. Front desk staff came across as inexperienced. We continued to be woke by cleaning staff early each morning after repeated requests for a "do not disturb" sign were forgotten/ignored. Could go on with other incidents, but hopefully the hotel will work the service problems out as the facility itself is a good choice at this price point.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We got off course on our trip and ended up 3 hours behind. I called the hotel directly. Was assured that our rooms would be waiting. Arrived at the hotel around 4 am. We booked 2 king rooms and requested a rollaway since that's all that was available at the time of booking. There was a little confusion at the desk but it was all straightened out. The rooms were clean. Bed slept like a dream. Staff was wonderful. We walked to the Alamo and back to the hotel before departing. Clerk advised that we would have been able to do a 2pm check out. Will keep that in mind for future tip.

There was a discrepancy with valet parking price (optional) but I am Hoping to get that straightened out.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Brand new hotel that just opened two weeks ago. Everything was very nice and the location is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Not much is needed to be said about the rooms as they are brand new and beautiful. The beds are a little firm but that is a personal preference I guess.
Everything about this hotel was nice, but there were a couple of issues that need to be addressed. They are minor and I believe a result of the hotel being so new. They just need to get the newness worked out a bit. The first issue is that I had no bars of soap in my room. Shampoo and conditioner where there, but no face or body soap. Also there is a paper card in the bathroom that explains the "leave the towels on the floor if you want them washed..." policy and this card was water stained and looked bad. It should have been replaced. There were no trash bags in the trash cans, not really a problem but the can looked dirty from not having bags in them. One of the worst issues was when I got in the shower I found a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain. These are all housekeeping issues and I am sure that these will be worked out as the crew becomes familiar with what they should be doing. Forgiven this time and I hope on my next trip these will be resolved.
One other new hotel issue was that I went ot the "Market Place" to get an ice cream and found that all the ice cream was melted in the freezer. I notified the front desk and they thanked me an apologized , saying they would address the issue. I assume they did because all the frozen items were melted or thawed and could be a major health issue.
All of the above said this is still a very, very nice business or family vacation near the Alamo and Riverwalk. I would highly recommend this hotel and I am sure that all the issues mentioned above will be remedied.
One last note, I am not sure if you can self park here or not. I thought when I made the reservation that it said free parking, but at check in the only option seemed to be valet parking at $21/night. There may be self parking, but there was no indication of it and it was made to seem like valet was the only option. That is not so much a problem if valet is the only option as that is what you find in most city locations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is only 2 weeks old and it shows. The rooms still have a new smell. The hotel is very close to the Riverwalk and Alamo which makes walking easy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.