We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gangs all here!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waxy O'Connor's

Waxy O'Connor's
234 Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 229-9299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
texas gulf coast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The gangs all here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Live music, good drinks, kinda feels like it needs a mopping or painting or something. Once you have 4 drinks though you forget about it...decent bathrooms

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    83
    44
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

WE stopped here for lunch and I was impressed with the food and service. I think this is more of a night spot that has Irich folk music and drinking. But I was surprised with how good lunch was. It was also one of the most reasonably priced spots on the riverwalk.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Typical Irish Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went in for a late afternoon appetizer and some beers. The food was average. I'm sure the place gets hopping at night when the drinks really start flowing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

For good food at a fair price this is a good place to go. For the locals who are looking for something different along the River Walk, this is a good place. I have had the rib platter twice and they were very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not too clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped for a drink and it didn't look like a place I would want to eat at. This place could use a good cleaning and make sure they keep the tables, bar, etc. clean inside and out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Connor's also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Waxy O'Connor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waxy O'Connor's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.