We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas de Brazil San Antonio

Texas de Brazil San Antonio
313 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX
210-299-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas de Brazil San Antonio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Houston St. & Navarro St.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is by far the best brazillian restaurant I have been to. We took our son when we went there on our recent holiday to San Antonio. The waiters were attentative, fast and extremely accomodating. I had to be very careful not filling my self on the large Salad bar that they had, or their tasty creamy bisque. However, I could't say that about my son, who fell in love with the variety of Sushi. The cuts of meat were unique and very very well prepared. We don't eat pork products and we only had to tell them once and after we did not see a single pork item presented to us. This place had the best melt in your mouth beef ribs. For those of you who head there, make sure you go with a very large appetite. The prices were a bit on the high side, but thankfully we had a groupon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    56
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, better service and a nice ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We took our grandkids and daughter and son in law there in December 2012. Kids under 6 eat free! That is a great deal. The waiter was not aware that their menu had that posted on it so he had to get the manager. He was not aware of it either! I told him that he had an entire stack of menu's in the entrance to the restraraunt. He honored the offer. The beef, chicken and pork are prepared as you wish and there is more than enough for even the hardiest of appetites! The wine angel is a really neat feature!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner in San Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on January 20, 2013 and it was fabulous! We showed up without a reservation but the hostess was very gracious and found us a table, even though they had a 200+ group coming in that evening.

For those of you who have not had Brazilian BBQ before, servers come around with various cuts of meat and serve you slices of each type, as you wish.There is also a salad bar, but this is not your every day salad bar. Everything here was very well done, and they had a wide selection of items. The soup was lobster bisque - to die for!!! They had a wide selection of meats: beef, pork, lamb, chicken, different cuts, etc. Every meat I tried was tender - sooo tender - and cooked to perfection. The way the meat is done, you can choose from rare to well done when they serve you.

Service was great! even after the 200+ group showed up! our server made us feel very comfortable, even though we showed up somewhat under-dressed for this classy looking joint, at the end of a day touring and photographing in San Antonio. He was just attentive enough and friendly; he made us feel very well attended to.

They have a "wine angel" - a gymnast - who spins around and flies up and down the very high wine cellar, at the back of the restaurant. Very original and entertaining. She puts on a show whenever she's not busy fetching wine bottles!

This is a pricier dinner than we usually have, but this was our "treat" dinner during our vacation, so we didn't mind. Everything is a flat price, except for wine that was extra. This is an "all you can eat" kind of place, so save your appetite. This is a place where it is worth overdoing it a little... We also had desserts, both of which were fabulous: Coconut pie, warm and a la mode, and flan. Sadly, we could not finish either.

Although this is clearly not geared to vegetarians, you have a choice to do the salad bar only for a lower price, so this would make it possible for a vegetarian to go along, and there are plenty of options at the salad bar for a complete meal.

Decor is beautiful, very high end place. Would highly recommend this restaurant for a special dinner. Feel free to dress up if you can, and make reservations ahead. You may not be as lucky as we were! ;-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BEST in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean, lots of selection, price is great, location is great! Service is always top notch! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hmm, Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Well luckily I had gotten a two for one email deal for my birthday but it was a Sunday night and it was kind of slow so the atmosphere was dead. The place is beautiful and the wine angel is cool but nobody was ordering wine so she just fluttered around. I had been to the one in Las Vegas and loved it but this location didn't have that many meats to choose from, maybe 5 or 6? The salad bar was great and the meats were cooked well and most of them tasted good except the filet mignon and chicken with bacon were dry and overdone. The service was not as good as Chama Gaucha, they never cleaned up the crumbs from my table or removed the used splenda packets from our table which they do at other high end places. Also my friend and I both got upset stomachs that night so we won't be going back. Seems like everyone else loves it so maybe we went on a bad night? Oh and the manager and server knew it was my birthday but nobody ever said Happy Birthday and dessert was not offered at all, free or not. At Chama Gaucha they served my friend a beautiful free cake with candles and Happy Birthday written on the plate in chocolate sauce, the food there is also much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas de Brazil San Antonio also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Texas de Brazil San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas de Brazil San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.