We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fried Chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio

MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio
340 East Basse Road, Suite 101, San Antonio, TX 78209
210-444-9547
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Jones-Maltzberger
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We met friends there on a Monday night and thought at first because it is a small place, that the band would be so loud that you could not hear yourself think but it was right the opposite. The band was great and the fried chicken and bottle of wine was just the perfect evening to enjoy our friends,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brining Winner Winner Chicken Dinner to a whole new level!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It is pretty tough for me to decide if the fired chicken or Rose was better….after some serious thought and angst the Rose wins out. But then I thought…wait a minute…if the waitress had not brought me a taste (well let’s be honest, more than one taste) then I never would have ended up finding two wines I absolutely had to get a bottle (well let’s be honest, more than one bottle) of to enjoy at home…so really the service as the start followed closely by Rose and fried chicken. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and brought several tastes to the tables of wine she thought we might enjoy. You can get them by the glass or by the taste. We enjoyed an appetizer, a few main meals, and deserts. They were all to die for. Highly recommend their signature dish the fired chicken. The meals are decent sized portions and three of us were fine with a cup of soup (best tomato soup I have ever had…and I do not say that lightly) and two entrees. Sit, enjoy, taste, and take home a bottle or two or three or a case.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a popular place in San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

this was a business dinner and they are large tables to easily accomodate a party of 10. Tasty appetizers that are not your typical chain fare. This restaurant is close to the quarry market, but not in the actual market shopping center. It is important to know that because you can see this restaurant from Basse road and there are lots of new shopping centers adjacent to the quarry.

Also, if you are ordering red wine, I would recommend opening up the bottle and letting it breathe for 15 minutes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solid casual food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place does a good job at spanning between casual bar atmosphere and a nice restaurant. The food was really good and not pretentious, the beer was cold... you can't really mess up beer I suppose. The wait-staff was very friendly and on-point. All around a great atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fellowsville, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food and ambiance was hood.. The prices were upscale.. I'd go there again... just not a once a week kinda place... The drinks and food are different and delicious...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX's Wine Dive - San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.