We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice at the JW ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 18 Oaks

18 Oaks
23808 Resort Parkway, JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, San Antonio, TX 78261
210-491-5825
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
18 Oaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located at the TPC San Antonio Clubhouse, 18 Oaks is traditional-style fine steakhouse featuring perfectly aged steaks seared to order, fresh seafood and poultry dishes, epic sides and an excellent variety of wine. And don't miss our Sunday brunch!
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great choice at the JW ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our party of 7 (2 couples, 2 teenagers and a child) dined at 18 Oaks twice during our stay at the JW, both times for lunch. We received impeccable service from Oscar and Casey and really enjoyed both meals. The menu has a great selection of salads and sandwiches, and the daily specials are great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    19
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a great Sunday brunch at 18 Oaks. The restaurant is in a building separate from the hotel that also houses the pro shop with a great view of the course. The thing I liked best was they take orders for eggs, omelets and waffles which are made in the kitchen saving one from having to loiter around an omelet station waiting one's turn. My lobster omelet, with spinach and mascarpone was wonderful. On the buffet they had all the usual offerings, prime rib, shrimp and crab legs, pastries, Nueske bacon (my favorite), sausage, fresh fruit, etc. They also had a very tasty roast beef hash and some delicious fried quail. There was a nice selection of desserts. Service was impeccable, Ellie and Chris took excellent care of us making sure our mimosa glasses were always full. A jazz trio provided good background music. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bring a snack to sustain you while you wait for food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We opted to eat at the bar with open seating at 7:30 pm because the first available reservation was 8:30 pm. Service was prompt and courteous, but we waited so long for the appetizer, the waitress apologized and comped us. Then, the wait for our entrees began. We waited. And, we waited some more. And, some more. When we complained at 9 pm, we were admonished that "everybody was waiting, because they were behind." Like, who did we think we were to expect reasonable service when nobody else was getting it either. The filets that were then delivered were OK, but not worth the wait or the $40 price. Our meal was comped. We left $20 for the waitress (don't punish waitstaff for incompetent management). If you're staying at the resort and have to eat at this restaurant, bring a snack to tide you over.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnsfam, Manager at 18 Oaks, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our 18 Oaks restaurant. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the Resort and 18 Oaks for the long wait times you encountered last night, 2/12/14. This is not the experience that we deliver on a regular basis. I personally met today with the Executive Chef, Executive Sous Chef, Director of Restaurants, 18 Oaks Manager, and 18 Oaks Chef, to determine what caused the service failure last night. We are committed to learning from our mistakes and ensuring that they are not duplicated.
Our Director of Restaurants has reached out to you here at the Resort, to hopefully see you and personally apologize before you leave to return home.
Once again please accept my apologies. I hope the rest of your visit to San Antonio was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great service and great food. Daily fresh menu focused on the freshest ingredients. Had a great steak, even though it was cooked well below the requested temperature. Very pricey, but the quality matched the cost.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eric is excellent! Service is top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a wonderful New Years lunch with Eric as our server. Food was yummy- their brunch is hard to beat anywhere- and service is excellent, as always. Thanks- see you again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 18 Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 18 Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.