We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel restuarant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibolo Moon

Cibolo Moon
23808 Resort Parkway, JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, San Antonio, TX 78261
210-491-5864
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cibolo Moon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Our premier restaurant in North San Antonio features Southwestern and Mexican inspired cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy an expansive breakfast buffet, daily Blue Plate specials, traditional Mexican favorites, outstanding Texas BBQ and more.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just a hotel restuarant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at Cibolo (Cib-lo) Moon. This is much more than a typical resort/hotel restaurant! We would highly recommend any meal time. The brisket burnt ends were just amazing as well as the bacon wrapped scallops. Great food!!! It was odd finding BBQ fare but it so fit once you tried it. True Texas Q with some nice elevations.

We would highly recommend Cibolo Moon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    84
    54
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet is excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had the breakfast buffet one day. Despite the high price of $22 per person, we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. There were many good choices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its nice to finally get to a real Marriott restaurant and get some real eggs cooked by pros. Admittedly the prices are a bit steep - but that has to be expected at a JW Marriott resort. Unlike most of my experience at the Hotel I felt far from cheated by the delivery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved dinner so much decided to come back for breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After a fun day at the water park with the kids we opted for dinner here. Seated quickly at a nice table and enjoyed a cocktail before placing our dinner order. I really appreciate the level of service our waitress provided. Never looked for her when we needed something and never felt rushed or bothered. Her recommendation for burnt ends, bison meatloaf and ribeye were right on. Loved it! Decided to come back for breakfast. Something for everybody and more. Adults.. make sure to try the whiskey maple syrup. Definitely a must have.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and food (when the resort isn't so crowded)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the main restaurant at the JW Marriott Resort in San Antonio - open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As hotel restaurants go, its very good. Lots of seating (inside and out, and a great bar on the side), well-appointed, and the food is delicious. On this trip to the resort, Cibolo Moon was extremely crowded most of the time, which resulted in the restaurant offering a dinner buffet most evenings. While plentiful, it just can't beat some of their dinner menu options, so I'd hold out for a regular table-served meal. The shrimp and grits entree is simply delicious - can't say enough good things about it - perfectly sized portion, too (plentiful but not overwhelming). My husband loved the chicken fried steak and thought it was one of the best he's ever had. The dinner menu salads are also terrific (try the Fried Green Tomato salad with homemade green goddess dressing.)
The restaurant's breakfast buffet is very good, if a little pricey, so it would be nice if the breakfast menu offered a wider array of a la carte offerings. Other than that, the food is terrific.
One of my favorite items at this restaurant is the buttermilk biscuit, served with whipped butter and strawberry-jalapeno jam. That jam is seriously good, but you can't buy it (they used to sell it, but I was told that because there was no nutritional information label, they had to shut that down. Pity. It's that good, folks.)
Note: we couldn't get a dinner reservation during the later part of our stay - 4th of July week - but my husband and I grabbed two seats at the bar in the later evening and had a fabulous meal right there. Full menu options, and great service by our bartender.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibolo Moon also viewed

 

Been to Cibolo Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibolo Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.