We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than A Typical Drury Inn & Suites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North

Save Saved
You added Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
South Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“More Than A Typical Drury Inn & Suites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall this is a great location. Hotel is easy to get to just off of the feeder road. At arrival the hotel is clean and inviting.
There is a 4 story parking garage directly under the rooms of the hotel. Rooms actually start on the 5th floor and go to the 10th. This makes parking EXTREMELY easy and the elevators stop at every parking level then stay on the same elevator to your floor. There are plenty of lounging areas throughout the hotel.
The breakfast area is very large (more like a cafeteria style). This area is used for the evening kick back as well. We stayed for 5 nights with a baseball team. They were very accomadating.
The evening food rotated between Chicken Nuggets, Pasta, Meatballs. With Nachos, Vegetables, Hot Dogs being the every night choice. This is a very nice perk, however if you are staying more than a couple of nights you can get tired of these "snacks" quickly!
3 free drinks for the adults in the room along with popcorn and cokes all evening.
Staff in the breakfast and kick back area are VERY polite and go well out of their way to make certain they are meeting your needs. They work really hard and are always pleasant! AWESOME!
Front desk staff was mostly polite. There were a couple of moments that I was not pleased with their tone, etc... But hey we all have those days.
Pool, Exercise Facility, and Laundry is all on the 5th floor. If you have kids, stay on this floor. No rooms under this floor and all options right down the hall!
Pool is pretty small but the roof top is very open and offers nice views.
The rooms are typical of Drury. Spacious and clean.
Of course my only issue with Drury is they allow dogs in the eating area. I have no issue with them around the hotel but the eating area is no place for dogs...which is the only reason I don't stay at Drury Hotels ALL THE TIME...SORRY!

Room Tip: 5th Floor with Kids...10th Floor without Kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    35
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
119
55
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel while attending a casting call in the San Antonio area. The location seems like it was well placed in the middle of San Antonio so everything was about a 10-30 minute drive, depending on where we were going. The staff was very helpful and they were all so kind, one of the ladies even gave us a coupon for 50% off Fiesta TX tickets, which we used during our stay! Our room was also very spacious and clean. We loved the free parking (which seemed hard to find at most other SA hotels) as well as the free breakfast and 5pm kick-back meals which both offered such a wonderful variety of foods for all types of eaters! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in the area so much that we ended up staying an extra night more than planned! We look forward to returning soon and will definitely make plenty more trips to this hotel as well as other Drury hotels in other locations!

Room Tip: I doubt you will find any issues at this hotel because the way the elevators are set up away from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were determined to find a place not too far from the riverwalk and Sea World but wanted it to be clean and modern and within our budget. This was perfect! The area around the riverwalk is okay but after reviews on cars being broken into we chose to stay a short drive away. Here we received a modern, clean (I'm very picky), nice area to stay and budget friendly. After a breakfast of waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereal, pancakes (made fresh) etc. we went to Sea World and got back at 6 p.m. to find hot dogs, mac and cheese, nachos, etc. Add in 3 drinks a piece (NOT watered down either) and we finished the night watching the kids swim but not before some free popcorn to snack on.There are 2 hot tubs. Only downfall the pool is small but the kids LOVED it. Staff is friendly. Nick at the front desk has a great sense of humor. You get the feeling here that they really appreciate your business. Oh and the eating area is large so you don't feel confined (open with glass windows). The pics you see online ARE what you get. Will not disappoint. Manager Saturday morning was running around cleaning windows etc. making sure everyone was happy. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our favorite hotel of the Drury Inn's! New, clean, trendy, reasonably priced, and outstanding customer service. My spouse and I have stayed here twice and absolutely love it. This time my mother-in-law came with us and she loves it too (and she's pickier than I am!) Great place-always our 1st choice in San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer I was a little skeptical at first but it is wonderful. Employees are always smiling polite and helpful. The food at breakfast and for dinner is pretty good. And wait 3 free drinks per person at night. Now you can't get better than this. The room are big nice and very clean. Unfortunately my only problem is that we had people running back and forth in the hallway and slamming doors all night. But that's not the hotel's fault. Great place and it will be my place of choice from nnow on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed this hotel! Great location. Breakfast was the same each morning but was hot and plentiful: Eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, fountain drinks, sausage patties, biscuits and white gravy, pancakes, yogurt and bananas. Pool is on the fifth floor and not too big. There are communal patios just outside the dining area with tables and chairs. Great for coffee in the morning or relaxing in the evenings. Free popcorn and soda every afternoon and a free hot meal at 5:30 PM! Very good if you're with children and on a budget.
Parking garage is attached and private. It can only be gotten into with a key card so we felt an added layer of security.
Just down the road are some high end restaurants with amazing food. Further down are more reasonably priced barbeque restaurants, fast food, etc. Walmart isn't too far away either.

We loved the service and care the hotel took with us. Upon arriving, we found a screw and some kind of bolt covered in sheet rock dust on the floor in our room. Once notified, the front desk called maintenance to make sure nothing on the walls was about to fall on our heads when we were sleeping. They concluded that work had been done in our room and the screw/bolt must have been left behind by accident. Someone came by soon after to collect the forgotten items. Our entire stay was stellar. We would highly recommend this hotel and are so happy with our first experience with the Drury brand that we will be seeking them out again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had originally planned to stay at another Drury Hotel in San Antonio until I read the reivews for the Plaza North on tripadvisor. I found it hard to believe that a hotel could be as great as everyone said. Look guys, it's all true! This place is awesome! When you walk in the door, it's classy and clean. Every employee you meet anywhere in the hotel during your stay says hello and are very friendly. They have a great breakfast buffet every single day. And, the kickback in the afternoon is equally as good. Is it fine dining? No, it is not, but it is good quality food that will keep you from going to the restaurant every day, and they give each adult three adult drinks each day. We took our family of three young kids 13 and under and stayed a full week at this hotel ( we liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!). We only ate a light lunch each day and made it to the hotel for breakfast and dinner. And, yes, it's true that the manager Mike Bazar is wandering around each morning at breakfast cleaning tables and greeting everyone that he possibly can. He was gone to a meeting one day, and the assistant manager took up the slack for him! We were there one morning and they were out of eggs when we got there for breakfast. When they got some ready, he brought a whole plate over to our table....he was paying close attention and making sure everyone was happy! And, I saw him multiple times walking the hallways of the rooms and picking up after the mindless idiots that leave thier messes laying around. They also have a bar that is open after the kickback and you can purchase a six pack, get a beer on tap, or a good mixed drink. Jorge was a great bartender and had a really great personality. And I didn't mention that they have popcorn and the soda fountain open from 3pm to 10pm every day! The place was kept immaculate and it always smelled and looked clean during our entire stay. They have three elevators that are lightning fast and gated, indoor parking that made us feel totally secure. Check-in was fast and the desk help were always nice and helpful. If you need towels, pillows, blankets, or anything else....just call the desk and they will quickly bring it right up to your door! We especially liked the soap dispenser in the shower instead of the small bottles of shampoo and the small soap bar that you normally get. The only real drawback is that the pool is outdoors. Now, it is up on the 5th floor and has a nice view of the city, two hot tubs, pool, and spacious lounge area. It was always kept as nice and clean as the hotel, and of course, there were plenty of roudy kids out there just like all other places, and plenty of mindless parents letting them run amuck! Our room was a double room with two queens in one and a sliding door seperating another room with foldout couch, chair etc. Two TV's which was very conveinent, a small bar area with micro,fridge, and an extra sink and mirror which was conveinent when everyone was trying to get dressed and ready. The beds were very comfortable and good and plentiful pillows on the beds. The A/C system is central and quiet, not like most places with the old unit in the window churning all night while one person freezes by the window! The hotel is on the north end of the loop, but it's only 15-20 mins from downtown, 10 mins from Six Flags, and 20 mins from Sea World. We got a discounted six flags rate, so, it was about $50 a night cheaper than staying right next to all the attractions. It's also not that far from San Marcos and New Braunfels if you were planning to try to to do a bit of everything. There is plenty of shopping, theaters, restaurants, Wal-Mart, HEB, mini golf, ice skating....all within 5 mins of the hotel. We will never stay at another hotel in San Antonio. This is home away from home for us! If I had to rate it 1-5.....I'd give them a perfect 10. You other hotel managers beware.....Mike Bazar is setting the standard at this property!

Room Tip: The laundry, workout room, and pool is on the 5th floor. It was suprisingly quiet on that floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North

Address: 823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. With its sleek, contemporary furnishings and energy-efficiency features, the Drury Plaza – San Antonio North is certainly a showstopper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.