We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at Drury. The hotel was very clean overall. The room was good size and very comfortable. There is an happy hour and a breakfst buffet. There is plenty of seating so you don't feel like your eating a small room like some other hotel chains. I thought it was a great place for the price.

Room Tip: Even though it was winter I had a room overlooking the pool that was on the 5th floor I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    45
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
136
75
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have never stayed at a Drury Hotel before, but we will definitely seek them out in the future! This place hits the mark on everything - quality, service, EVERYTHING. Friendly staff! Seriously, even the people in the hallways said hello to us! Def. worth staying here!
Oh and a note on being clean - I have an aversion to dirt and germs, and seriously this place was amazing. If you don't believe me, when you book your room - check behind the bedside tables. It's not dusty or collecting random things - whoever cleans the rooms actually MOVES the furniture to vacuum! I cannot tell you how uncommon this seems to be there days, and it may be small, but it's appreciated!

I also love that they have been smart about being "green" - using dispensers in the shower instead of buying thousands of little shampoo bottles that we only end up taking home with us. Two flow options on the toilet - small things that really add up and make you say "wow"!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Drury on a Friday night at the beginning of our 1600 mile road trip. Absolutely everyone at this hotel was polite, informative, professional and just lovely, The accomodations were teriffic, the location can't be beat and they were wonderful to our dog. Generous "kick-back" hour and breakfast! Go, stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had never stayed at a Drury Hotel, but this one didn't disappoint! The staff at the front desk were VERY accommodating! They were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel gave us each a free drink at happy hour, free popcorn, and free breakfast buffet - which had LOTS to choose from: waffle station, sausage, eggs (and they tasted real), pancakes, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, bagels, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. Also, the hotel room itself was really nice - it had a refrigerator - the bathroom was big, the beds were comfy - very nice overall appearance and clean. We were there in December, but if it had been warm, we definitely would have taken advantage of the outdoor pool and two hot tubs! Would definitely stay here again!
The only thing to keep in mind is if you're there on a Friday night like we were, traffic might be a little hectic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
628 reviews 628 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This may be my favorite suites hotel for the price. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom in our King Suite was huge, with a walk-in shower. The bedroom and sitting area were reasonably large with clean, comfortable furniture. There was a VERY large sitting area for the morning breakfast and evening drinks/hot snacks sessions.

The staff was consistently friendly, courteous, and efficient. There was ample, convenient parking both outside and in their parking structure. The computer area, pool and small outside "park" were also nice touches. My only small complaint was the absence of fruit at breakfast.

My wife and I will definitely stay here again when we travel to San Antonio to visit our family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington tx,76006
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Close to activities, clean, great value, friendly staff, and easy in/out. I highly recommend this hotel...this was our first stay at a Drury..pleasant surprise! We would normally stay at a Holiday Inn but took the word of reviews here and friends who stayed here a few weeks back. Glad we took a trip out of our norm!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Check in/check out was a breeze. The staff (Henry at the front desk) did a great job of answering all of our questions and all of the hotel employees greeted us as we passed. The pool (on the 5th floor) was a little bit crowded and highly chlorinated, but the kids had a good time. The location is good (construction on 1604) and close to lots of shopping, tourist destinations and restaurants. Sea World is 25 min away but an easy drive. The breakfast was good and the kickback was OK. Wish they served Coke products, but Pepsi is the fare. The room was spacious for my family of four and I really liked the environmentally friendly toilet. My only complaint is housekeeping. Although the room was clean, there always seemed to be a small thing missing. One day the facial tissues were not in the room (the front desk fixed this immediately), the next the ice bag for the ice bucket was not left. Overall a great stay and the value is exceptional. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North

Address: 823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. With its sleek, contemporary furnishings and energy-efficiency features, the Drury Plaza – San Antonio North is certainly a showstopper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.