We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No A/C!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldi's Pizzeria

Grimaldi's Pizzeria
15900 La Cantera Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78256-2422 (Northwest Side)
210-690-4949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
North Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No A/C!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited in late June of this year. My son recommended Grimaldi's to us during a visit to SA. When we arrived there was a wait but not extensive. Once seated we realized it was extremely warm in the restaurant and there were strange looking blowers placed around the dining room. We asked our waitress and she said the a/c was out and that was the temporary air source. It was uncomfortable but we ordered appetizers and drinks.

I felt for the waitresses and waiters, it must have been a real challenge to work in that environment, and forget the kitchen! Our waitress forgot my appetizer but our pizza was really good as was the salads. I will definitely try this restaurant in the future but only if the a/c is working!

Why would this restaurant stay open in the summer with temps over 100 degrees?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great.... Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

No Change from my last review. Great! A pizza like NYC. It is true they charge 20% than it should cost, but you can't find too many pizza places outside of New York City. I have to say for many reviews who say it's not New York Pizza, those people are probably from Long Island, New Jersey or upstate New York. Long Island and upstate are part of the state, but not part of NYC, very different mentality and culture. Of course it would not be something they are familiar with. For the record, Long Islanders think they know everything and as far as Pizza, they are dead wrong. I would recommend "Dough" for them because it's right up their ally.

You have to go here. You have to try it. You wont be dissapointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great pizza outside of New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was nearly 50 years ago when my wife and I had our first pizza in Greenwich Village, New York. We were convinced that it was the only area in the United States for "real pizza." Since we moved to San Antonio six years ago, we tried several local pizzerias, but only one measured up: Grimaldi's. We have visited the place now probably half a dozen times, what impressed us most is the consistently good pizza and the good and fast service. Our favorite is the traditional pepperoni and cheese pie and we always order a large pizza for the two of us making sure that we have enough to take home with us for the next day snack.
Yesterday we visited Grimaldi's again, and there were no surprises, only a good pizza.
Highly recommend for tourists as well as locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great NY Pizza Chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A few reviewers have noted that this is not NY style pizza, which is totally untrue. I am from NY and this is definitely NY style pizza, and an excellent example at that. Unlike many NY style pizzas this pizza has a thin, crispy crust, but like most good NY style pizzas has a sense of minimalism. The crispiness comes from a rocket hot coal-fired brick oven as opposed to a traditional pizza oven you see in many restaurants.

The service at this location was great. The server was attentive, although we didn't need much attention. We did ordered a half plain cheese and half pepperoni small pie. The pizza came out quickly, as one would expect in a good pizza restaurant and had outstanding flavor.

The only knock on the place is the price is quite high compared to your average pizza place. For an occasional reminder of home it is worth it though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There's better and less expensive pizza. Felt like I was paying a premium only to pad the pockets of the NY owners.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldi's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.