We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Honor Advertised Offer. Tourist Trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pat O'brien's

Pat O'brien's
121 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205-2610 (Downtown)
(210) 220-1076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Didn't Honor Advertised Offer. Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had seen an ad in one of the tourist brochures that said "Almost everything $2.00 all day Wedensday."
So, we visited on Wednesday afternoon and were told they didn't have anything for $2 until after 7:00 p.m. We asked about the ad and the server said they couldn't do that, they'd get in trouble if they offered $2.00 drinks during the day.
We ordered a beer and left. Mislead for sure. We looked at the ad again when we got back to our hotel and it said just what we thought it said.
Service was bad, ambiance was just okay. Didn't look like an Irish bar/pub at all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    64
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good food, except rather pricey for what you get. My husband ordered a $22 steak. It was served with a small amount of overcooked vegetables....no bread or salad even with meals of this price. I ordered something with shrimp in it...shrimp were really good....they were served on top of rice...nothing else...no bread, no salad. Shrimp and rice should be served with some kind of bread. My meal was niot very filling....the bowl it came in was deceiving...it looks larger than it was...not very deep...but the shrimp were very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, il
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“SAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

the food was amazing, we ate every bite. Please eat the bread pudding you will not be sorry. From the gentleman standing outside beckoning us in to the upbeat waitress it was a fun place to be. Drinks were outstanding, could not find anything wrong here

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Close to the New Orleans theme !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If not a fan of New Orleans, well maybe this won't be your bar/hangout. I spent many nights at Pat O's in New Orleans years ago, so it's great to hit the Pat O's in San Antonio, now. The appetizers (sample platter) were great while listening to the band band play, but it's all about those "Hurricanes". A must have drink at least once ! We liked this place so much, we showed up the next morning for Brunch and I had eggs Benedict and mimosa to get going ......

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Crawfish Nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Crawfish Nachos here are yummy!! The service was not to good for us we had to go to the bar and order our drinks and food!! And the whole time not one waitriess or waiter stop to ask us if we were doing OK!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat O'brien's also viewed

 

Been to Pat O'brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat O'brien's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.