We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Trolley tour.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Trolley Tours

San Antonio Trolley Tours
321 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
+1 210-492-4144
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 60 minute Grand Trolley Tours of Historic San Antonio. Hop on Hop off Passes available. Over 50 Points of Interest and Attractions. Live Narration by Professional Tour Guides w/ air conditioned Trolleys. Hop on a Trolley Tour of San Antonio today!
UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Grand Trolley tour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked this through Expedia several months before I came to Texas, thinking it would be a good way to view some of the sights of San Antonio. The hop-on/hop-off tour itself was alright. It doesn't stop at too many places, but it's worth it if you can't be bothered to drive yourself out to Mission San Jose and Mission Concepción.

The stops are Alamo Plaza, Tower of the Americas, Mission San Jose, Mission Concepción, King William, El Mercado, Main Plaza. You get forty five minutes between pick ups - it might not sound like much time, but believe me it is plenty. None of these individual sites provide enough entertainment for more than that. I spent the morning travelling around and got off at three of the stops (both missions, plus El Mercado). The other stops didn't really appeal to me; King William and Main Plaza are just places in the city with pretty buildings, and Tower of the Americas is a visit planned for another day.

I did get the second day free ticket, but didn't use it. Even if you get off at every stop you'll have covered everything in less than a full day. The tour is simply not long enough or engaging enough to need forty eight hours for it. I also had a bit of an issue with the young lady at the kiosk in the Grand Trolley place in Alamo Plaza. On redeeming my Expedia voucher, she directed me to the stop by telling me it was "Over there, by the Menger hotel. You know where that is, right?" I did not. I had been in San Antonio less than eighteen hours. I had no idea where she meant. That wasn't particularly impressive customer service there.

Good points: gets you down to the missions easily.

Bad points: some of the stops are in fairly pointless places.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and your patronage. We are eager to hear on how we can improve our service. We are reviewing our current stops and tour packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    6
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beware of Grand Trolley tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were steered to this Trolley tour of the city by a 50% off coupon - first mistake. This tour and driver were terrible. We bought tickets at a store front then were walked 2 blocks to pick up the trolley which wasn't on time. Waited 10 minutes. Once on board, we were told how much he appreciated tips "cash is good, my friends" before he even started the motor. Before we left the spot near the Alamo, he told us in a loud almost shouting volume how everything we'd hear in the Alamo about the history was a lie. Then we careened through back streets, run down neighborhoods and blew by 3 missions, no stop, little history, no photos ops, not even left the street to get a close view. The same with the Hemisphere site and all other advertised "attractions". The hour tour ended at 40 minutes with the driver's hand out for tips. The "hop on hop off" full price was $26!!! Stay away. Other good tour companies to choose. .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I want to take this opportunity to address your concerns regarding our tour. I am pleased to hear you took advantage of the 50% discount of our 60 minute tour. The 60 minute tour is a narrated riding tour of our historical sites downtown including the missions. Our missions are located in one of the oldest historical sections of San Antonio, this may not be the more affluent neighborhoods but are still occupied by fine people. if you want to get on and off the trolley you can purchase the hopper pass which allows for time to visit sites and take pictures. We will take your comments and share with all our guides regarding tips and history. Our Ticket Center is located 200 yards from the loading area designated by the city.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not really worth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Its not really worth if you are in a large group. You could basically go to the same attractions without the bus and just pay a small parking fee compared to the tickets here. We were short on time so considered the trolley but experience wasnt worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, the trolleys are designed for passengers to hop on and off, when groups purchase tickets we advise them they can arrange for a private tour, or reserve the 60 minute tour and then split up the group as they use the hopper pass. Thank you for riding with us and your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2nd Free Day is a Rip-Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We bought the hopper ticket which gave us a 2nd day free with hop off and hop on opportunities. You pay extra ($6 each) for this "free day". We did the full tour on the first day and used that to plan Day Two where we would hop off and on.
We arrived Day Two and were told that based on number of riders checked in and trolleys running, there was no room for us. We could take a chance and we may get on a trolley but at our risk.
No offer of a refund or allowing us to use the 2nd day ticket (which are only eligible on the day after you use Day One ticket) on another day.
There are other companies offering the same 2 day hopper and they seem to have a lot more trolleys/buses running.
Dont get ripped off by Grand Trolleys

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
i want to take the opportunity to address your comments. The second day free is as stated it is FREE. You purchased a hopper pass for $26 which entitles all day hop on and off access as clearly stated on our brochures and website. THE SECOND DAY IS FREE there is no additional $6 charge. we also state as do all other companies the second day pass is subject to availability to may result in having to wait for a trolley, which rarely occurs.

Thank you for your response and please read your flyers and tickets before making inaccurate statements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get on and off to see the sights.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great way to see and learn about the area. Our driver was Phillip. He was every dramatic in story telling. He had a habilt of using his hand to talk with intead of keeping his hands on the steering wheel. Luckily you can get off at a stop and catch the next trolley and get a new driver.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Trolley Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.